We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly, Quaint, Good value...couldn't ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aventino Guest House
Ranked #1,164 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, Friendly, Quaint, Good value...couldn't ask for more!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed a few nights here. It is just minutes walking distance to subways and the train. Buses and taxis go past all the time and you can walk to circo massimo, the forum, Colosseum, FAO, restaurants and a supermarket.

Really friendly and helpful people run it and it is very personal. The rooms are new and modern. Mine was smaller than my friend's room but still had everything I needed. The wifi had no problems and the security seemed good. The price was very good considering the central location. The breakfast was simple but nice.There is a common area and open deck for anyone to use.

It was set back off the street so it was still quiet. Obviously I am highly recommending this place and certainly where I will stay when I return.

Room Tip: Some are larger and also have a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
39
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We decided last minute to travel to Rome during Easter week and were unable to find a room. We initially wanted to stay near the train station and contacted many hotels there with no success. Only one manager, Alessandro, offered me an option, a room available at a sister hotel in the ancient part of town which was Aventino Guest House. We were so fortunate that he did because we had a wonderful stay in a great neighborhood that I wasn't even considering for hotels. We owe our fantastic visit to Rome to Alessandro. My kids loved opening the gate with the remote, walking through the garden and opening the other doors to access our room in the building in the back. It was so tranquil at Aventino after the frenetic pace of the rest of the city, although it was perfectly located near the Colosseum, Forum, and Palatine Hill. The Circo Massimo metro and bus stops were steps away which made getting around easy and convenient. We really enjoyed the breakfast at Aventino which featured a wide variety of fresh items daily. Our lovely room was newly renovated with a fabulous bathroom and balcony. Many thanks to Pauli and Alessandro who are great hosts - they were so helpful in getting us the latest information regarding opening times and unexpected closings for museums and sites during the holiday week as well as recommending some terrific local restaurants. We truly look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrubinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly helpful staff and very pleasant accommodation. Really good position from which to explore major sights. Lovely time and met some nice people there. ( musicians from Rome Sinfonica who kindly gave us free tickets to hear them play in conservatoire / amazing !! ) Quiet although only 10 mins away from colosseum. Great base and comfy room with small fridge and tea- coffee making facilities.

Underground 4 min walk and took about 40 mins to get from room to Vatican City on metro.

Would definitely stay there again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terinaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visited Rome in September, 2013. Aventino Guest House was a modernized, air conditioned and home-like place to stay. I can't say enough about the friendly and helpful staff: Alessandro, Paulo and Simona. They made our stay most enjoyable! Simona helped us book tickets for the Vatican Museum. They were easily available by phone. Aventino Guest House was nestled in a residential area with shops, restaurants, gelaterias, grocery & deli shops and a pharmacy. Their security was great. We had separate keys for a driveway gate, courtyard gate, front door and our room. Our room was very comfortable and had its own bathroom, shower, TV and mini refrigerator. Plenty of closet and drawer space, too. The breakfast area was bright and clean, and each day there was meat, cheese, bread, cereal, pastries, juices, fruit and a coffee/espresso machine. We could easily walk to Circus Maximus, Palatine Hill, the Roman Forum, Capitoline Hill, the Colosseum and the Arch of Constantine. Transportation was easily accessible, by bus, Metro or taxi for places further away. I would definitely return to Aventino Guest House. Grazie!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 922Kathy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Aventino Guest House for 4 nights while visiting our daughter who was studying in Rome. It was a great place for a number of reasons. To start, it was clean and new-ish. The staff was friendly but not invasive. They gave us a card key to get into the gate with a key to the front door and we could come and go as we wanted. The front room doubles as the "lobby" and the dining room. It was always available with coffee, water, juice always available. It was quiet and our room was good sized with a nice shower in the bath (en suite). The wifi was reliable in the lobby and often in our room, but not always. And the best part was that it is a stone's throw to all of the sites without being in the middle of the tourist areas. It is located on a main street in a residential area that also has shops and restaurants. It was a quick walk to everything -- 5 minutes to the Collosseum and Palatine ruins, less than that to Circo Massimo, 10 minutes to great restaurants in the trendy Testaccio area, 10 minutes to Trastevere, even 15 minutes to Piazza Venezia. But you are out of the craziness of the tourist areas. Don't expect a fancy hotel -- it is a guest house. It was perfect for us!

Room Tip: There are only 4 or 5 rooms in this place -- all on one floor. We were in room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great staff, especially Alessandro!!! Awesome location. Few minutes from Colosseo and really near to Circo Massimo subway station. Nice room, but the Wi-fi could work better, as far as we need to seat at the room's door to make it. Good breakfast and availabe all day long. The shower was supposed to be a good thing, but the truth is that it is not. Cousy room. Certainly would come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRGoffredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very nice guest house, with a super friendly and helpful staff. The other reviews describe the rooms and facilities correctly. The rooms are very clean and modern.

We stayed here the last night before leaving Italy, and there were no problems leaving our bags at the guesthouse while we spend our last day in Rome. We got a key so we could let ourselves in. They also let us use their staff restroom to freshen up, before leaving for the airport.

We highly recommend this guest house.

As previously mentioned there is a bit of noise from the street. The shower heads are also installed a bit low so if you are taller than 1.8 m you might have problems using it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemodroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Domus Aventina
Domus Aventina
#653 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Santa Prisca
Hotel Santa Prisca
#595 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#61 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Aventine
Vecchia Roma Resort
Vecchia Roma Resort
#22 of 1,068 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Aventine
Circo Massimo Guest House
Circo Massimo Guest House
#81 of 1,068 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventino Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventino Guest House

Property: Aventino Guest House
Address: Viale Aventino 98, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine , Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,164 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aventino Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aventine Hill is known for its beautiful medieval churches (Santa Sabina, and Santa Prisca the most famous), the Roseto Garden, the Orange Garden and the "keyhole" world's most famous, from where you can see the Vatican with its magnificient dome of St. Peter!A short distance away, about 5 minutes walk, you can enjoy the historical sights of Rome: the Colosseum, the Roman Forum and the Circus Maximus … ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aventino Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing