We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One amazing lady”
Review of Casa Romana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Romana
Ranked #25 of 1,068 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One amazing lady”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Fulvia, you are a wonderful host. I don't know where to start. Your place is nice and clean. It is very close to the Termini station where you can hop on just about any public transportation which we did. Rome can be very easy to navigate if you do a little homework before you leave. Your valuable suggestions came very handy like buying the tickets to the Vatican museums and Colosseum online to skip the ungodly lines. The day we went to the Colosseum, it was raining. If we did not have our tickets, the waiting time was 3 hours in the rain and it was not warm. And your coffee, it was delicious. But, your smiling face alone keeps you want to come back to Rome even if you forgot to throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain.

Grazie tante. Love, Susan & Ned

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank novaman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
121
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

It is two blocks from Termini station, which is not only easy to get to from anywhere else by train, but very convenient to take bus to and back from colloseum and other places of interets. Very safe area to walk around at night, and quiet for sleeping. It is not fancy or anything, but definitely provides everything you need for a comfortable staying.
Fulvia is such sweet host and helped in anyway she can. She make great coffee and simple but tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YuqingX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was a little apprehensive about staying in the Termini area but as I was using the station to get to and from the airport , as well as day trips out of Rome (this was my 5th trip to the city) convenience won over my fears. I am so pleased that I made this decision or else I may never had discovered this gem and the wonderful Fulvia.
Why is it such an excellent choice? Firstly, Fulvia the owner has been in the hotel business for many years and knows what she is doing and what guests want and need. Other reviews have made mention of the little extras such as cakes and fruit left out for afternoon snacks. My personal favourite was the kettle, not many hotels provide this simple device but Fulvia knows how appreciated it is by travellers, tired after a long day on the tourist trail. The range of fruit teas is wonderful and there is even loose leaf for those of us who like real tea. Breakfast has a very good range of choices and the coffee is also excellent. There is a small fridge to keep beer and wine cool and Fulvia also provides wine glasses! I also found the Conad supermarket about 5 minutes walk away along via di Mille, an excellent place to stock up on drinks as well as food for sandwiches etc. There is also a supermarket at Termini next to where the airport buses arrive which you pass on the way to Casa Romana which has a good range of drinks, food/toiletries etc.
If you want all the services a hotel provides then this is not for you. If you want a clean room with excellent Wi Fi, hospitable and inexpensive option in the heart of Rome (I walked to places like the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum, museums etc) then you cannot go past Casa Romana B&B. Sure there are no TVs, but who goes to Rome to watch television?
Don't be put off by the stories you hear about how dangerous Termini is. I am a middle aged woman who was travelling solo and I never felt threatened or harrassed in all my many trips to trains and shops. I can also recommend the South American restaurant just a minute's walk away around the corner from the B&B in Castro street as well as the Italian restaurant just a few metres up Via Di Mille.
Thank you again Fulvia for all your help.

Room Tip: If you are a tall, heavy set person the shower in the single room is too small. I am short and small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Fulvia is an excellent host and her apartment is in an excellent location in the Heart of Rome only 5-minutes walk from the Colosseum. Her apartment was in a beautiful building which was quiet, clean and very safe. We stayed for two nights this year and look forward to staying again next year when we go back to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank californiaman500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Fulvia was a lifesaver! Air France lost our luggage and Fulvia made sure to handle all of the arrangements so we could enjoy our trip with out having to worry about receiving our stuff. Fulvia waited up for us when our flight was delayed and was very kind despite our dramatic arrival. Her place was clean, modern and very comfortable. She had breakfast ready by 8am, but was able to leave breakfast in our room the day we checked out. We had an early train to catch and she was always very accomodating to our needs. Her and her other guests were also very friendly and had excellent tips about taxis, visiting the city and where to get food. Fulvia always had snacks available in case we got hungry before breakfast. We had a private room and bathroom with plenty of space for 3 people. Her location is close to Termini Sation, but was away from the crowds and tourists. The area was safe and clean and had good local food. I would stay with Fulvia again when I return to Rome. She was my mother away from my mother! Fulvia made my experience in Italy worthwhile. Thank you from Melissa, Marisela and Monica. :D

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galena10q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This B&B is great because Fulvia know what she is doing. Despite the fact that we arrived much later than anticipated she waited up for us and was so kind. Our room was very nice and comfortable and we had everything we needed and the bathroom was very clean and modern. The airline lost our luggage for two days and Fulvia went out of her way to communicate with them so we didn't have to worry too much about it. The area is safe and it is very close to Termini station so if you wish to take the train into Rome from the airport you won't have to walk too far to get to your destination. Fulvia is very helpful, resourceful, kind and gracious. Stay here if you'll be in Rome. I would gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Fulvia welcomed us late at night after a 38 hour trip from NZ. Needless to say, she was very helpful and was aware that we were knackered - she didn't hang around as it was obvious we needed to sleep (after some food and wine of course).
The room we stayed in was very well appointed with clean modern facilities and is central enough to walk to ancient Rome easily.
There is a cheap and cheerful restaurant underneath the accommodation and provided good standard Italian food quickly. Plenty of other options nearby too...
In short, we had a great time in Rome, and would highly recommend Casa Romana. Thanks Fulvia!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippynobungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Katty
Hotel Katty
#512 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#233 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#976 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#186 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Panda
Hotel Panda
#599 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#897 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Romana

Property: Casa Romana
Address: Via Dei Mille 41a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,068 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Romana is a new family-run b&b near Termini station. The stylish rooms have private bathroom, a/c, and free WiFi. The welcome package includes a detailed map of Rome, our city guide, and fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Romana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing