We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sotto il Sole di Roma
Ranked #310 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tirana, Albania
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just completed our stay at Sotto il Sole di Roma, we had an enjoyable, comfortable time. The breakfast and facilities were very good and the staff friendly and helpful. It is also centrally placed with easy access to many tourist sites. The rooms are clean and bathrooms also comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 557Miki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    47
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
104
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Full of all services I come here every months from Moscow for work. Since 2010 this lovely b&b is my home in Rome. Comfortable place, perfect located, very good breakfast with fantastic cream croissant. Room spacious and clean. I'll be back more times here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

perfect position, very good breakfast and beautiful room. SPacious and clean.
Raul, the owner, is really helpful with all informations you need.
Price is very competitive with the other hotels nearby.
when we come back in Rome, we stay there.
thank you Raul!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I can't speak highly enough of Sotto il sole di Roma and the operators. The rooms were clean and spacious with very nice en suites. There was plenty of nice breakfast choices. Raul was amazing - helpful and friendly, showing genuine concern for our enjoyment of our trip to Rome, even lending us an umbrella. Sotto il sole di Roma is is a great location, 20 minutes walk from St Peter's Square and 35 minutes walk from the Colosseum. After a busy day taking in the sights of incredible Rome it was fantastic to come back to Sotto il sole di Roma to relax and recharge. If I every return to Rome I will make straight for Sotto il sole di Roma. Thank you Raul! Ciao!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

100% satisfied. The room, location,etc. I was actually getting an answer from Raul before I've managed to ask a question. Had few fabulous days in Rome and when I was getting back to the room I could simply relax and get some good sleep to have the power to hit the town next morning.
Truly recommend.
Thank you:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiolettaFranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at this guest house for three nights as a city break. The guest house is on the third floor of a building. We arrived late in the evening and the staff were helpful with a late check in. The room was situated over a very busy road which was noisy most of the night. The bed was hard and the pillows were uncomfortable. We didn't sleep well. The ensuite was a shower room. The ensuite floor hadn't been cleaned before we got there and didn't get cleaned whilst we were there. The breakfast was minimal with no fresh fruit. The only juice they had was cranberry juice. We had a cappuccino and croissant every day! The owner sat in the small breakfast room with you watching Italian TV and speaking Italian to his colleague. They made no effort to exchange pleasantries or ask how you stay was going or if you needed any help with anything. Our friends went for breakfast elsewhere. The location was ok. 10 Minutes walk to St Peters Square. All in all I wouldn't go back to the guesthouse. I think you get what you pay for and this is certainly cheap.

Room Tip: Request a room not overlooking the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rauletto85, Proprietario at Sotto il Sole di Roma, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Rose,
First I want to say that you should also write that you checked in over midnight for FREE and since is not an hotel is not free service usually.

Second you paid 75euro/night for a double room in center, show me where you can get a room like mine in our area at the same price.

Third the breakfast as you can read from all other reviews and from your experience is full of fresh product like bread, salami, ham, cheese, butter, jam, homemade cakes, fresh croissant, you are in Italy and you get italian breakfast especially, if you go in China of course you don't find croissant, you will find Chinese breakfast (really good).

Fourth you visited Rome, one of the biggest city in the world, and you decided to stay in the center, and like all city center of the world there is traffic. If you want to relax Rome is not your kind of holiday.

Last, you talk about cleanless...when you left I found linens stain of blood. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We only booked this B&B as we booked our flights 2 weeks prior to going and we were struggling to find anything that was in the centre and reasonably priced as it was still the high season (October). We were not disappointed however, the apartments are clean, of a good size and ideally located up near the Vatican and Castel Sant'Angelo. It was a lovely walk over to places such as the Piazza Navona, the Pantheon etc.

Raul the manager is very friendly and helped us out whenever we had any questions on where to eat or the best way to get to certain sites etc. He was available every breakfast to answer any questions and just ensure everyone had everything they needed.

The breakfast itself was simple, cereal, croissants, cakes, bread, meats, juice and great cappuccino’s. Just the thing to start your day off on the right footing. Not too heavy but enough energy for a morning of walking around Rome and seeing the sites.

Overall this was not our first choice accommodation, but I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend. It is not a 5 star hotel so do not expect luxury or hotel amenities, however what it is, is a very nice block of apartments, at a very good for price, in a great location and with friendly staff!! You have nothing to lose. Enjoy... :o)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinny1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Annette B&B
Annette B&B
#390 of 3,643 in Rome
155 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Rome Traveller's B&B
Rome Traveller's B&B
#1,714 of 3,643 in Rome
28 reviews
Esquilino
Il Sole
Il Sole
#589 of 1,093 in Rome
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Cassiodoro
Cassiodoro
#193 of 3,643 in Rome
87 reviews
Prati
San Pietro Boutique Rooms
San Pietro Boutique Rooms
#121 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Prati
Le Finestre di Luz
Le Finestre di Luz
#735 of 3,643 in Rome
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotto il Sole di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotto il Sole di Roma

Property: Sotto il Sole di Roma
Address: Via Pietro della Valle 2, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotto il Sole di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at the 3rd floor, in a really old Roman building in the heart of Rome, just few steps from St. Peter square, Vatican Museum and historic center. We have 6 rooms; all are provided of all comfort that a 4* hotel has, like A/C, TV Sat, refrigerator, safe, hairdryer, bath robe, bathroom en suite with shower. We also serve the breakfast in a particular room on the same floor where all our guests can taste our European breakfast. From our position is possible to visit all the main attraction touristic point only walking, there is no need to take any public transport, like bus and subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sotto il Sole di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing