We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but rather far from center”
Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #39 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

i spent 4 days in this hotel from 8th to 12th of april. the hotel is clean and the staff is really helpful. the breakfast was good.the only problem for me is that the hotel is quite far from the city center the metro station is about 10 min walk and if you want to stay until late night out you will have to pay a taxi to bring you back(about 15-20 euros). as an advice if you find a hotel with the same money in a better location book it

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bav92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Bav 92,
Thanks for publishing the review.
I need to make a small clarification for readers of T.A.: on all portals and on our official site is reporting very well the position of Relais 6. It is clearly visible on the map attached on the web sites.
Best regards
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is very nice. The rooms were very good (although I could hear the person next door snoring), and the amenities were excellent. The hotel serves an excellent continental breakfast in the morning, and a reception in the evening. I would definitely stay here again. A couple of drawbacks, it's about a 5-10 minute walk to the metro station, then once on the metro, you have to change trains at Termini to get to anywhere else. This adds about 20-30 minutes to your trip. The walk gets longer when it rains. Also, for whatever reason, I didn't really hit it off with the concierge, or maybe he wasn’t the friendliest. Most of the staff was very accommodating, especially the one who was there most evenings hosting the reception. I had heard about the continental breakfast and evening reception, but he failed to mention this when we checked in. On the last day, you have to pay the city tax in cash. Although he says he mentioned this when I checked in, I sure don’t remember, and it’s pointless to try and argue at that point. I think his condescending attitude was the worst (after 30 years in the military, it takes a lot for me to complain). Fortunately there was a money machine about 150 meters away. Finally, check out the Basilica and mausoleum at the top of the hill above the metro station, and have a cappuccino at the coffee shop the block before the station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler5474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Traveler, 5
Thank you so much for your review.
Sorry for the misunderstanding! Unfortunately, the tax must be paid in cash. The money will be subsequently turned over directly to the municipal authorities.
Best regard
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

One of the nicest hotels we stayed at in all of Italy at a fair price. I was impressed with their pro activeness on confirming my arrival at the hotel and arranging for airport pickup (at a nominal charge, of course) but totally worth it, especially after a long flight and when you travel with toddlers.
Check in was smooth and when asked, the receptionist offered good options on dining around the vicinity.
Our deluxe room was very spacious and comfortable. I appreciated the fact there was a heater in the bathroom as it was still cold when we visited the city. My son enjoyed the outdoor area (like a balcony area)in the morning.
Breakfast was nothing spectacular, typical continental style.
Apparently the hotel is equidistant from Roma Termini station and Roma Tiburtina. We didn't ask where the nearest metro was as we were heading out to Bologna the next morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Preejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Preejay,
Thanks a lot for the Nice review, you've published. We are pleased that the stay in Rome was pleasant and that you and your children spent a pleasant stay at Relais 6.
A warm greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After a week long trip around Italy, we really hit the jackpot with our last minute booking of Relais 6. My parents came to visit me while I am studying abroad and we only stayed one evening at Relais 6, however, we would have stayed longer if we could have! Upon arrival, my parents had left there passports at our home base in Florence and did not realize you cannot check into a hotel without them. Luckily, I had my passport on me and the hotel staff was incredibly kind and accommodating with the whole mishap. They served us delicious cappuccinos and the room was very comfortable and clean. I hope to be back soon! Grazie mille allo staff di Relais 6! Speriamo di tornare presto!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Sarah M,
you were very kind to take your time to write the review.
Our staff and we were really pleased to read so many nice words on behalf of our "hidden place"!
We sincerely hope to see you again soon at the Relais 6. You are really very nice.
A warm greeting.
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked this hotel on our honeymoon in Rome last November. Read the great reviews on Tripadvisor and decided to take a chance. We were more than handsomely rewarded. This hotel is the what deal hunters like myself live for: fantastic service and amenities at a very reasonable price. The Relais6 demonstrates why a local boutique hotel done correctly beats the large international chain business hotels hands down. The hotel is located on a quiet residential street about a 10 minute walk to the brand new metro subway station which is convenient to anywhere you want to go in Rome. Treat yourself to a nice walk one day along the major street and see the vibrant neighborhood with cute eateries and upscale shopping. The hotel is pristine with beautiful and tasteful decor. The managers all spoke perfect english and were very welcoming and helpful at every turn. Upon arrival, they gave us an upgrade to a corner apt. suite which gets you a living room, bedroom with fridge, huge closet, safe, electric shuttered windows, and a sparkling clean bathroom with all the amenities. The morning breakfast buffet is packed with all the selection you could want of fruits, cereals, eggs, breads, juices, coffees, teas, etc .. A great way to start the day of hiking around Rome on a well satiated tummy. The evenings come with delicious appetizers and hot pasta served in their very comfy and homey living room area and I'm not ashamed to say it served as a satisfying dinner for us on more than one evening. The front desk is terrific with directions and suggestions such as the fantastic pizza restaurant just around the corner (can't remember the name, but it was one of the best meals we had in Italy -- simple but delicious with plenty of locals dining next to you. All this and a little bonus of a bottle of local olive oil as a parting gift from this gem of a hotel. All this for about $150US a night? Belissimo! If you want to feel like you're being treated like a king without having to pay a king's ransom, then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get the corner apt. suite as an upgrade which we absolutely adored. Felt mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deal_Hunter_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Deal_Hunter_LA,
Thank you very much for publishing the wonderful review, which it filled with joy our staff and us!
We feel a great satisfaction when we know that our guests were so happy.
We sincerely hope to be able to have you again at the Relais 6.
A warm greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just arrived back from a 4 night stay in the Relais 6 with my wife and two friends and we were very impressed with this hotel. All the staff were exceedingly friendly and ready to give advice at any time.
The hotel is extremely comfortable, very clean and the lounge area is practical in the evenings if you don't want to go out for a meal after a long day in the city. The décor is elegant and traditional yet it feels homely at the same time.
The hotel offers evening snacks free of charge, something warm, e.g. a pasta dish, sandwiches and some small nibbles. On 2 nights out of 4 we had a bigger meal at lunchtime then stayed in and relaxed with a few drinks and snacks.
We booked standard rooms and they were more than big enough and the bathrooms are very modern.
The metro stop is really only 10-15 minutes away and it is nice to escape the big city in the evening. I would recommend the Relais 6 to anyone and would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Robert R,
Thanks, thanks and thanks again!
We greatly appreciate your review and we are very happy to have helped make pleasant your stay in Rome.
Every evening, our bartender prepare some snacks of typical Italian cuisine for guests of the Relais 6 who buy something to drink.
We hope to see you back again at Relais 6.
A warm greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Not located in the heart of the city, however is a welcome change to the fast paced city of Rome. Only a few blocks to the metro (only two lines - so very easy to get around); great little shopping and food area 10 minute walk from the hotel. We stayed on the 4th floor and the room was big, very clean, nice layout and we had a private deck. The air condition was not on yet and it wasnt very cool in the evenings ... but not much could be done about that. The morning breakfast service was very nice and the people who worked at the Relais 6 were very nice. Overall a great place to stay while vacationing in Rome!

Room Tip: The rooms are not "sound proof" but the 4th floor we didnt hear anyone .... then again we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Dan S,
We are very happy that you enjoyed the Relais 6 and that you have chosen our hotel for your stay in Rome.
In fact, the Relais 6 is not located in the old town but the area is very quiet and well connected with public transport.
Thank you so much for your good review.
A warm greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,272 in Rome
1,227 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,272 in Rome
2,884 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#13 of 1,272 in Rome
431 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#97 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing