We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off - be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Rome Sweet Relais Fori Imperiali
Ranked #2,056 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ripped off - be careful”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had booked this apartment through booking.com and the owners of 'rome sweet home' took €303 deposit at that time. A week before we were due to arrive I got an email stating that this apartment was no longer available but they could put us up in an alternative one which basically I had to agree to as it is an exceptionally busy week in rome with the canonisation of two Popes. Whilst the apartment is good, the service from rome sweet home has been appalling and I have been CHARGED TWICE now the balance amount of €912,00 and have not had any contact from the company despite emails from me. This company only contact you when they want to change something or arrange something that suits them. Do NOT give your credit card details, or just make sure that you only have the minimum amount in your account so they cannot charge you twice on the same day. We need this money to finish our trip and will not have it even if they refund it straight away. There is no address to go to as they operate from a website and they have not answered their phone. The difficulty is now we are leaving the country and will have to try and sort all this out from Australia. This is not what I expected and is totally unacceptable. I have now gone back into reviews of their other accommodations and many people have complained about the same thing. Extremely disappointing and the only time in years of travel that this has happened. Shame!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sydneytraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    23
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
35
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The location was excellent. Close to monuments, metro,restaurants,wine bars etc. The room was modern,clean,comfortable. The price was amazing-an offer through bookin- 50E/night.

Be sure you call them before you arrive.There is no reception desk and no elevator.Generally, we were very satisfied, i would book it again if i ever visited Rome again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I am giving this 3 stars because the location was great for our needs.This 4 room bed and breakfast was super-convenient to the Colosseum and Roman forum. More importantly, the Monti neighborhood is a great. low cost food mecca (low cost, for Rome, that is). We ate very well here, especially at Alle Carrete pizza which is right next door (average bill was 25 euros for 2 people, with drinks).
Our room was decorated in modern style for a very old building (~500 years), I am guessing around 5 years ago. Sorry to say, it needs an facelift: some of the lamps broken, burned out bulbs, problematicbathroom shower and sink. The bathroom was in fact the biggest problem here (Room #3) : the shower and sink have not been deep cleaned in a LONG time- dirty corners, the grout line on the vessel sink. The ceiling mounted shower sprays water in every possible direction because it is clogged- so its not usable. The alternate hand-shower device must be held with one hand: if you put it on the stand (which is too short), it sprays and floods out the shower door, which does not have a gasket (and is free to swing both ways). So, you are using half your room towels to mop up the bathroom floor. It is virtually impossible to NOT flood the bathroom. It seems like bathroom plumbing problems are endemic to Italian hotels in this price range, as our other hotels at this price point (~200$ US) all seemed to flood the bathroom floors in one way, shape or form. The shower here was a particular conundrum that could only be solved by a remodel of the stall (which is on the smaller side of small). The vessel sink was just plain dirty, old and too short. I did not feel clean until we moved to our next hotel. A bleach pen and a toothbrush would go very far here.
The breakfast provided by the innkeeper here was more than adequate, especially after eating a lot of great food in Monti for dinner the night before. Housekeeping keeps it tidy everyday, but not clean.
The positives of this hotel is location, location, location. Who wants to be around 50,000 tourists while in Rome and pay 100 euros for lunch near the Pantheon? The street the Relais is located on is practically a pedestrian street: very quiet at night. Also, the espresso machines in the room make outstanding coffees- the best coffee of our trip and super convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dnagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend on 20/09/13. When we arrived we were shown to our room and given keys and told about breakfast. There was no one in the b&b unless meeting new guests but was told that if we need anything at all to call the mobile ( which we never did). The room was clean, beds made every day and fresh towels every other day. Breakfast was more than enough and fresh every morning. The b&b was up around 2 flights of stairs but more hotels/b&b in Rome are. Can't speak highly enough off this wee gem. Room even had air con and beds were huge and very comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellydoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Got recommendation to stay at this appartment by a friend and we're glad we booked here. The staff was very friendly, the room was big and new (we had the deluxe room, but other rooms were very decent as well), the Lavazza espresso machine gave an extra touch to our Italian experience. The location was superb, fairly close to the Termini station and amazingly close to the Colosseum and Roman Forum.
Try the pizzeria next door (literally next door), full of locals and non-touristic prices! (El Carrente)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squirrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is a wonderfully appointed place, rather swish designed but strangely soulless for a solo traveler. The breakfast 'appears' in the early hours of the morning in a little kitchenette ... rather basic it must be said. The hotel door can be a challenge to open, especially after climbing those flights of stairs.
Very close to sights and easy walking distance to transport.
If you like to stay in a beautiful chic room, but rather not speak to anyone , this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverbirch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
RomAntica INN
RomAntica INN
#784 of 1,258 in Rome
22 reviews
Monti
No photo provided
Roman Forum Residences
#1,172 of 1,258 in Rome
3 reviews
Monti
Madonna de' Monti Suites
Madonna de' Monti Suites
#128 of 1,099 in Rome
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Colosseo Relais
Colosseo Relais
#2,379 of 3,664 in Rome
52 reviews
Monti
Rome Downtown Accomodation
Monti
Imperial Relais
Imperial Relais
#575 of 1,099 in Rome
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Rome Sweet Relais Fori Imperiali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Rome Sweet Relais Fori Imperiali

Property: Relais Rome Sweet Relais Fori Imperiali
Address: Via Madonna dei Monti 96, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,056 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Relais Rome Sweet Relais Fori Imperiali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the modern flair, the cosy atmosphere and the independent accommodation of Relais Fori Imperiali, just 20 metres from the Imperial Forums and near the Colosseum.Set on the first floor of a 17th-century palace, Relais Fori Imperiali combines a historic setting with contemporary luxuries. You will be in a famous, residential area with little noise arriving from the very busy streets of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Relais Rome Sweet Relais Fori Imperiali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Rome Sweet Relais Fori Imperiali Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing