We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant yet very friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #32 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant yet very friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

What a wonderful experience I had staying with my 2 boys at the Relais 6. It has heart and attention to details because it's a family-owned business but it has all the services and customer care of a big hotel chain.
Would not go anywhere else.. Not only I agree with some of the other comments I read about being away from the confusion and noise of more touristic areas ..but..if you are into shopping, you have nearby (walking distance) one of the best shopping areas in the city where the Romans shop: Viale Libia.
Amelie P.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilianpalmieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Cara Amelie P.,
thank you so much for taking the time to write the great review on behalf of our structure.
We are very happy that your children have found themselves well and have had a good stay in Rome.
We sincerely hope to see you very soon at the Relais 6.
Best wishes and see you soon!
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    453
    55
    17
    3
See reviews for
476
899
88
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We found the hotel wonderful, a gem, in a quiet location 2 minute walk to the new metro. The staff were friendly and assisted us with restaurants in the near vicinity. The hotel's lounges were wonderful to return to at the end of the day for a wine/coffee and lovely finger food made fresh daily on the premises. The hotel was a great find and we will definitely use it again and recommend it to other travellers to Rome.

Room Tip: Quiet room on side road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Caro John Z,
you have been very nice to publish the great review on TA. Thank you so much for having appreciated the organization and philosophy of our structure.
We sincerely hope to see you again at the Relais 6 in the future.
We wish you a good summer and we will send the most sincere greetings.
See you in Rome!
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We often travel as a family with 3 children, and this can be very challenging.

We chose Relais for our 2 nights stay in Rome on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews, and yes, can confirm it was an excellent choice, a bit like finding a gem in Rome. We liked it because it is an independent hotel, offering good transport connections, circa 15-20 minutes from most Rome attractions, with a distinct homy, and stylish feeling to it, at a good price. For breakfast we just had fruit and cereals, but on the buffet there was lots of choice, home made cakes, scrambled eggs. Our room had lovely furniture in style with the rest of the building, the bathroom was very clean, with everything you would expect in a 4 star hotel, but with something on top.

We really liked the hand decorated Italian tiles. The owner told us they are from a little town called Vietri in southern Italy, and he also gave us a tour of his personal collection of World War II memorabilia. These kinds of personal touches, and the staff friendliness who went the extra mile to ensure we had every thing we needed, make this hotel really different. We would recommend Relais 6 to any family looking for a warm, friendly and stylish hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the internal garden have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Cara Denise,
your review has been very appreciated by all members of our structure.
Thanks for appreciating the decoration of Relais 6 and, in particular, a sincere thank you from Salvatore for appreciating the Museum of the Allied Forces, whose memorabilia he has collected over 10 years of his life.
A sincere and warm greetings from Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

On a recent trip to Italy in which I spent 3 nights at the Relais 6 Hotel I left feeling hugely disappointed and with a terrible taste in my mouth. I decided to stay at Relais 6 as it proved a great option according to the other user reviews that I noted on trip advisor. While I tend to mostly get great hotels when relying on reviews on trip advisor this time I was left wondering why this hotel is so highly rated. The rooms and the bathrooms especially are terribly dated with a decor that is in much need of some serious attention. While the building and foyer areas are quite impressive I felt the rooms themselves do not live up to your first impression.

The breakfast which is served daily downstairs is however quite cosy and a barrister does greet you to what I would describe as one of the better coffees in Rome. The breakfast is short of options however but is still very adequate.

The hotel too, is in awkward position. It is not close to the centre of town and with the train station 10 minutes walk away. It then takes around another 15 minutes to get to the centre of Rome from the station. Although this doesn’t seem far it is still quite a journey and an effort when you are carrying luggage up the hill to the hotel. I would suggest a transfer however this is quite expensive too at 55 Euro to the airport one way.

The hotel staff are mostly quite friendly so long as you do not have to deal with the ill-mannered, self righteous owner who treats his guests with contempt. Unfortunately for my fiancé and I we left with a terrible taste in our mouths. I found him incredibly arrogant and rude. It’s a terrible shame that this is the case as the other staff within the hotel are quite great.

All in all, I did not come close to having the experience that most users here on trip advisor have had with this hotel and would warn against staying here at all costs. I had huge hopes on arrival to this hotel but they were quickly wiped away and I left glad that I was leaving for a hotel with a renown reputation in Milan, which was my next stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Ms Michael did not say the truth when she accused, in her review, the Relais 6 of having stolen her ID in order to create a fake Facebook profile. She did that, using the threat to publish her "story" on Tripadvisor, only to obtain not to pay the bill.

Only when this happened, the "rude" owner called the Police in order to assist the customer, so that she could be granted the right to bring a suit with the special department of the Communications Police.

When the Officers arrived at the hotel, Mrs Michael said that she was not sure of what has happened. Then she reported that she was sure the episode had not happened at the Relais 6, holding back from lodging a complaint against Relais 6.

Mrs Michael had to pay the bill to the "rude" owner.

The management of Relais 6 obviously keeps in their file a copy of the minutes Police Officers wrote after their visit to the Relais 6. The "rude" owner reserves the right to lodge a complaint with the Australian Consulate in Rome.
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent calm safe slightly far from centre, taxis take around 10-15 euros to travel to centre.
Cost reasonable, well maintained, friendly and clean.
The rooms are well maintained AC works well, toilets are clean well maintained as well.
I will surely recommend it based on our experience.
This hotel is situated in a residential area, the feel is like an hotel/ apartment.
I did not have any problems walking around the area trying to find eateries around while resting in the evening.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank drsamgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Drsamgeorge,
thank's a lot for your review. We are happy that you've spent a nice staying in our Hotel, and the experience in Rome was fantastic. We wish you to spend a beautiful Summer.
Regards
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Relais 6 is a very nice place to stay. Away from the tourist area but easily accessible by metro. It is in a quiet location and hence we had a good rest without any noise. The staff were excellent and very friendly. They went out of the way to help me with organizing my boarding passes. Will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janani080195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Janami 080195,
we are glad that you chose our hotel for the trip to Rome.
Thanks for the nice review and thank you for having appreciated the philosophy of our structure which, although small, is always trying to offer the best to its guests thanks to our staff.
We wish you a good summer and we will send you a warm greeting.
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

After returning from the Relais 6 last night, I was straight onto TripAdvisor to express just how utterly wonderful our stay at the Relais 6 was. Let me start by saying that the LOCATION is absolutely fantastic, the hustle and bustle of the city during the day is tiring and our feet were killing by the end of each day so we couldn't wait to get back to the hotel which is situated just outside of the main city centre of Rome. The transport system is excellent.. exactly like the underground in London except alot cheaper with an all day pass costing around 6 Euros. The metro station is around 5 minutes away and you are able to access everywhere including Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Vatican, EVERYWHERE. The staff at the hotel provided us with maps, metro tickets and directions.
As for the rooms, they are everything and more you could possibly ask for. Clean, comfortable, quiet, stocked with toiletries and a free mini bar on the first night.
The breakfast is fantastic.. everything you need to start a busy day sight-seeing in Rome. Coffee, tea, pastries, salamis, breads, toast, eggs, jams, cereals, fruit, yoghurts. The hotel itself offers beautiful surroundings.. a rooftop terrace which has a gym (which we didn't use as we felt we'd already ran a marathon after running round Rome all day). An outside terrace, war museum.
The bar is great, offers a wide selection of drinks (measures of spirits are HUGE!) and snacks. The man on the bar (didn't catch his name) was so lovely and welcoming. The staff on the reception are extremely helpful and friendly.
The chilled, relaxing atmosphere was perfect for me and my daughter who wanted to experience all the sights of Rome in the day and then relax and sample all the cakes, gelato, pizza and pasta of an evening.The location of the hotel is great which means you are able to go out in the evening and eat dinner, relax at bars and do a bit of shopping or take the short 10 minute journey to Rome to eat dinner of an evening and experience Rome by night. (Metros stop at 11:30pm and 1:30am on weekends)
When visiting the Vatican I would recommend taking a guided tour which allows fast track access straight in. We paid an extra 17Euros but it meant us avoiding a 3 hour queue in the blazing sun so it was well worth it and for all the information the guide provided us with.
As for eating out and drinking in Central Rome, the prices don't really differ greatly.. We stopped off at the Metro stop Flaminio and after wandering down a few side streets we found tonnes of restaurants.
The city itself is really safe and everyone is really helpful when you get lost which we did ALOT but that wasn't due to the lack of information more down to our sense of direction.

I've been back a day and I am already looking into re-visiting the Relais 6 with my younger son in August. Absolutely Fabulous!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kay5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Kay5678,
thank you ... thank you ... and again many thanks for taking the time to write a very detailed review that contains many beautiful details on our small Relais 6!
There has always been a great pleasure to know that our guests appreciate the services and the organization of the Relais.
With your beautiful "novel" on the Relais there you have moved.
A warm hug and good summer. Arrivederci a presto!
Beatrice e Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#33 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#78 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Property: Relais 6
Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#92 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing