We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Merulana Star
Ranked #1,453 of 3,758 Rome B&B and Inns
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Alessandro, the owner of this hotel, is one of the nicest people I have ever met. He went above and beyond to help my mother and I with our trip. We missed the last train to Milan on our last night in Rome. We had no where to stay, and it seemed like everywhere was booked. Alessandro spent over an hour on the phone until well after midnight just to find us a room for the night. We were so grateful, but sad that we could not stay another night at Merulana Star! The hotel is clean, comfortable, and close to many major attractions. When I return to Rome, I will definetly be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    30
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
33
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel I want to review is Merulana Star. It is a cheap, one star hotel, located at first floor of a building in Via Merulana, close both Colosseo area and main railways station, Roma Termini (less than 10 minutes on foot).

It is a family-run hotel; the staff is very friendly and reception is 24h open. There are a few rooms, from single to multiple beds. Every room has a private bathroom (wc, shower and basin; towels are included), a tv, and a safe. Furthermore, the location is amazing: you can get Colosseo, Fori imperiali and San Pietro in Vincoli with a short walk. Moreover, the surrounding area is quiet and safe, so the hotel is recommended also for girls and backpacker. Last but not least, prices are really reasonable: €36 for a single room; €45 for a three-beds room (plus €2 for each person as tourist tax).

Neverthless, many things aren't so good: the furniture is quite old and the rooms are slightly narrow. Breakfast isn't included in price (it cost €5). However, for this price you could be satisfied.

To sum up, there are more benefits then drawback, so I would recommend it to young people on budget and families.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franceskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have stayed in Merulana for two nights in January 2014 and I am really happy I chose this hotel. It was a really good value for money in my eyes. The location is perfect. Couldn't ask for a better one, it is 10 min walk from Termini Train/Bus station and 10 min walk to Coloseum. I admit that one problem we did experience was that the bed was a twin and it was hard to make it into a double one as it was sliding apart and the bathroom could have been nicer maybe but I anyway loved the room and would gladly come back. Biggest thumbs up for the man sitting in reception :) he was so nice, positive and attentive to any question we had. I can warmly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are a couple remember to ask fro a double bed, not a twin one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We arrived to find out that our reservation did not exist, although we had a confirmation from Hotels.com about it. To make things a bit difficult, the man at the front desk did not speak English, so after some very confusing non-conversations we received our room. However, it was about twice the cost than what we had initially agreed on... The room was "fine". The included breakfast was a joke: we got a small ticket to walk across the street and have 1 beverage and 1 pastry. I have stayed in Rome previously and at least the included breakfast had some yoghurt, coffee, fruit etc. The good thing about this hotel is that it is quite close to the Colosseum. But you are better to find a cheaper hotel, as this one was quite over priced for what you are getting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I am an 18 year old australian girl, I wouldn't say that I am back packing but I am traveling. I stayed at the Merulana Star for 4 nights.
I arrived in Italy at CIA airport and from there I caught a shuttle bus into Termini station. It was late at night and getting dark, but I managed to find Via Merulana (the street on which the hotel is located). Finding the hotel was at first, confusing because I was looking for an entrance to any normal hotel, but instead I found, on a gold name plate beside massive old doors, the hotels name and address.
It stated that if you are staying at the hotel to press the buzzer that was on name plate. After that I went inside the door, which is quite an effort to open while carrying such a big suitcase. After the first door, there is a second door but that one is a lit easier to pass. That will lead you into the stair way. Don't be alarmed... there is a lift, however the lift is tiny and I was only just able to fit my suitcase in. The lift is obviously old and anyone who has a fear of lifts and is carrying a lot of luggage, I suggest you find a different hotel.
Anyway once I passed all that the hotel is the first floor of the building and the man at reception was very nice and saw I was tired so he did quick paper work so I could sit down in the room for a bit and finish the rest once I settle in a bit, which I really liked. Once I settled in a sat down for a bit I came back out and finished all paper work. He then, using his best english, gave me two maps and on one he circled where the hotel is and where all the big tourist sites are. He also suggested the best route to walk and which buses and metro lines where the best to take back to the hotel. I thought this was extremely nice how he tried to say it all in english.
But now moving on to the room, well when I booked the hotel I seemed to have missed the part that said this was a One Star Hotel. So needless to say I was VERY shocked to walk in and see all the marks on the walls. It was very off putting, but because I am a 'messy teenager' I guess I very easily saw past that and it wasn't too bad for the price and location. If you were very picky then the following would probably bother you:
1) Mold in corner of the shower
2) Dirty marks on the walls
3) The cupboard is very unstable
4) Aircon and Wifi were each €5 per day

That is really the only few things that bothered me at first but I saw past them. The MAJOR 'EEK' was the room key/ security...... the room key was VERY generic and I would say if all the keys were the same then my key probably could have opened every room. As the key was handed to me for the first time I was a little concerned but to make me feel safer I lodged my massive suitcase infront of the door so it couldn't be opened from the outside.
The street we stayed on was a fairly busy street and was easily fixed by closing the windows.
The room was cleaned daily and the cleaner even lined my shoes up nicely at the end of my bed each day!

Over all, this hotel for the price, was really good. I would reccomend for added peace of mind to have a lock for your suit case while you go out of the room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikitaAmrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We travelled in July 2011 and stayed here for 3 nights. The room was very small, cramped and uncomfortable and the bathroom even smaller even by usual Europe standards. For the amount that we paid, we could have found a much better accommodation in Rome. The location was good and at a walkable distance from the colosseum and metro station. However overall a very disappointing stay...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romantic_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The room was just a bed and a bathroom which was right by the busy street. No AC, but considering the price it worked just fine for us as a young couple as we only used the room to sleep. Location was a 10 minute walk from the central train station where trains throughout Italy leave and buses to the airport leave

Room Tip: Don't expect amenities, just a room with bed and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Laterano Guest House
Laterano Guest House
#2,046 of 3,758 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Central Lodge
Hotel Central Lodge
#357 of 3,758 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Monti
Relais Merulana Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Buonarroti Home
Buonarroti Home
#682 of 3,758 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Esquilino
Lucky Domus Rooms
Lucky Domus Rooms
#1,188 of 3,758 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Esquilino
Ad Hoc BnB
Ad Hoc BnB
#1,579 of 3,758 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merulana Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merulana Star

Property: Hotel Merulana Star
Address: Via Merulana 240, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,453 of 3,758 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Merulana Star 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merulana Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing