We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great, the place was spotless and the hosts were friendly and helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 3,721 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This B&B is located right around the block from a subway stop and is 2 blocks from the Vatican so it's a very good location to explore Rome cheaply and easily. Our room was large, cheerful and clean. The kitchen is stocked with anything you would need for breakfast or snacks. Our hosts were helpful, easy to contact and tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We think this place is a great value and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveandkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for one night at this 3-bedroom B&B at the beginning of October.
The room was renovated, modern, had a very decent size and was very clean.

Henry and Antonella took great care of us with tips for visiting and for our arrival/departure from the B&B.

The B&B has a great location about 5-10 minutes walking to Vatican City, and is just around the corner of a metro station to travel to other parts of the city. The street is a quiet residential street, off the main street, and the building has quiet residents as well. Inside the B&B, it is relatively quiet and won't hear conversations from the other rooms, unless they start throwing a party...

For food, the B&B is loaded with tons of choices for you, but you will have to prepare your own breakfast. They also provided two complimentary bottles of wine and you can also take water bottles from the pantry for the long visiting days.


We would definitely stay here again or recommend this B&B. Since they only have 3 rooms though, make sure to book as early as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I had a excellent stay at Gli Scipioni last week. Quiet room on a quiet street close to the the Metro and the Vatican. Room was always extremely clean thanks to Carlo. Antonella was always available for any issues and kept track of our visit. Self serve breakfast was new for us at a B&B but worked well. Continuous access to fresh fruit and bottled water kept us going during the long days of touring. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We only stayed one night at this lovely place in Rome. The location was very central to the Vatican and Trastavere. I wish we could have stayed longer as we so enjoyed the place. Henry & Antonella were so attentive and explained perfectly where everything was and what to expect. The rooms were so tastefully decorated and the kitchen was fully stocked. Such a nice thing to have a bottle of red & white wine in our room, along with the beautiful robes. Also they arranged a driver for our pick up at Rome's airport and the return the next day. Both were very punctual and a good price. We didn't get to meet David as he was on vacation but will certainly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandaG0lden_C0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLISCIPIONIBB, Owner at Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hey guys,
Glad to hear you had a nice time in Rome, sorry we did not get a chance to meet in person but I am currently in London working on setting up a new project here.
Hopefully we shall meet in person next time.
Saluti
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My partner and I spent 4 nights in this amazing b&b in September and we couldn't have made a better choice.
We stayed in the green room which is spacious and full of comforts: bath robes, slippers, dvd player with a selections of nice films. The place was absolutely pristine and Antonella made our stay so good helping us with tips about restaurants, tickets for the Vatican and everything else we needed.
The fridge is full of all kind of food and you can help yourself anytime of the day which we found very convenient as we don't like to wake up too early in the morning.
We will recommend this place to all our friends.
Thanks Antonella and see you in Rome next time!

Room Tip: The green room was really comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a long weekend in Rome, staying at B&B Gli Scipioni. From the moment I made initial contact with David the customer service and care provided by David, Antonella and Henry was fantastic. Henry greeted us upon our arrival and was so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The accommodation was spotless with modern decor throughout. Located in a great neighbourhood near to the Vatican it is a perfect base to explore Rome from - we were able to walk to all of the places we wanted to visit, but the B&B is also just round the corner from the metro for those less willing to walk. The fully stocked kitchen was a big plus and really convenient - my only very minor gripe is that we had the room next to the kitchen (the orange room) and were woken very early on the Sunday morning when some of the other guests were using the kitchen. This should not detract however from the fact that this B&B is superb and I would have no hesitation recommending it to anyone visiting Rome. The complementary wine in the room was the icing on the cake. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Rome.

Room Tip: The red room is furthest from the kitchen and the quietest of the three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben0775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The 4 of us spent two nights at this B&B: one bed +one futon. Plenty of basic breakfast food available. We enjoyed the good coffee and plenty of fresh fruits and bootled water. We appreciated Antonnella's emails and Henry' presence when we arrived at the B&B. We were looking for a guided tour of the Vatican " in French" and whithin 30 minutes were entered the Vatican for that purpose - thank you Henry !!!......too bad we were not able to obtain tickets for the Coloseum and guided tour of the dongeons - but thank you Henry for all your efforts!!

Oveall a great base in Rome -would strongly recommend if looking for no frills accomodation with great great staff/owners!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BacchusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#42 of 1,269 in Rome
759 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
746 reviews
Prati
Tango Hotel
Tango Hotel
#56 of 1,269 in Rome
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Gli Artisti Bed & Breakfast
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#4 of 3,721 in Rome
1,154 reviews
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#18 of 3,721 in Rome
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Degli Scipioni 53 | Apartment 11 - 3rd floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 3,721 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gli Scipioni Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Gli Scipioni Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Gli Scipioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing