We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather unpleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Lodi Rome
Ranked #711 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 7 September 2012

At first a small advice for those who decide to stay here: if something like toilet paper or soap is missing, which is likely to happen, ask the person on reception twice, you are not going to get anything upon first request.

The beds are very thin and uncomfortable and the positioning of the cabinet just over the bad ensures maximum inconvenience.

There is a strong unpleasant smell there which can not be removed nor by opening windows, nor by air conditioning.

You are responsible for trash removal and the garbage cans are on the opposite end of the street.

The kitchenware was very basic and lacking essential pieces.

The location is not as good as you may think by looking at the map. While there are direct connections to Vatican and Coliseum the public transport is extremely slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Residence Lodi Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Only returned from our stay at Residence Lodi yesterday and already missing our small apartment- but mainly the city of Rome! We found Lodi hard to find initially but soon got used to jumping on the number 5 or 14 tram every morning to Termini which only takes 20 minutes. The apartment itself is sparsely furnished and the kitchen utensils provided are limited but when there are so many amazing places to eat so close by it doesn't really matter. Within 2 minutes walk are 2 very good restaurants: necci: a little expensive but lovely (and you get lots of free snacks even if you just order drinks) and Mr Mazo, which we ate twice at during our 8 day trip. The asparagus risotto is amazing as are the rice balls- a new discovery for us which we are now addicted to. It is also very reasonably priced and there is a menu in English as well making choosing much easier. We had very few issues with the accommodation except for the thumping music we could hear through the walls from about 8pm until 4am. There is a nightclub on the street (not that we could find it) but it might have just been a noisy neighbor as the walls are very thin and we could often hear people talking in the apartment next door. Having said that we slept easily- but that was probably a result of our busy days sightseeing. We also had problems with the air conditioning and often woke up in the middle of the night freezing cold, but possibly that was just us. The room is also a little dark and wouldn't advise opening the windows too much unless you want to get eaten alive by mosquito's during the night. For the price we paid Residence Lodi was very good value, the woman at reception friendly and helpful and our stay very enjoyable. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We visited Rome over a weekend in November as a large group of friends(10+).

The lady at the desk was quite helpful and a small tip ensured that the hotel manager was available well past midnight to help us with the check-in. The rooms were big and had all the basic necessities. The rooms were neat and tidy but the last renovations must have been quite a while ago. The "hotel" is basically four separate buildings at a stone's throw from each other.

There was no intercom to talk to our friends in other rooms. Internet(WiFi) was charged at 1.5 Euros an hour. The tram/bus stop was a two minute walk and the nearest ATM was 10 minutes away. Parking could be a problem if you arrive with your own car.

Room Tip: Some rooms had a couch but most didn't
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dhruv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We, like another reviewer here, booked this and researched thinking it was the 'Hotel Lodi'. We didn't realize our mistake until being dropped off from the airport, but it was the most fortunate mistake. The room we had was pretty spacious with the kitchette, bedroom and bath, and very comfortable, if plain. The local market was a short walk and we stocked the fridge, bought wine, ate at a really good, and cheap, restaurant/bistro kitty-corner from the residence. It was like actually living there for a week. It's a short walk to the trolleys that take you to the termini, which goes everywhere you want to go, and the neighbourhood, while looking rough by western standards, is a delight, and if you go to the aformentioned bistro in the evening, it is packed with the locals - mostly couples out for an evening meal. Linda was wonderful, and helpful, and the map she gave us, along with instructions of which trolley to take, was more than enough to get us around. This may be more of an adventure than some people want, but we had a fabulous time, and part of that was the experience of being a real neighbouhood with the people and flavour that is really Rome. We rate this as our best travel experience so far. By the way, the Roman people are lovely and were really helpful and friendly - the market was a prime example. If you like to really feel a place, this is it. And there was nothing like making your own coffee in the morning, or coming home from a long day out and making a sandwich in your own kitchen. We loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janett1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Our room was on ground floor at back and had 3 single beds, plus small kitchen (sparcely equipped but who wants to cook in Rome?) and bathroom. All spotlessly clean with good air-conditioning, but we did get wakened in morning with neighbours leaving and slamming door. Linda was very helpful and friendly. Although hotel is a bit far out from city centre, we used the tram every day, which stopped at the end of the street every few minutes and reached the Termini in about 10 minutes for 1 euro. Only downside was when we first arrived at 11pm, reception was closed. We had sent an e mail to say we would be arriving late. We spoke on the intercom and said we had a reservation and were told we should go to register at the Hotel Centre. We were 2 women on our own and had no idea where the Via Giolitti was or how to get there. Linda eventually came down and let us into our room. This is not a satisfactory situation, so beware if you are travelling by Ryanair and arriving after 8pm. Otherwise we were happy with the accommodation and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelaholic64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The prior postings were very helpful, although some unduly harsh in expecting to get more than what you pay for. Cleanliness was accurately depicted by all and influenced our decision. The room was basic and the kitchen supplies sparse. The twin beds were more like cots. Pushing them together gave you a better sense of security from falling out.

To the extent possible the staff were friendly and helpful. Linda was leaving for vacation the day after our arrival so we had limited interaction with staff.

From a location standpoint, it is conveniently located close to Prenestina (a 5 minute walk to regular tram/bus service) which takes you to Termini in about 10-15 minutes and from there you can go anywhere in Italy fairly easily. In the opposite dfirection across the street and very closeby (1 Min) is a wonderful local cafe Necci which served great snacks with each drink between 7 and 9 pm. They also opened around 8 in the morning and espresso/capuccion was under $2. Between 7 & 9 for 20 E dollars you could drink and eat enough for the night even with large appetites for both.

The site will become even more convenient in the future when the addition of a new metro line (subway) will be 5 minutes away is built.

We like to walk and on our first night we walked to St. Johns of Latreno (one of the 4 big RC churches) and another 10-15 mins we could have walked to the Coliseum.

The price is indicative of it not being luxury accomodations and if you insist upon a comfy bed this is not the place for you. If you embrace your stay with a sense of adventure, accept a little inconvenience or are smallish singles It is a wonderful facility.

As a location for a first visit, it very much suited our needs and I would have no problem returning, but having had an extended stay in Rome and a few days in the Tuscany area would be more inclined to short stays in numerous locations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da_prophet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We booked a really cheap trip through Air Canada the week of 15 Sept 2009. We had checked the hotel before booking, as we always do. Unfortunately I had checked the "Lodi Hotel" instead of the "Residence Lodi" First one had great reviews so we booked. We realized the error in name after booking and when we read the reviews we were not very impressed. Having returned last week, I will tell you for the price we paid, we were quite comfortable with the place. It was very clean and comfortable, if somewhat basic.

We took a cab from Termini to the hotel. It is a bit out of the way but not as far as the other reviews made it sound as it is located near Porta Maggiore just ouside the Aurelain Walls. The lady who runs the place, Linda, greeted us upon arrival. We did not really see her the rest of the visit so this is not a pace to stay if you want the concierge for information, etc. She did give us a map to the city and tram information to get around. The room was absolutely immaculate and I have had rooms not as well cleaned at major hotel chains like the Ramada. The towels were thin but how much do you need to dry off after a shower? We had one housekeeping visit where we got clean towels and the garbage was emptied. It was a bit loud at times but we kept the windows closed and used the AC so it way not a major problem. We only had to walk to the end of the street and take Tram 5 or 14 and we were at Termini in about 10 minutes.

We noticed some comments about the street and a rough neighbourhood. If it is your first time to Rome, you may find it looks really bad. However, I lived in Rome for a year in my youth and this is a typical street for the area. Residence are taxed on how the outside of their homes look so yes, you do get the stucco structures in need of paint. Yes there was garbage in the street but there is all over Rome. Some of the structures actually appear to be former minor palaces that have been turned into apartments. There is a horrible building with a tin roof, appears to be some sort of garage, which is right across from the hotel which certainly does not lend to the ambiance of the street. IF it is your first visit to Rome and you need assistance from such services as a concierge, this is NOT the hotel for you. If you have the romantic notion of wandering around Rome and seeing all the sites, well this is another site - the reality of Rome when you go off the beaten path. If you buy the guide books and are willing to be a bit adventurous, this is one heck of a deal - our trip was CDN$700 each before taxes, for flight and hotel.

My basic advise is based on being familiar with Rome and not being afraid to stay off the beaten path. All the people we saw on the street were residence and at no point did we feel unsafe. Welcome to the real Rome, beyond all the usual tourist areas. If you do your homework you can really save money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BepLep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monteverde
Ponte Bianco
Ponte Bianco
#997 of 1,267 in Rome
117 reviews
Hotel Antico Acquedotto
#1,034 of 1,267 in Rome
113 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#974 of 1,267 in Rome
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scheppers Hotel
#1,039 of 1,267 in Rome
263 reviews
Hotel Cilicia
#478 of 1,267 in Rome
354 reviews
Cervara Park Hotel
#712 of 1,267 in Rome
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Lodi Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Lodi Rome

Address: Via Fanfulla da Lodi 45, 00176 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
Ranked #711 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Lodi Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Lodi Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing