We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem”
Review of Relais 6

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais 6
Ranked #37 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We stayed at Relais 6 for 5 nights and we had the most amazing experience. The hotel has been competely refurbished and only opened a few months ago. It is small boutique hotel, with a lot of character, and colonial style charm.

The room was very spacious, very clean, super confortable bed and good modern bathroom, plus a little balcony, large ceiling to floor window.

The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there were some great local places nearby. Breakfast was good, served in a nice room with views to the back garden.

The lounge of the hotel, was beautiful. Tastefully decorated.

The hotel is located 10 -15 min bus ride from the city centre. Buses are frequent and stop near the hotel. Night buses also serve this area, and we found it very easy to use the network - also nice to go back to a quiet area after spending the day in busy Rome.

The service was outstanding. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. The guy serving the breakfast during the weekdays was very attentive, made great coffee, and ran the place so smothly you would not even notice he was there but everythig was set up to perfection.

We had an amazing time, and will definetely come back to Relais 6 when we decide to visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosmarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2009

This recently refurbished building is beautifully and expensively done in many colors of marble, different woods, and different metals. It is a visual delight.
The hotel is located in a high rent residental neighborhood that also contains several embassies. If you go to the restaurants within easy walking distance you may be the only tourist there. For us this turned out to be a great plus as unfortunately, some of the restaurants in the tourist areas view cheating tourists as a sport. Our favorite local restaurant is San Marino Pizza which also serves a variety of dishes.(Great thin crust pizza; pasta and bean soup that will ruin your enjoyment of the same served at most American restaurants, and half a liter of wine for 3 euros.) The neighborhood restaurants are in the business of seeking repeat business from customers and treat all their customers very well.
If you only have a couple of days in Rome and want to try and see all the historical sights and want or need to go to your hotel in between sights, this is not the hotel for you. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Bologna subway station on the Blue Line. Most of the historical sights are either on the Blue Line or require transfer to the Red Line at Termini where the two lines cross. There is a bus 3 blocks away that will take you to either the Bologna station or Termini. For the Bologna station take either the 310 or 93 if you don't want to walk. The subway trains run every couple of minutes. The only drawback is that sometimes you pack in pretty tight, ditto for the busses.
Rome is appallingly covered with graffitti; the graffitti in the neighboorhood of the hotel does not indicate a lack of safety,but on first arrrival it is disconcerting. Ditto for the security shutters on the hotel's windows. You see them all over Rome and they make for a great black out if you arrive tired and want to sleep in late.
We stayed seven nights and sought advice about the city from several desk clerks. All but one were unfailing polite. One, when asked what bus to take to the subway replied, "I am not God; I do not know everything." However, on other occasions this clerk was gracious. Overall, I would rate the service excellent.
If you arrive at FCO you can take a cab to the hotel. The average price is supposed to be 50 euros, but we paid 58. Or you can take an express train (11 or 12 euros per person) to Termini and then either take a cab (about 10 euros) or just take the subway to Bologna station and then walk. (It helps is you arm yourself with a Google map beforehand). Returning to the airport, you have the hotel arrange a private car (50 Euros) or use public transportation. We chose the private car and were very pleased. If you don't want to do public transportation to get to the hotel I would recommend calling them and asking them to have a car for you.
Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel, found the staff friendly and helpful, and after the first couple of days were delighted to be outside the tourist area in an upscale neighborhood. If you don't mind being crowded on the subway, the subway is fast and safe.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiser25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Relais had the elegant curved lines and décor of a Agatha Christie Poirot novel set in the 1930’s (and no small wonder given it’s history as a base for Allied Intelligence during WWII), with the imperious service attitude of that era to boot.

It may have been racism, a complete lack of service standards, or an offensive sense of humour, but regardless, the attitude of the front desk at this hotel was decidedly off. I have never received such rude and arrogant service at any place I’ve stayed, including the dodgiest backpacker hostels in Kathmandu. And Relais is supposed to be 4 stars.

Not telling us what number to press in order to contact reception, to the patently inappropriate, such as reprimanding guests for arriving at breakfast 20mins before it began (despite not giving any indication anywhere of what time breakfast service began), as well as making jokes at the expense of guests (and to the face of guests), were the order of the day at this hotel.

It seems that Relais is aiming primarily for Italian business travellers. Its overt contempt for all other guests makes it clear that this is how they want it to stay. Regardless I’d recommend it again, provided you give as good as you get to the appallingly rude service staff – they really need to get off their high horse. It is conveniently located (about 10mins from Termini via bus), and has a rather fine restaurant around the corner who’s name escapes me (steer away from their suggestion of the pizzeria Belle Epoque).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pud333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Where also can you find in Rome, where the vast majority of the hotels seem to be hugely overpriced, a brand new hotel, situated in a quiet area, with comfortable and well appointed rooms, for just 80 euros/night? By the way, wifi is free and so are national phone calls. An excellent find, fully recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Really nice hotel in a good neighbourhood. Easily connected to the city centre on one direct and quick bus. The room was really nice and had a really good size balcony which was unexpected. It was very clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful and always made us smile. They were able to recommend nearby restaurants, although we chose to eat in the centre most nights and since the buses run so late there was never a problem getting back to the hotel. Overall this is a brilliant hotel and I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willow2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I have passed here one of the best week in my life! It is a wonderful hotel, in a central position, very well connected with the main interest places of the city. The personnel is very kind and available to support you. The rooms are very spacious and full of comfortable facilities. I have loved the tasteful interior design. Stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atirairam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We stayed at the Relais 6 during a recent weekend visit to The Eternal City. It was a real 'find', a newly opened, beautiful hotel situated in a quiet, exclusive area near the city centre and all main sights. The hotel is impeccable; lovely, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly, professional staff. It really made our stay in Rome extra-special and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#107 of 1,271 in Rome
1,505 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#18 of 1,271 in Rome
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Vatican View
Vatican View
#40 of 1,271 in Rome
772 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#101 of 1,271 in Rome
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais 6

Address: Via Tolmino 6, 00198 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rome
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#13 Family Hotel in Rome
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £49 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais 6 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais 6 is a refined and exclusive Hotel located in one of elegant area in Rome. The rooms also interconnecting, the suites and apartments with two rooms meet the needs of all customers. An ideal combination for journeys to the Eternal City and business travel. Each room has been designed and equipped with all facilities at the highest levels of quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing