We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed And Breakfast La Porta
Ranked #1,260 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We found the hotel slightly hard to find as the sign and door are in a porch way slightly obscured by plants. when we arrived the door was locked, there was a sign on the door saying to ring a number, we did so and a man came within 5 minutes and got us checked in. the room had a wardrobe in it, was en-suite and had a kitchenette with fridge, microwave, plates, cups and cutlery. the room was large, the bed was comfy, the shower was great. there was no kettle so we boiled water in cups in the microwave and used tea, coffee and milk bought in a local supermarket to make drinks. we also bought washing up liquid and dish cloth to wash things we used. the room, bed and towels are cleaned, and changed daily. you are given vouchers for breakfast at a nearby cafe, with a good selection of drinks and pastries. the voucher entitles each guest to a drink and a pastry. the only negative I can report on is that the walls are pretty thin and if you have inconsiderate guests as we did for one night you may get no sleep. location isn't too bad. ten minute walk to bologna metro station and three stops to termini station. overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

we stayed 3 nights in the hotel,the hotel is clean and nice
The situation of the hotel is really good, there are 2 Metro stations walking distance from the hotel,
and there is a Bus stop 50 meter walking from the hotel,
A nice supermarket is just 100 meter from the hotel,
They clean the rooms everyday.
Damiana the manager in the hotel is really a nice person,
she helped me when I had a problem with the Metro ticket machine,
she called the company and arranged a refund.
If i come back to Rome i will definitely stay again in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sayouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We were given a room across the road from hotel. We were happy with this as we had a good room that was peaceful. The bathroom was good with a large shower. There was a small kitchenette which was handy for storing food and drinks.
The are was ideal as it was a short bus or tube trip to the center. There were plenty of shops, restaurants and bars localiy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jolande S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Clean basic room, with AC, good position just 3 stops on the metro from termini, difficult to find at first, didnt realse the road carried on after roundabout, a very kind Italian gentlemen escorted us to the hotel. cafe & restaurant within walking distance, friendly proprietor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank marrechien a
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in B&B La Porta for 6 nights in early September 2011.

I'll start with the bottom line: it's a great B&B, the rooms are spacious and very clean, the staff is helpful and you get very good value to your money. The main downside is the distance from the center, which is compensated by the near Metro station. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who doesn't mind the trips back "home" every night.

Staff - very helpful, though only some of them speak good English. The reception isn't staffed all day long, but during business hours you can always find them next door (at the auto shop they also own). I should also mention that our flight to Rome was delayed, so we only arrived around 1:45 AM, but thankfully they kept someone there to wait for us and check us in.

Neighborhood - far from the center (not walking distance), but easily reachable by Metro (7 minutes on foot from the B&B to the Bologna Metro station, 3 stops away from Termini). That said, the trip back to the B&B at the end of a long day could still take us quite a while, especially when we weren't near a Metro station (which is not uncommon in Rome). This was the main drawback of this B&B as far as we were concerned (then again, we can't compare the price of this B&B to those in the center).

The upside for the location: numerous low-priced restaurants and food stands are scattered nearby, and they seem to stay open until late at night, but otherwise there's nothing of touristic interest to be looking for in the area.

Rooms - spacious, very clean, but there's a bit of a damp smell in the hallway and in the rooms (just open the window and it's gone). The kitchenette is equipped with a microwave, a sink and some dishes, but lacks means to actually wash any dishes (which they ask you to do). The bathroom is also very clean and is equipped with a bidet. The bed - an actual double bed, not just a pair of single beds pushed together - was very comfortable.

Air conditioning - proved to be crucial in early September. During our fourth night it refused to function, but seemed to have fixed itself by the next night.

Free WiFi was available, as well as a computer in the lobby to be used by guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,959 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#112 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#214 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed And Breakfast La Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed And Breakfast La Porta

Address: Via Campaldino 10, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,260 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bed And Breakfast La Porta 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bed And Breakfast La Porta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing