We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sotto il Sole di Roma
Ranked #451 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at Sotto il Sole Di Roma for a week, spectacular. The owner was kind also very helpful and personal. He made it a delightful experience. Raoul helped us book tours and found us the best places to eat. Mapped out directions and went way above and beyond.
He is genuine and it made our stay wonderful.
The facilities are clean and nice. We would definitely go there again and recommend it to anyone.
Linda Altobell

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had a wonderful time at the b&b. Raul was very friendly and helpful with recommending places to visit. The bed was large and comfortable, the toilet was spacious and clean. The location of the b&b is unbeatable. It is barely a 10min walk to the Vatican and even though the other sights (Pantheon, Colosseum etc.) are between a 20-40min walk away, there are lots of buses that take you straight there if you're not inclined to walking that distance. The area around the b&b is really peaceful, clean and beautiful - a nice reprieve from the hustle and bustle of downtown Rome. Absolutely loved my stay there and will most definitely choose to stay here again when I next visit Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

An absolutely amazing B&B with the service top class from check-in to check-out and extremely convenient in terms of location (walking distance from Vatican and from the all the most important places). Highly recommended for those who would like to enjoy holiday... with B&B you will spend the best time 'Under the Sun of Rome' ;) Jana, Slovakia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jana7902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The b&b is lovely and absolutely faboulous!
The owner Raul help me so much with very good suggestions.
Room are spacious, breakfast is good with a lots of fresh products.
We will definitevely come back to this fantastic place!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massimo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from here, loved it. Went on Tuesday 6th may and left on Saturday evening, 10th.
We originally tried to book into another B&B, Capricci Romani, but they were fully booked for the dates of our visit and the owner, Massimo, offered us his friends B&B. We are glad we took up his offer. very nice B&B, top location, nice room and lovely people that ran it. Rooms were cleaned daily, breakfast was continental style served at your table. They were very helpful with directions to the main attractions but the location of the B&B was ideal. It was situated just round from Castel San Pietro. As you leave the B&B keep this to your left and follow the road around and you and are at The Vatican, al in about ten minutes. All other attractions are easily located from here. Nice little restaurant next to the B&B, La Locanda, very clean and reasonably priced, nice food and cheap drink! Buses and taxis are a nightmare due to the crowds on the roads that is why this B&B makes it a great location, you can easily get back to quickly freshen up (if you want). Weather was really good, on the day we left it was 27o. Would definitely go back there and recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same. 1914 building, with the apartments split into rooms for tourists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I searched online for hours over a few days before our trip to Rome in April 2014. I came across Sotto il Sole di Roma on Expedia.com. I checked out reviews on multiple sites and decided, based on the reviews, we would chance Sotto il Sole di Roma - and I am so glad we did. Prior to leaving for our vacation we received an email from the hotel with an introduction. The email gave lots of information such as making arrangements on arrival time (since there is no front desk) as well as recommendations on ways to get to the hotel from the airport and Termini station. It also provided estimates for transportation costs. A few days before check-in, we also got another reminder email. Be sure to respond to the emails to make your life much easier. I can't say enough about Raul - the owner. He was great and right away he made us felt comfortable and we immediately became friends. His recommendations for restaurants were all right on - including one owned by his dad.

The hotel is located minutes to the Vatican and walking distance to many major attractions around Rome. I would rate the facility as a 3 star, breakfast was very good - the juice was great, service and response was outstanding. We stayed there 2 nights prior to our cruise and we decided to stay another 2 nights after we returned from our cruise.

My wife and I look forward to staying there again during our next visit to Rome and very enthusiastically recommend them to anyone looking for to a hotel to stay in Rome at a great price. Thanks Raul for a very memorable stay!

Best regards,
Howard & Jean

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpcjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Sotto il Sole di Rome is the perfect place for persons or families who love walking, as it is in the center of the city, very near to Vaticano and many tourist attractions. At the same time Sοtto il Sole di Rome is a relaxing and hospitable place.
Raul, the owner ιs a polite and always ready to help young man who gave to us all necessary information. Me and my family enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
At Your Place
At Your Place
#38 of 3,734 in Rome
991 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotto il Sole di Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotto il Sole di Roma

Address: Via Pietro della Valle 2, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotto il Sole di Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at the 3rd floor, in a really old Roman building in the heart of Rome, just few steps from St. Peter square, Vatican Museum and historic center. We have 6 rooms; all are provided of all comfort that a 4* hotel has, like A/C, TV Sat, refrigerator, safe, hairdryer, bath robe, bathroom en suite with shower. We also serve the breakfast in a particular room on the same floor where all our guests can taste our European breakfast. From our position is possible to visit all the main attraction touristic point only walking, there is no need to take any public transport, like bus and subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sotto il Sole di Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing