We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in Trastevere!”

Ristorante da Cencia
Reserve with
Ristorante da Cencia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9,433 of 12,268 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$20 - US$39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gem in Trastevere!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

After a couple of mediocre experiences in Trastevere (lots of tourist traps), this restaurant was surprisingly amazing. I agree with previous reviews that the service could be better, but the food was simply fabulous. As a antipasti I had the best bruschetta I had up to now. It was perfectly crunchy and the taste of the black olive tapenade was perfect. Then I had a very BIG piece of lasagna, and that was also superb! Check the picture. The taste was great. I ate almost all of it, so I was too full to take a dessert, but those looked also divine. Portions are LARGE. There were also a lot of locals in this restaurant, which made the atmosphere quite amazing. Go here if you're visiting the Trastevere area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    222
    174
    100
    140
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“good pasta”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

found this restaurant early in April of this year all the staff were great i asked them to make a dish for me and they said no problem and it was very good.my wife and I have been back several times always good.i hope to go back before we leave Rome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joed1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First time genious, Second time surprisingly not that good”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We've been there last year and there it was amazing in this eatery. Now we were there today again an me and my girlfriend were suprised how degraded they have compared to last year!
No longer large helpings and my pasta also didn't taste that good as i had it the year before.
The first time i'd have given 4 points out of 5 but this time only 2!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForAHonestReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
346 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Sora Cencia, very good tiramisu”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Good pasta and the best tiramisu we had in Rome. Very nicely decorated interior and funny menu: they claim (in roman dialect) you need to be patient waiting for your food, or better to choose McDonald... but they were not that slow, and the Transtevere area is so nice you don't really mind waiting and savouring the atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank aa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It doesn't worth”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Even though the Menù seems very regional and genuine, food quality is below average and service really poor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alzanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante da Cencia also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante da Cencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing