We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made it Right in the End”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #32 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Made it Right in the End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We reserved a room at Relais 6 about a month in advance and arrived to check in after an overnight flight from the states. We were told that our room was unavailable due to maintenance issues, and that a room had been reserved at the Hotel Fenix just up the street. We were disappointed and I suspected that they had overbooked and had subcontracted out to Hotel Fenix. The next day we went to speak with the manager and without asking he immediately refunded our money for the room. Although we did not stay there the hotel looked very nice and the full refund and provision of a substitute room at a nice hotel made up for the inconvenience. We would definitely book with the Relais 6 again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustBobProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peragia, Owner at Relais 6, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear JustBobProvidence, we are very sorry for the discomfort caused by force majeure. We hope to give you a warm welcome on your next vacation to Rome. Kind regards from all the staff at Relais 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    453
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
476
899
88
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed there for one night and were amazingly suprised by the kindness of the staff and by the professionnalism; The hotel is elegant, nicely decorated (ancient furniture) and we had the surprise to be upgraded to one of the best rooms.

The bartender at night is very friendly, the breakfast was really good, the location is pretty easy (not too close from the city center but easy to reach by frequent buses)

Overall i would recommend 100% to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calimelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peragia, Owner at Relais 6, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear calimelise, thank you for the bautiful review. We have been very happy to have you stay with us and that you have enjoyed our services.
Kind regards from all the staff at Relais 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

we stayed in the Relais 6 for a week. The hotel is in a nice neighbourhood quiet and very close for transport links.

The building is Beautiful, elegant with lots of character details from when it was used as a wartime hideaway before it became the headquarters of the Allied Intelligence. The owners have a museum full of wartime artefacts.

Our room was large with a huge very comfortable bed, it had a balcony and really high ceilings. The air-conditioning was quiet and kept the room cool. We had a fridge in our room so we could keep drinks cold. There was complimentary water and soft drinks on arrival which was nice.

The staff were very helpful providing information about local restaurants and transport links into rome.

Breakfast was served in either the dining room or could be taken outside. It was buffet style with lots of choices, your coffee was made as you wanted late, cappuccino etc

There is a lounge bar that serves drinks in the evening along with complimentary snacks. Big comfy sofa's and lovely furniture giving a nice atmosphere for a glass of prosecco before heading out for dinner.


It was easy to get into central Rome less than 5 minutes takes you to a bus stop that will take you close to capitoline hill or to termini station. The buses were regular and you can buy the tickets from the hotel reception. There is also a subway station less than 10 minutes away that will take you further afield, we used this to get to a bus depot to go to Tivoli for the day.

We ate out in restaurants in the area close to the hotel most nights and were happy to spend a busy day in the city and then be able to walk to a nice restaurant for a meal within easy reach of our hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Relais 6 and would definitely stay again the only thing that could have made it better would have been a hot tub on the balcony!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peragia, Owner at Relais 6, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Zoe H, you have been so nice to write such nice words on your review about our structure. Thank you. We understand that your Rome vacation as been very pleasent for you and we are very happy for this. Kind regards from all the staff at Relais 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Relais 6 was far and away the most accommodating and friendly staff we've run into while on our trip. The front desk people had an answer to every one of our questions with a positive attitude, and we would be in remiss if we didn't mention Tiberio, the pm bartender that had nothing but a smile whenever we asked for (another) bottle of wine, or even just a bag of ice. There is a metro station about ten minutes from the hotel that will get you anywhere you need to go in Rome. The rooms themselves weren't huge, but they were clean, beautifully decorated, and plenty comfortable. The breakfast was good, and always had night-time finger food at the bar. If you're a health buff there is a work-out area on the roof. Great hotel, great staff, really good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peragia, Owner at Relais 6, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Nick N, we always read with great pride and interest you positive reflections on our hotel becouse it helps us to do things better. Thank you very much. Kind regards from all the staff at Relais 6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here 6 nights during a recent backpacking trip. It looked absolutely amazing based on tripadvisor reviews, and when we arrived, our first impression was that it was going to be a great stay. But then we encountered the staff. I don't know if it was because we're young, but we received such disrespectful treatment from most of the receptionists it was unbelievable. For specificity's sake, one morning we weren't feeling very well and decided we wanted to sleep in a bit. At 11 am, the housekeeper came by and we politely told her we were still in the room. At 11:30 am, she came by again, and when we told her we were still there, she scowled in our faces and stalked off. Not but half an hour later, we received a phone call from reception, telling us to leave, so our housekeeper could come in and clean. My boyfriend and I were both astounded. It was literally noon, NOON, and we were forced to leave our room? After a preceding streak of poor treatment, followed by that- no, we shall not return, nor shall we recommend this hotel to anyone else. However, I will say that the bartender was incredibly kind and helpful in giving us restaurant recommendations, and that the facilities were beautiful and very well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bienfaitmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peragia, General Manager at Relais 6, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Ann Arbor,

Thank you for the comment. We are sorry for the misunderstanding and we assure you that young people are always welcome in our hotel. We do not understand how it can be that the house made could of knocked many times on your door to redo the room. In fact, all our staff know well and are instructed that, both in the presence of the do not disturb sign on the door, or and if guests do not like the room to be cleaned, it has never happened that they insist on knocking to clean. If we do not become aware of the needs of our guests, the Reception, for greater scruple provides at 12 noon to call to find out if the guest wants to or not to have his room cleaned up just so there are no doubts about it. Again we are sorry that everything has been misinterpreted but we always try to satisfy all the needs of our guests to the best. Thank you for your writing, greetings from Relais6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

With the new metro station, it's not too bad but still a 10 minute walk to the station, It can be done with luggage if necessary. There's a good store across from the metro station with inexpensive drinks and water too. Overall, an easy ride in on the metro. For a two week, four city vacation in France and Italy, this was the nicest hotel room we had. A reasonable price and a very modern hotel in many ways that is clean and up to date. The room was very large and had a separate bedroom with a pull out couch in the other room. The included breakfast was outstanding with excellent service and great cappucino. We looked forward to it every day in the sunny breakfast room. It is in the middle of a neighborhood of apartment buildings so don't expect what their picture shows with respect to the surrrounding area but the hotel does not disappoint and I would enourage anyone thinking of it to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peragia, General Manager at Relais 6, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Marcel, thanks!

Your review makes us happy and fulfills all our efforts, so that we do not hear nor to do. Because when guests are glad we are even further glad for you! Thanks from Relais6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel was a hidden gem ! about 45 mins walk into Rome this was an amazing find. We were lucky to get a large room which was beautiful and very very clean.
The staff were very professional and helpful, they also recommended great local restautants.
Breakfast was stunning, sat on the terrace they offered a great selection of cheese, eggs, cakes, breads etc etc
Its slightly out of Rome but was nice to get away from the hustle of Rome and enjoy local, resonable restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Try and get a large room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peragia, General Manager at Relais 6, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Tombozz, thanks for the compliment. Our philosophy is and always will be to take to heart all the needs of our guests, whether they are out of their home for business or for pleasure, they must feel pampered as at home. Thank you sincerely for all, the Relais6
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#78 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Property: Relais 6
Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#92 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing