We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our enjoyable stay in Rome”
Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #31 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our enjoyable stay in Rome”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently spent a couple of days in Rome and stayed at Relais 6 which was a good, high standard efficiently run family hotel, being only a few minutes walk from the Metro, which we found extremely user friendly - we went everywhere on it. The staff were most pleasant and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. Our room and facilities were of a high standard and extremely clean. It was most pleasant to go down to the bar in the evening for a drink and either sit in the garden or lounge with light bites produced by a very charming and cheerful bar man, free of charge. He certainly knew how to please. Unfortunately, we only found the roof garden and gym the day we were leaving but that was our fault. It only remains for us to recommend the Relais 6 for your stay in Rome which, of course, is a wonderful City and buzzing with life - it made us feel alive. We truly had a wonderful holiday. Chris & Bill Rogers - France

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Chris and Bill Rogers,
Thank you so much to spent your time to write your good review about Relais 6.
As you discovered too late the roof terrace and the gym ... you have to absolutely return!!! We are waiting for you!
A big greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    461
    56
    17
    3
See reviews for
483
910
90
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a charming, well-managed hotel that attends to detail. The comfortable lounge area is decorated with wonderful antiques, some of which are filled with items evidently collected by the owner. The patio is a quiet place to sit with a drink and plate of nibbles at the end of the day. Our room was small, but the bathroom was quite generous and included a tub. The room, and entire hotel, were immaculate. We loved the motor-driven shades on the windows to control heat gain from the sun and light too early in the morning. Staff is very accommodating and made great recommendations for dinner (try Pepe Verde, a casual 5 minute walk from the hotel). Relais 6 is outside of the tourist area, but the neighborhood is quiet and upscale. Given Rome's size, there is not one point from which one could easily walk every where. We decided the tradeoff of quiet vs location was worth it, especially given the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentSmithDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear AgentSmit,
Thank you for choosing Relais 6 to spend your holiday in Rome. We are very happy to have received the nice review on behalf of our hotel. We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.
A warm greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a charming hotel with a nice comfortable king size bed and great breakfast. This could be a good thing or a bad thing, it is a good bit out of the tourist areas. The metro is an easy 400 meter walk away, mostly downhill (sucks walking back up the hill after a day of site seeing when you are tired). The bus is about 150 meters away right around the corner. It will take you about 20 minutes to get to the spanish step via public transportation. Good thing, you get a fairly nice hotel in rome for half the price of something in the touristy areas.
The staff was very friendly and very willing to help with tours and restaurant recommendations. The hotel has a nice decor to it, 1940's retro feel. Has a great sitting area/lounge downstairs with bottels of wine and glasses of scotch avaliable for purchase, at a fair price I might add. Breakfast was much better than your typical provided breakfast. Several good pastries, cooked eggs, fresh fruits, and great italian coffee made this one of the better breakfast meals I've had in my travels.
The hotel has high speed wifi internet, plenty fast in the lounge area. However, in the room it can be a little on the slow side but still fine for just loading web pages.
For the price this hotel is very good, however if I go back to Rome I will look to stay a little closer to the "tourist" areas first and if all else fails come back to this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear John J,
Thank you very much for choosing Relais 6 for your stay in Rome.
When be holiday to Rome and you'll stay in hotels in tourist area we hope ... all else fails come back to this one!!!!!
Thank you for your nice revew.
A lot of greetings
Beatrice and Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 5 hotels in Italy and this is the only one we have awarded 5 stars.

5 minute walk to metro so easy access to the rest of Rome.

Lovely big spacious room with complimentary drinks on arrival. Great blinds to completely shut out sunlight. Great air com.

Lovely continental breakfast.

Very helpful and friendly reception.

Would stay here again if visiting Rome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Anonymous-traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Anonimouse,
thank you for your nice and kind review. We are very excited when we find guests so happy like you! Reviews submit your organization's critical about the hotel are always very important to improve our work. But, frankly, when we receive good reviews like yours we are very well like when you take a good breath of fresh air in a day of summer heat!
Thank you very much
Beatrice and Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel was moderate to us. The location was slightly further out in a residential area, which was okay to us. About 6 mins walking distance to the nearest metro and supermarket, so it takes you about say 25 minutes into town. Wasn't much of an issue to us, but not exactly convenient to people who prefer a central location.

The room was basic, simple bed, simple cupboard and bathroom. Which was also fine since I'm not expecting a luxurious room for what I'm paying. Breakfast was included, and was alright too as well. Nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about as well. Sometimes the guy at breakfast can be a little overwhelmed, so just be a little patient with him.

However what made this review a Poor instead of an Average were due to a couple of reasons. When I arrived, I came with two large cases and we had to descend a short flight of stairs towards the reception. Despite the reception having one male and one female with no guests, they didn't offer to help me. My husband was parking the car, and I could only leave the luggages at the door and wait for him.

Secondly, I was staying on the third floor near the lifts. Forgot the room number, but it was something senior. The wifi in the room was really weak and we could only connect to it 10% of the time. Hence we had to always be in the lobby to use the internet. Not what we expected if you market the hotel to have Internet. However the worse part was that on our second night, we were in the lobby using the Internet. For each device we had to us one password. This was no issue to us. However we had 4 devices (we are in the modern world now), and 3 passwords. Hence I went to the reception to ask for one more. And I met the rudest reception I could ever meet. He was stuck up and did not even look at me as I spoke. He actually asked "You mean you don't have one?" That gave me a slap in the face. And when I went on to explain that each device needed one device (which was what the reception told us in the first place), he continued using his computer for a bit and then helped me with the password. That is something I will not forget.

Thirdly, they do not have a kettle in the room. If you wanted hot water you had to go to the lobby to get it yourselves. We needed to have tea daily, so that was a chore. Of course, it doesn't affect those who don't need this.

Nonetheless, despite these, there were some good things about this place as previously mentioned. Also, the Latin-Filipino in the bowtie each evening was also really friendly and fun to talk to.

Take this review as a different perspective as I think the things we needed just wasn't a good match with what the hotel provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neelie-scribbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear neelie-sc,

thank You for having found the time to write this review.

It is always our habit to help our guests who arrives in our hotel with their luggage. The Filipino man with the papillon remembers that he came to help You but You told him to wait, maybe because You were intent first to park Your car.

The room You have been assigned was the 307 Senior which is a Superior Room and it is absolutely not located near the elevator.

Regarding the Wi-Fi we do not understand why You did not report the issue to the receptionist in order to call our technician to effectuate a verify. The suggestions and the complaints of our guests are the best contribution to maintain high the standard of our hotel. So that, having red Your review we immediately called the technician who found that the Wi-Fi was working perfectly just like it is also written in all the other reviews.

For what concerns the lack of a kettle in the room, the fact of not providing it is part of our policy, as it happens in a lot of other hotels around the world, also because our hotel has a 24h bar service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Charming lobby and bedroom, antique lovely furniture, comfortable and very clean. Outstanding breakfast buffet. Best part was the staff, made you feel as if you were part of their family, served courtesy snacks at night if you came home late or alone (as my 21 year old daughter did, she arrived one day before I did and the staff adopted her). Quiet street, safe neighborhood. Guests congregated in the inviting lobby parlor that felt like a family living room and chatted each evening. Only negative is that it is a 12-minute walk to the Annibaliano/Sant'Agnese metro, and then a 12-min ride to Centrale, so it adds an hour to your day, but it was worth it. Great value for the price. Pizza restaurant "San Marino" is around the corner and was the best thin-(crisp) crust pizza we had in Italy. As a postscript, I forgot my iPhone recharging cord and electric outlet converter in the bedroom, I emailed them about this, and they promptly mailed it to me in the US at no charge.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Susan L,
you were very nice to write many good words on behalf of Relais 6. We are pleased that your stay in Rome has been positive.
For readers of TripAdvisor, we remember that the Metro station is at most 5 minutes walk from the hotel and arrive in the heart of Rome, the Colosseum, the most in 15 minutes.
Thanks again for taking the time to write your review.
A warm greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a mix of ancient and modern , in the lounge ,dining areas there are lot of antiques , like cameras, furniture, pictures, even a glass floor, floodlit with old artefacts underneath, the room are clean well maintained , as is the the hotel in general . I do however have a few criticisms , our room only had 1 chair , and a very rickety wardrobe , and breakfast was inadequate for a 4* hotel the only warm food was scrambled egg ,the same every morning , breakfast tables , to small . otherwise it is in a good position the metro quite close , very quiet hotel ideal for couples . It is situated in a residential area there are a few cafes, restaurants, in the area . We enjoyed our stay there and would use it again .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatrice e Salv... R, Proprietario at Relais 6, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear amarol,
Thank you for choosing Relais 6 for your stay in Rome and we are very happy that you enjoyed the services offered by the Relais 6 and ancient objects and forniture in the exhibition in the hotel.
We very much regret that you didn't like the breakfast. However, we would say that our dishes are all prepared with daily fresh food and desserts are all hand made every morning by Tiberio.
A warm greeting
Beatrice e Salvatore Rizzacasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
719 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#95 of 1,256 in Rome
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Property: Relais 6
Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#17 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing