We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Nearby Hotels
US$625
US$414
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
US$273
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$172
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$733
US$443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$235
US$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$336
US$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$877
US$486
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
23
83
111
50
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
83
111
50
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscleaning servicerooms are bigcomfortable staypublic transportmini barattractions
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Good Points: Big room, nice front desk, comfy bed, really good shower, close to a tram and a bus, good bakery nearby
Bad points: Ants in the room, terrible breakfast, no restaurant for dinner, no restaurants nearby, far from city centre, staff not very friendly, no bath, no kettle in the room, no welcoming kit/leaflet, run down area (litter everywhere, cat got hit by a car and was left at the side of the street for two days)

Room Tip: Do not get the 105 bus - packed! Don't forget city tax! 2 euros per person per night. Trip Advisor's map is wrong by about 2 miles, we got lost for hours. Look on Google Maps.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here september 2013 for 3 nights and were slightly let down by it. In images the hotel looks lovely, clean and modern-ish. But its a tad on the side of run down.
Our room although big had stained walls, dusty floors and a stained pillow, the colour scheme of dark green also gave it the feel of a hospital room.
We were also unlucky enough to be right at the top of the stairs (Room 148) so all night all you could hear was people walking past, high heels on tiled floors and rolling cases.
The other travellers seemed to not care about other people and would shout, scream, laugh and run about the halls, the staff did nothing to control this.
Our main gripe however was, that we were also opposite the vending machine, and believe me that thing is LOUD. You hear every coin being dropped in, the selection buttons and then three loud clangs as the drinks fall into the drawer. This goes on all night.

If you are looking for rest and relaxation after a day of sightseeing, this isn't the place for you!!

Location wise, it is quite far out of town but as everyone has already stated you can easily hop the 558 bus to Subaugusta and join the metro. However we found this difficult todo on a sunday. You can buy tickets in the shop attached to the pizzeria opposite the hotel.
Our advice buy a 75min ticket to get into town then find a news stand and buy a 3 day pass. Then you can tram, train and bus, where ever you like.

The Tram is just around the corner,
- exit hotel right, right again, straight down past Lidl and its the platform on the left. (there is 2 platforms, either-side of a crossroads the left one you get on, and the right one is where you get off) - which is much more straight forward and takes you straight to Termini Station, from there you can join either metro line although it does take 40mins and the surrounding areas are not that scenic but patience is rewarded as a stop or two before Termini you come to a beautiful Ancient Archway, (you can't miss it).
You can also jump on the 105 bus, but we never used this option. Its busstop is next to the Tram stop.

Food: We found it to be better than other reviews led us to believe, a range of different cereals, fresh milk, orange & pineapple juice. The cheese/egg mix was nice and the sausages were tasty too. Fresh croissants too, with a choice of chocolate, custard or plain.

Overall we would say, it is a bit far from central Rome and its not very relaxing, we wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Aim For A Room Down The End Of The Corridors, Away From Stairs, Lifts & Vending Machines!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawprints17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Alba in September for 4 nights. We had read the previous trip advisor comments and have the following to contribute. The Hotel Alba is very much located well out the City area and there is not much around other than a run down pizza place across the road, or just out the hotel to the right and travel around 2000m, turning right again is a good sit down Chinese and an Lidl. To the left out the hotel is a shopping area with more restaurants but is over a mile away.

The hotel itself is OK. The reception staff came across as friendly and we were allocated a standard room on the first floor. It was clean, quite large, with a fridge and small flat screen TV (Italian channels only). The bed was hard but comfortable but what really let the room down was a very stained counterpane although the sheets were very clean. Extra blankets were available in the wardrobe but you would not wrap your dog in them. There is air conditioning that you control by the window which looks like a radiator, easy to work out though.

The bathroom was large and clean. The shower was powerful. The place besides the counterpane was more than acceptable. The hotel though seems stuck in the 1960/70’s and a major overhaul is required. We asked for extra pillows but were told the hotel was full so only two pillows a room. We brought our own, plus take your own towels which is essential, the towels there are best described as sheets. We also took our own kettle (no tea/coffee making facilities). Wifi is available at the hotel for a rather expensive price; however, the room safe was free. You can drink the tap water.

Breakfast is included but it has something to be desired. It may be a cultural thing but we did not think much of the breakfast. Very low quality cereals, plain yoghurts, cakes, bread, low quality ham/cheese with highly salted cold scrambled eggs accompanied by cold hot dog sausages. If this is to your liking you will love it if fact a few Italian families were tucking in big style.
There is not much at the hotel, it states it has a bar but that’s now how I would describe it. Travelling into the City is no issue. Out the hotel, turn right, 100m a bus stop the 558. We got a bit confused initially as there is nowhere to buy tickets even on the bus. Basically, the bus to the metro is free; you pay for both at the metro. You get off at Subagusta (you see the big white M surrounded by red. Looks like a MacDonalds sign. Once in the metro you pay at the payment machines (if you press the other language button) it comes up in English. Effectively it costs you 1.50 Euro which gives you 100mins travel on the tube (metro) or buses. This will easily get you into the centre of Rome.

When you leave the hotel you get stung with ‘Rome’ tax which is 2 Euro each a night and is a must do. Taxi’s to Alba from the airport are expensive so book online beforehand with a cab firm and should cost you 50 Euro. We did this, plus the Alba arranged our taxi back with a local firm for 52 Euro.

Overall, for the price we paid it was value for money. The hotel though just by changing the blankets, counterpane, more pillows, tea/coffee making facilities and tuning the TV to BBC World News or CNN would have made the stay better. Plus directions and such like in English to get the bus/metro into the City.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows, towels, kettle, blanket and a sense of humour, plus your own cereals - we did well worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonysmith676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here with the group for our tour. Location wise very far from everything. The rooms are quite big but not that clean. Food all bland, breakfast not so much choices. Overall service from front desk to the dining is poor. Staff don't communicate well in English. .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marge1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights
Very nice room. Shame about there being no English channels for us to watch but that was the only fault in the room.
The food was ok, bit of the same though. We did find that the hotel was a bit out of the centre but this just added to the experience of being in Rome.
It was a very nice, peaceful hotel and would go back

My major fault would be that me and my boyfriend went down to the games room on out last day to play table tennis and the room looked liked it hadn't been used for a while... Well i must of sat down for about 2minutes on the settee and then ended up with around 30 FLEE bits on each leg! The flee bits covered all of my body and they lasted for around a week once back in Scotland and were itchy, sore, and had a burning feeling. So maybe give the games room a miss!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews