We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vittoria Ristorante Pizzeria

La Vittoria Ristorante Pizzeria
Ranked #772 of 12,043 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I were staying at a B&B around the corner from la Vittoria and went there twice. The first time our host at the b&b called in for us and we were treated very well. From the Italy guide books I read prior to traveling to Italy, this restaurant seemed to fit the traditional description. Limited sharing of food, order all your food at once, etc. Which was fine with us. Our waiter was very sweet and understood English well. We went back a second time early in the evening, with no reservation. We sat outside and had a different server. He knew limited English, but we were flexible with trying to articulate better what we wanted. He DID NOT like when we tried to order appetizers before pasta (we were not ready to order our main course yet). It almost appeared that he was ready to throw down his note pad and walk away cursing...which he probably still did not in our view. It was obvious he was frustrated with us Americans who unfortunately do not know any Italian. After a bottle of wine, I found the whole situation humorous and still loved their food. "Mr. Claudio" (I believe the owner) is very sweet and a good person to talk to if you find your at your breaking point with the other servers. Food was delicious and I highly recommend trying it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCH922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    259
    80
    34
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly atmospher .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Family restaurant near Vatican with Italian traditional delicious food. We allways returned to this restaurant, after tasting junk food in turistic restaurants.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SUSANRAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience and very accommodating!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here as part of our pilgrimage with 206 Tours. They gave a three course meal and kept the wine coming!! Great local restaurant near the Vatican

Helpful?
Thank Pelonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“In the Shadow of St. Peter's Basilica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Located near the basilica and a hotspot for journalists who cover the Vatican. This most recent time I visited I had an ice cold beer, a very tasty mixed salad and cannelloni with meat. My wife enjoyed her cold shrimp salad and a steamed milk. Service is fast. The night we were there a couple of local families with young kids were celebrating Easter. Added lots of family atmosphere. This is also nice spot to sit outside on a summer night and pass the time with old friends and new. It's worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achill Island, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We discovered this restaurant in 2010 & while we were dying to return, we were somewhat nervous in case it did not live up to our memory of deliciousness. We finally returned in March 2014 and the food was just as delicious and we made some serious inroads in sampling the various plates on the menu. The problem with the menu is that everything is delicious & "you just have to have it". Which makes it difficult to select your top twenty favourite items. I will say that the Spaghetti Vongole, while a simple dish, is simply delicious. And the Venetian Liver is just a delight. The house wine is lovely and the food is great value for money.

Even if you don't speak Italian (which we don't) the staff are very helpful and friendly and are great at answering questions and making recommendations.

This seems to be quite the local eatery and the locals are quite happy to engage with you if you make the effort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vittoria Ristorante Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to La Vittoria Ristorante Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing