We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Merulana Star
Ranked #1,565 of 3,664 Rome B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We travelled in July 2011 and stayed here for 3 nights. The room was very small, cramped and uncomfortable and the bathroom even smaller even by usual Europe standards. For the amount that we paid, we could have found a much better accommodation in Rome. The location was good and at a walkable distance from the colosseum and metro station. However overall a very disappointing stay...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romantic_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    31
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
34
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rolesville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The room was just a bed and a bathroom which was right by the busy street. No AC, but considering the price it worked just fine for us as a young couple as we only used the room to sleep. Location was a 10 minute walk from the central train station where trains throughout Italy leave and buses to the airport leave

Room Tip: Don't expect amenities, just a room with bed and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Hotel was in walking distance from several cafes and a supermarket (handy). room was spacious and clean and had a fridge. wifi and aircon were each 5 euro a day. wifi and aircon is generally free in hostels/hotel so this was not great. when you are a backpackers these extra costs can add up! walking distance from metro which was really handy! no breakfast but that was okay as we would get food from supermarket. area was safe and nice. hotel was secure and trustworthy.

Room Tip: room facing street so you can look down at the people at the cafe and walking by
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank __loveroftravel__735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The location is great. In Rome you basically use your room to sleep in - you don`t sit there much so there isn`t much you need :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at Merulana Star with my parents for 4 nights last week on our trip through UK, France and Italy. This was our last stop before hading back home. A very frank suggestion, DO NOT STAY HERE. There are so many hotels near the station and much much better than this 1* dirty hotel with rude italian staff (no offence against italians!).

To start with, the person behind the desk (who says he is the owner) was extremely rude and did not let anyone speak. He was full of attitude and behaved as if he paid us to stay and not vice-versa.

There is no sign on the street for the hotel (except a small name plate next to the 10000 kg huge door) which you have to stand in front of the door and then only will you be able to see it! Then press the buzzer and wait on the street till the door is opened (lets not talk about safety issues here as anyone can press the buzzer and there is no camera inside to see who it is at the door). We were travelling with luggage and it was very difficult to drag everything to the hotel from Roma Termini station. The lift is size of a tiny box which fits maximum two bags and one person at a time! We were extremely tired by the time we reached the hotel and it was our mistake to ask the person behind the reception that why no sign for the hotel as he said in his rude tone 'this is how it is in Roma, no sigh for one star (1*) hotels in Roma. You stay another place if you want sign!'. wow! awesome start to the stay!

Then we see our tiny smelly room, and peep into the bathroom to find out that there is no toilet seat in the bathroom. The a/c was kept on the floor inside the room, and was leaking water (so was the fridge) which we discovered when we came back in the evening and saw our luggage was completely wet :-( ...

The hand towels were dirty and looked as if they were folded back by the hotel people without washing. No cleaning done daily. Only once in 3 days as informed by the person behind the reception. There was water clogging inside the shower too.. (eeekksss!)

The last day was worse of all. When I asked him why he did not charge me the exchange rate on the day of booking (which was in early May) and why he charged me the rate on the last day of our stay, he started shouting and saying that 'this is not Paris, this is not Venice, this is Roma, this is how it happens here, you want a cheaper rate go someplace else' and was literally a couple of inches away from my face when he was shouting and threatened to call the police (he even dialled a fake call to someone saying he has called the police). Gosh! so much drama for just asking one question! I booked a place earlier with my credit card so that I get best rates in terms of my currency. Its not the first time I am staying at a hotel overseas and everyplace else I was charged the amount of the day I did online booking!! Simple cheating!! They even charged me 3 Euros for a broken glass cup. 3 Euros!!! Rome is full of pick-pockets everywhere.. on the bus, in the train, inside the famous places to see and even this hotel!

It was a mistake to stay at this cheap and rude 1* hotel. The hotel was almost empty while we stayed and now I can guess why! Book early and stay at atleast a 3* in Rome.. every building has a hotel there.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.. all rooms are awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priyanka_Pali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

great location, only 5 minutes walk from the termini station. Friendly and very helpful staff. Good value for money. Pretty noisy as it is on a main street, this is ok as we were there in December so had the windows shut, id imagin in the summer it may be too noisy to sleep with the window open. Cheap mini bar in the room. Very clean and overall great value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Our first impression of the hotel was good as you had to ring a bell to get in. It was encouraging to know that it was a safe place to stay. We got our key and was told our room was down the hall and to the left. We walked into what we thought was our room, only to find out that it was occupied. We then asked the management to show us to our room. Having done that we discovered that the key that we used to open the first room also opened ours. We then had our friends try their key to get into our room. There's also worked on our room. Have never in our lives had this experience. Management seemed very surpised at the discovery. The rooms were in need of painting, and were small. We did have a fan in ours to help circulate the air, but our friends had nothing. The bed linens were in need of updating and the pillows were so flat you had to fold them in half. The shower was in need of repair and appeared to need a good cleaning. No bar soap in the bathroom, but a soap dispenser by the sink. I made sure that all of my valubles were locked in my suitcase when we left for the day. We had no idea who might be able to gain access to our room while we were gone. Staff were nice and arranged for a taxi early in the morning of our departure. The hotel is located close to the Colosseum and Termini, and we found it extremely easy to get around. There were several very nice places to eat around the area. Vecchia Roma was nearby and a great place for dinner on our last night in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#356 of 1,258 in Rome
565 reviews
Esquilino
Merulana Inn
Merulana Inn
#584 of 1,258 in Rome
223 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#927 of 1,258 in Rome
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#561 of 1,258 in Rome
593 reviews
Residence Villa Tassoni
#868 of 1,258 in Rome
223 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orazia
Hotel Orazia
#494 of 1,258 in Rome
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merulana Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merulana Star

Property: Hotel Merulana Star
Address: Via Merulana 240, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,565 of 3,664 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Merulana Star 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Merulana Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing