We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the comfortable, but stylish slippers one needs after a day in the "eternal city".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Torre Colonna
Ranked #57 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2010

From the moment we arrived at Residenza Torre Colonna, we felt right at home. Felice was unflappable and accommodating, his breakfasts were the best we had in any hotels while in Italy. Sarah went out of her way to assist us with sightseeing tips, transfers, loaning us guide books etc. and when we had banking issues, they saved our holiday through their calm sensible approach and helpfulness. Our room was great looking but also worked really well. It had all the security features we could want and the sunken bath and massage shower was terrific after a hard day pounding the cobble stones. The location was perfect between the Trevi and Trastevere, we could walk everywhere, and if we didn't feel like it, buses and taxis abounded in our central location. The view from the rooftop was what one dreams of when thinking about staying in Rome. We'll definitely be back, it will be like revisiting old friends!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAJ-from-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

We spent a wonderful weekend based at the Torre Colonna. The location is unbeatable and the building spectacular.
Sarah (one of the owners ) was especially helpful, recommending a local restaurant for late lunch - Le Lanterne - and organising taxis. The hotel shuttle service to/from the airpoort is more cost effective than taking the Leonardo Express and local taxi. Have already recommended the hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed Rome and our stay at Torre Colonna. Felice(hope I spelt it right) was most helpful and made cappucino and fresh squeezed orange juice every morning. His helper whose name I neglected to ask was also very nice and helpful with our bags. Location was great, we walked everywhere or took the bus.

The apt on Banchi Vecchi was also delightful, we felt like Roman residents greeting our neighbours as we exited the apt building. Every morning we loved going to the Campo de Fiori Market where we enjoyed our breakfast standing in the cafe and picked up (for our picnic lunch at Ostia) the best 3 euro delicious porchetta sandwiches from the middle of the market.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Sarah Hawker Montanari, the owner of Torre Colonna also offers this 1 bedroom + 1 further convertibe bed in living room apartment in the centre of Rome on Via Banchi Vecchi, which is within walking distance to the banks of the Tiber, the Pantheon and several central attractions including the Vatican. For those not wishing to walk, the bus stop is one street away (10 mins / 4 stops to the Vatican) as are several restaurants, take-aways and a mini-super market. It is located on a back street on the first floor of a very nice, quiet residential block on a street that looks deceptively run down. The apartment has all the required kitchen facilities, is very comfortable and good value for money. Sarah is always a phonecall away and is very helpful. I visited with my parents to celebrate my mothers' 60th and we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViolenceToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

It was truly an amazing experience staying at the Torre Colonna: a newly renovated medieval tower with a contemporary interior located in the heart of ancient Rome - what better combination to experience Roman style? We were warmly greeted by the English-speaking owners and shown our extremely comfortable bedroom with bathroom en suite... our every need was thought of: air-con. mini bar, safe, internet connection and television. Lying in bed we admired the beautifuly painted soffitto ceiling, and although in the heart of Rome with the double glazed windows the sound of traffic was minimal. Breakfast was delicious including home produced jams and cold meats from the family country estate and fresh rolls - what a treat.. The view from the roof garden was exceptional: the Colisseum, the Vittoriano, the Pantheon and in the distance the dome of St Peter's... and we experienced this while enjoying a jacuzzi! Staying at the Torre Colonna was the perfect place to stay to be introduced to Rome ... and we cannot wait return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntoniaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

If Residenza Torre Colonna is representative of the B&B experience, then they have converted me from a snobby hotel princess to a HUGE FAN of B&B's!!

We stayed from 9/13/10- 9/22/10. Lots of reviewers already mentioned the WONDERFUL hot tub on the roof and how great the rooms were so I decided to focus on other WONDERFUL things about Torre Colonna. I hope my review is helpful.

To start, Sarah and Juan, the owners, are just wonderful. Their custodian, Feliche who oversees the B&B in their absences is equally terrific. They take care of everything from reservations to drivers to laundry service and more. All the amenities of a hotel without all the hassle of a larger hotel with many guests. Sarah and Juan managed to get my husbands iPhone returned from a cabby one day after we reported it missing. They can work MAGIC! Sarah got us dinner reservations at a restaurant that was booked out one month in advance. Again, MAGIC!

Cleanliness: I have stayed at many hotels (as I mentioned, this is my first B&B) and I must say that the staff here work hard to keep everything tidy. Our room was cleaned everyday. After long tours / walks through Rome it was comforting to know there was a clean room and comfortable bed upon arrival.

Location: Oh my! Like no other!! You can walk ANYWHERE in Rome! If you are city people like us then you are in for a treat. Grab a gelato around the corner (on Via Magnanapoli) and sit on stairs (resemble the Spanish steps) while you overlook Trajan's Forum. You want more to see? Instead of sitting on the steps, walk down them and follow straight to Via dei Fori Imperiali (Rome's center road). Go left to the Colosseum or Roman Forum. Walk up Capitoline Hill to the famous Capitoline museum or at the base of the hill visit Mamertine Prison (where St Peter & Paul were held prisoner) which overlooks the Roman Forum. ALL THIS WITHIN A 10-20 BLOCK RADIUS! And let's not forget the other direction toward the Trevi Fountain! From the roof of Torre Colonna you can see all of Rome as far as the Vatican. You must experience the hot tub views at night!! So fun!

Breakfast: Delicious! Fresh Italian meats & cheeses, breads, croissants, toast with various honey's & jams, hard boiled eggs, tea, espresso, cappuccino, cereal, yogurt & baked goods. It was the perfect start to the day.

Lunch: They do not serve lunch; however, if you sleep in and miss breakfast go just next door (to the left when exiting) they have the BEST sandwiches. Fresh baked bread with Italian meats, eggplant, mozz, etc. Lots to choose from. But go early b/c he usually runs out of the sandwiches by 2pm.

Dinner: Do eat at both Da Enzo (ask for Titti!) and Da Fortunato Al Pantheon (ask for Claudio) Have Sarah make you reservations before you get there. You can read my reviews in TripAdvisor for more on these restaurants.

Pizza: If you are American or use to American style "pizza" you are in luck. Around the corner from Torre Colonna eat at: CAESAR PIZZA at Via Magnanapoli, 4 (aka the area that looks like Spanish Steps & overlooks Trajan's column) they have the BEST pizza. Think Sicilian style THIN crunchy crust with AMAZING toppings and LOTS of flavor!

Gelato: Next to Caesar's Pizza (around the corner from Torre Colonna on Via Magnanapoli) there is a gelato place. Again, one of the best we had in Rome. Get the Nutella and Lemon flavor gelato!! SO GOOD when eaten together!!

WATER TIP: Exit Torre Colonna and make a right. Walk directly across the street at the base of a staircase there is a fresh water fountain. Fill up your bottles here before starting your daily adventures!

So all of these reasons, PLUS MORE are reasons why you should stay at Torre Colonna during your visit to Rome!!!

It's in the perfect location with the perfect amenities and the perfect staff!! A++++

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisathomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

This is an interesting little place that has been beautifully restored. Location is quite good as it is within easy walking distance to the historic center of Rome. Breakfast was tasty and varied. This is a good spot for the independent traveller as there is not a lot of interaction between guests and staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emileee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Domus Libera
Domus Libera
#82 of 3,779 in Rome
133 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Queen
Navona Queen
#26 of 3,779 in Rome
490 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Corso 281 Luxury Suites
Corso 281 Luxury Suites
#48 of 3,779 in Rome
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
Cardilli Luxury Rooms
#23 of 3,779 in Rome
450 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#11 of 3,779 in Rome
323 reviews
Trevi
Daphne Trevi
Daphne Trevi
#85 of 3,779 in Rome
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Torre Colonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Torre Colonna

Address: Via delle Tre Cannelle 18 | Angolo Via 4 Novembre 101, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £112 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Torre Colonna 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each room has a Nespresso machine, a kettle with a selection of fine teas, a touch screen computer, a safe, a minibar and hairdryer in the bathroom. All our rooms have 2 sets of double glazing and air conditioning/heating. . Our breakfast,(with freshly squeezed orange juice) is very abundant and has become quite famous! We have roof terrace open day and night with a spectacular view 360° over Rome. All our rooms are stricktly no smoking however smoking is permitted on the roof terrace. Wi-fi is free of charge. Airport pick-up service is available at a very reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Torre Colonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Torre Colonna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing