We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“malo malo”

Antica Fontana di Trevi
Ranked #10,041 of 12,254 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Trevi
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
“malo malo”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Ibamos por un menu. La decoración buena. El servicio y la calidad MUY POBRE. el postre era un profiterol bañado en chocolate.Sin wifi (lo anunciaban a la entrada).
Y lo peor fue que nos redondearon la cuenta de 47 a 50 euros alegando que eran las tasas. Vamos que se cobraron la propina engañando.Para no volver!!!!

We were looking for a menu. good decoration. The quality and staff service was really POOR. the dessert was an single profiterol with chocolate. No wifi, even announced outside-
worst thing when they try to charge us an extra of 3 euros in concept of "taxes" paying 50 euros instead of 47. Definitively place to no come back again!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank javi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    50
    58
    68
    235
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Average food above average prices”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The food we had was very average with above average prices. Our waiter told us we couldn't buy wine by the glass only by the bottle must be the only restaurant in Rome that doesn't do wine by the glass.
Service was poor had to ask twice for most things. We were charged 12% service which we knew about we went in. However when presented with the bill we were informed by the waiter that he didn't get this so we needed to leave a tip as well. He got quite nasty when we refused. I do have sympathy with his situation if this is true but that is something he needs to take up with his employer. As a customer we can't be expected to pay for a tip twice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningbunnyJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Disgusting!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a really bad experience in this restaurant! In front of it we were looking at the menu when a woman came to us and began to present the food and the special offer of the day: a menu with bruschetta, pizza/lasagna and dessert! All of it for 10€. But now we know the reason of such price!!!!
The food was awful: the bruschetta was only bread and tomato... the pizza was "margherita" but it was only tomato sauce on a pizza ( freeze food taste better), the waiter forgot about my plate behind the table and we had to take it by ourselves!!! To finish, it was impossible to choose a dessert, they served us a really small and bad tasting "rum baba"!!

Don't go to this restaurant if you want to eat well!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barreiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A place to avoid”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were here for a festive family dinner in the end of 2013. However, despite the nice atmosphere (with live music), the food was almost tasteless, the service a bit too harsh and - as expected - the bill excessively pricey, although the argument goes to explain this is located within a few yards from the Fontana di Trevi and so on, but that by itself doesn't seem to justify such a lack of overall quality.
On top of this, the decoration was a bit too chaotic and consider also the toilets were over-dirty and included a flooded washbasin that prevented anyone from washing his/her hands...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuiAna_ptbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst meal in Rome”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Do not let the friendly guy outside fool you. The food here is absolutely atrocious. Four of us for dinner, not one good plate. I had the filet, or what they call filet. Freezer burned, leathery, could not cut thru it. They do not know what medium-rare is. My friend had the veal cutlet Marsala. It was tough and the sauce (that was supposed to be Marsala wine) was more like liquefied raspberry jam. Lounge lizard piano player was so loud you could not hear the person in front of you. On top of it all it was expensive. Never go there. There are lots of excellent restaurants in the area, pick a different one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VivianTio-Killoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Fontana di Trevi also viewed

 

Been to Antica Fontana di Trevi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing