We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and authentic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed And Breakfast La Porta
Ranked #1,103 of 3,691 Rome B&B and Inns
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
18
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Clean basic room, with AC, good position just 3 stops on the metro from termini, difficult to find at first, didnt realse the road carried on after roundabout, a very kind Italian gentlemen escorted us to the hotel. cafe & restaurant within walking distance, friendly proprietor.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in B&B La Porta for 6 nights in early September 2011.

I'll start with the bottom line: it's a great B&B, the rooms are spacious and very clean, the staff is helpful and you get very good value to your money. The main downside is the distance from the center, which is compensated by the near Metro station. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who doesn't mind the trips back "home" every night.

Staff - very helpful, though only some of them speak good English. The reception isn't staffed all day long, but during business hours you can always find them next door (at the auto shop they also own). I should also mention that our flight to Rome was delayed, so we only arrived around 1:45 AM, but thankfully they kept someone there to wait for us and check us in.

Neighborhood - far from the center (not walking distance), but easily reachable by Metro (7 minutes on foot from the B&B to the Bologna Metro station, 3 stops away from Termini). That said, the trip back to the B&B at the end of a long day could still take us quite a while, especially when we weren't near a Metro station (which is not uncommon in Rome). This was the main drawback of this B&B as far as we were concerned (then again, we can't compare the price of this B&B to those in the center).

The upside for the location: numerous low-priced restaurants and food stands are scattered nearby, and they seem to stay open until late at night, but otherwise there's nothing of touristic interest to be looking for in the area.

Rooms - spacious, very clean, but there's a bit of a damp smell in the hallway and in the rooms (just open the window and it's gone). The kitchenette is equipped with a microwave, a sink and some dishes, but lacks means to actually wash any dishes (which they ask you to do). The bathroom is also very clean and is equipped with a bidet. The bed - an actual double bed, not just a pair of single beds pushed together - was very comfortable.

Air conditioning - proved to be crucial in early September. During our fourth night it refused to function, but seemed to have fixed itself by the next night.

Free WiFi was available, as well as a computer in the lobby to be used by guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yodant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The room is big and is equipped with a microwave oven. Clean and well maintained. You are given coupons for breakfast where you can redeem in a coffee place around the corner and I must say, the coffee is very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Upon arrival, greeted by the staff. very helpful but speak very little english. having hard time to communicate even to ask for a kettle! We have to show her the picture! the room is average. the b&b owns also la porta auto located nearby b&b.. good landmark if we get lost. the train station about 10-15mins walk (bologna station) connecting to termini central station. a lot of bus but need to really understand transportation system here for easy travel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This hotel has a great location close to several different metro stops and near many restaurants that are not priced for tourists but are priced for locals so they are cheaper, also this B&B is in a college district of Rome so there are lots of low prices places to eat. There is also a market area about 5 blocks away where there are tons of fresh fruits and vegetables daily. The price of this B&B is awesome, and is the best deal I have found in Rome! I have been to Rome 5 times and this is my hotel of choice. The rooms are great, clean and big. There is free internet as well which is a total plus. To get breakfast you get tickets for the cafe next door which has excellent cappuccino and brioche (an Italian breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JML0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
InternoUno
InternoUno
#1,120 of 3,691 in Rome
124 reviews
Prati
Comics guesthouse
Comics guesthouse
#117 of 3,691 in Rome
357 reviews
InternoUno Deluxe
#212 of 1,118 in Rome
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
L'Arca di Campaldino by Dix-huit
Da Nonna Maria
#1,118 of 3,691 in Rome
35 reviews
Roma Scout Center
#223 of 3,691 in Rome
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed And Breakfast La Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed And Breakfast La Porta

Property: Bed And Breakfast La Porta
Address: Via Campaldino 10, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,103 of 3,691 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed And Breakfast La Porta 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bed And Breakfast La Porta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing