We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment, attentive and committed...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
213 reviews
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom - TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom - TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Custom Interiors- TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Artworks-Photo by Owner
The Kitchen-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen - TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen- By Night-Photo by Owner
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-Wide Jacuzzi Tub/Shower-Photo by Owner
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Photo by Owner
The Hallway-TripAdvisor Photo
The TV Lounge/Living Room-TripAdvisor Photo
The Elevator-Vintage Otis Elevator/Lift for 3 people -TripAdvisor Photo
The Entrance-Art Deco Marble Foyer-TripAdvisor Photo
Our 1936 Art-Deco Building-TripAdvisor Photo
Our Street-TripAdvisor Photo
The Master Bedroom for 2 people - Comfortable Memory Foam Mattress-Photo by Owner
Sunny Second Bedroom for up to 3,  garden balcony, view of rooftops and Castelli Romani Hills.
The Sunny Second Bedroom-Hand-Made Cabinetry-Photo by Owner
The TV Lounge/Living Room- TripAdvisor Photo
The TV Lounge/Living Room-TripAdvisor Photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 213 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
TereFuf
Ferrette, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, attentive and committed owners”
Reviewed 11 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Mary and Wolfango were attentive right from when I enquired via TripAdvisor. The apartment was exactly as described and information was correct and upto date. They were there to greet us and spent some hours in showing us the apartment and enthusiastically describing the delights of their city with maps - which was inspiring and very helpful. There have useful city guides and lots of local contact infos. The apartment is on the 5th floor (small lift) and has two bedrooms, one larger and can act as a living room given a 3rd bed and sat TV. The hallway also has a TV and a comfortable sofa. Kitchen and large family bathroom all separate off the hallway, so plenty of room even with 3 laptops and 2 teenagers. Wifi very good (gets busy in the evenings). Kitchen very well stocked and we ate in often (local supermarket just opposite and famers market 3 blocks away). One small tip - serving spoons for Salad would be a helpful addition. Great icecream place over the road (but no ice box in the aparment so buy only what you'll eat in the moment). The road is busy with cars and trams - but apartment is quiet (good windows) and we slept very well (beds very good).
Located in a non-touristy area, so you see some more gritty city life, but is residential and safe. It is within walking distance of the Colliseo and Fori Romani, otherwise bus and metro are a few blocks away and communication is easy. If you really get lazy, taxis seem to be 15EUR home from anywhere in the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home feel inside
Liked least: The extra few blocks to walk at the end of the day, from the metro or bus
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2012
Dear Teresa and family,
Many thanks for your kind and truthful review. We will take up your tips as soon as possible. We hope your stay was a good one and that you have many good memories to share back home. We were thrilled that the girls enjoyed reading the books in the house, we are still adding more all the time.Many thanks for the great care you had for the house, we appreciate it much. It was wonderful meeting you and we hope you'll be back to Rome again one day, once is never enough.

Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JENKS18
CARDIFF
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD QUALITY AND CONVENIENTLY SITUATED APARTMENT”
Reviewed 18 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My family has just returned from a wonderful holiday in Rome. We enjoyed staying at the Minerva - the location was fab for self-caterers, and the shower was great! We had a warm welcome and Mary's notes in advance meant that we hit the ground running and made the most of our stay. We managed to avoid ALL queues. How? Visit the Vatican after lunch, and arrive at the Colosseum by 8.30am.
Thank you very much for everything Mary and Wolfango.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good beds and good shower
Liked least: Lack of proper sofa.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2012
Dear Daniel and Sophie,

Hello, thank you very much for the nice review, you really put your heart into it! We are so glad that you had a good stay in Rome and appreciate the comments you leave for future guests, that helps them understand the continuing quality of the Minerva and gives some tips on navigating Rome tourist sites. We hope that you have many good memories to share back home and that you'll be back to Rome again one day, once is never enough!

Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne C
Potomac, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay here when you come to Rome!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

In January 2012, I spent a week at the Minerva with my son and his girlfriend. We loved it and recommend it without hesitation.

The Minerva is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked. Although it is only a 15-minute walk to the Colosseum, it is not in the center of the tourist district, providing an opportunity to live among the locals. There is a supermarket across the street, a lively market a couple of blocks away, and many very good and inexpensive restaurants. Public transportation to all of the best sights is simple and cheap. Tip -- we found that if we were in a place not served by the Metro or by buses that go nearest to the Minerva, we could easily get back to the apartment by riding a bus to the Termini train station and catching the tram to the apartment.

Mary Therese and Wolfgango were top-notch hosts, extremely warm and helpful. Mary Therese showed us how to get around and served as a concierge, making dinner reservations for us, etc. Wolfgango showed us how everything worked in the apartment and entertained us with stories about Michaelangelo (he is an art history professor).

I hope to come back to Rome and to stay in this lovely apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2012
Dear Joanne and family,

Hello. Sorry for the belated reply, many thanks for the nice review of the Minerva. We hope that your stay left you many warm memories to bring back home with you. Hopefully you'll be back to Rome again, maybe in a warmer season next time, one trip is really never enough!

Best regards,

Mary Therese & Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Reviewed 16 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Jan 2012
Dear Joanne and family,

Hello, many thanks for the kind review. We hope that you have many good memories of your stay in Rome. This is such an incredibly interesting city that one trip is never enough, there is always more to do and see. Hopefully you will have an even better time on a return trip, this city just keeps getting better as time passes. Best regards from Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tan L
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great People”
Reviewed 20 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

My family of 5 checked into Minerva very early morning of Dec 13, 2011. Mary and Wolfango was there to greet us and help us with the luggage to the apartment in 5th Floor with elevator (a plus point). The apartment was so complete from the bathroom to kitchen and the bedrooms with a library of vast books which my children greatly enjoyed. A supermarket just opposite the street and minutes away from Colesseum. Chinese food is available nearby.

My 15 years old son fall ill on the day of arrival and I asked Mary for help as Rome is foreign to us. Both Mary and Wolfango help us to fetch my son to a tourist hospital at about 11 pm without hesitation after finishing their work and having to travel 60km out of town to be back in Rome to assist us. Who on earth will do that? Minerva's Owner did.

Our trip took us further to Amalfi Coast and Chanti and these are my 3 children's comment during our road trip. They said and I quote "Minerva is the Best".

Once again, our heartiest thanks to both Mary and her husband Wolfango.

Ciao

TL Tan from Malaysia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great Place, Great People
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2011
Dear Tan and family,

Hello, thank you for your very kind review. We were glad to be of help when your family had problems, this is our living and it what we love to do, to help our clients have the best possible holiday here in Rome. We thank you for the kind gift of the key chains from you and hope the rest of your trip was a good one, with good memories. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you can come back again to Italy, thank you for telling us about Malaysia, I hope we can go there too one day! Happy New Year to you,

Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam181738
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“** Wonderful apartment and wonderful owners **”
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

After a week's stay in beautiful Tuscany but in not so beautiful accommodations, we came to the Minerva Apartment in Rome for two nights. Wow! What a place! And what wonderful, helpful owners! And what a fantastic location, just a few blocks from the Coliseum, and across the street from the most amazing gelato ever.

Mary Therese and Wolfango were there to meet us and carry our bags up. Then we received an information session which included anything we might need to know about the apartment from operating the air conditioning to their very secure locking system. Their information also included restaurants, shopping, busses, trains, sights, ...

Before we left for our trip, we were extremely impressed with Minerva which we booked after reading the great tripadvisor reviews. Once we contacted Mary Therese, she went above and beyond, from accepting the delivery of a wheelchair my travelling buddy was having sent to Rome to await her arrival (and setting it up), to offering their phone number and driving services if we had any problem getting to the airport on our last day in Rome because of the 24 hour transportation strike.

In addition, once we booked, we received an email from Mary Therese with an attached document including everything we might want to know or need to know about Rome. It was extremely helpful.

The attention to detail that this couple show with both their guests and with their accommodations is phenomenal.

Now on to the apartment: what a beautiful beautiful place. Extremely spacious, lovely furnishings and design, every convenience you would need. Extremely hi-spec. Balconies in both rooms, lots of storage, jacuzzi in the bathroom, handy dishwasher, wealth of travel information and pamphlets for our use, extremely comfortable beds. There was not an unfinished detail. And we felt very secure with their amazing door lock.

We were so sad to go and would stay in any accommodations that this couple own.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Reviewed 26 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Nov 2011
Thank you for the kind review, we are glad that we could help you out even more in Rome, though you've been here before. We hope that you have many good memories of this city, wishing you a happy holiday season and thank you for staying at the Minerva,

Regards,

Mary Therese & Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing