We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town but very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurelia Vatican Apartments
Ranked #11 of 1,099 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Out of town but very pleasant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff were great but it is quite a difficult location until you get to know the transport system. The room was spacious and well equipped and felt safe. It's almost in the country! Best to be prepared to stay out all day. Lovely and quiet. Probably better for a long stay for families than a romantic break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    87
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
164
150
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
savona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

every time i go to rome i sleep in this place. The apartments are just 15 min by bus from vatican city, and 20 min from city centre. They are located in a very quiet residential neighborood surrounded by green, and nearest metro station on turistic line A is just at 15 min walking distance or 5 min by bus. After full busy days in the city centre is nice to come back, jusy have a shower and relax in the balcony or just have an italian dinner ( in places for italians!) in a local restaurant, far from the turistic mess in the city centre.
Staff is great, they all speak perfect english or they are even mother tongue. They are extremely helpful for any question or need you may have and give you great tips about how to spend your days in rome.
A place to visit any time you go to Rome

Room Tip: all rooms look the same and have a balcony or terrace. Just specify if you want a upper floor or you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently stayed at "Aurelia Vatican Apartments" with my Family for a week in July.

From the moment we booked till the time we check out, we felt we were under the warm & professional care of Sam, Kate & all the staff of A.V.A.

The Apartments are owned & managed by an Italo - Australian Family, so we had no language barriers as all the staff spoke perfect English which was such a relief.

We arrived with a private car transfer (Mercedes) which was all arranged by A.V.A. at a cost of 50 euros. Which I would definitely recommend to other guests as there was a driver waiting for us at the airport and dropped us directly to the Apartments. This took out all the stress of having to carry luggage through public transport.

We were all very happy and relieved when we arrived to see that the Apartments were actually better in real life than in the photos.... which is definitely not always the case in Europe... as we found out the hard way with our other stays.
There is a very nice Central courtyard with flower boxes hanging over the balconies and a water fountain with turtles in it... which kept my children entertained.

The Apartment was very nice with modern furnishings, fast WiFi Internet & air con that worked... which you definitely need if you are coming to Rome in the summer time..!!
It was very clean when we arrived and we had daily housekeeping & change of towels which was an extra that we were not expecting. There is a full Kitchen, which was great for making meals and there is a great local supermarket just a few minutes walk from the Apartments.

It was really easy to get around and see the main sites in Rome. There is a Bus Stop right next to the Apartments that drops you in the City centre. There is a Metro Station about a 10 minute walk from the Apartments, but you can get the bus to the metro station if your feeling lazy. The location is different to what we were expecting, however we all really liked it as It's located in a green, tranquil suburb of Rome, which was great after spending a day in beautiful but chaotic Rome.

Ultimately what really made our stay so special was the amazing service we received from Sam, Kate & all the Staff. When we arrived we were not simply just checked into our Apartment. Instead we were provided with a welcome Kit (with all the information that we could need for our stay) & a Map of Rome. The staff spent time sitting with us an explaining how to get around Rome, helped us plan our time and even made a personalized itinerary for us. They booked tickets for us to save us time waiting in lines. Gave us some great restaurant suggestions to try and booked us some guided tours. Every time we went down to reception we were always greeted with a warm and sincere smile and someone ready to provide us with assistance for anything we required, nothing was ever too much trouble for them.

It was real, honest and sincere customer service, where you felt that the whole staff really wanted us to enjoy our stay and time in Rome. So this is why i would definitely recommend others to stay here.!! I will definitely be returning here next time i am in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Archi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Imagine a balmy night, sitting on your own balcony, sipping cold drinks, exchanging stories with other travellers, feeling like one big family. This was our experience.

After 4 weeks of travelling around Europe, and staying in a variety of hotels and apartments, this was a standout winner! We had a private car from the airport, arranged by Kate, and would recommend this- it's only €2 more than a taxi, and driver was smart and courteous.

On arrival at apartments we were both breathed a sigh of relief...for a change, somewhere that looked the same as the photos. We were welcomed by Kate and Sam, wonderfully friendly hosts, and Kate went above and beyond in offering advice and suggestions - local shops, how to catch bus, where to buy beer, which tourist attractions were closed...absolutely everything is thought of.

We had booked a studio and were pleasantly suprised at how large it was. Comfortable bed, plenty of space for clothes and suitcases, and loads of clothes hangers!! (Usually only 2 or 3 in hotels).Underbench fridge (plenty big enough), and as mentioned by others, although no ice trays, staff have an ice machine which they are happy to help with.

Bright, airy bathroom, once again plenty of space for putting your knickknacks (I hate it when I have nowhere to leave a toiletry bag), TWO big bath towels per person, plus hand towels, which were changed every day. I certainly hadn't expected hoisekeeping every day in an apartment!

Balcony overlooked the courtyard....relaxing at the end of tiring day, so beautiful!

As for the area, people have thought it dirty/scary. Well, yes there was rubbish overflowing from bins. This is NOT in a tourist area. But there was rubbish overflowing from EVERY bin I saw in Rome itself, nearly every bin I have seen in France...we walked many times to the metro station, about 10 min walk, and always felt safe, latest we were out was 11 pm.

Local supermarket was short distance, great fun trying to choose cheese, with loads of italian people giving us suggestions, and staff helpful in giving us tastes. It's all part of the experience you don't get in a hotel. Easy metro trips into town, again all part of the fun.

When you're here, take a trip to Piesmontese restaurant, a short walk. One of the best meals and experiences of our trip.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely! Would I recommend? Without hesitation. It's the best place we've stayed in during our 6 week honeymoon:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karalynbice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family stayed in 2 studio apartments at Aurelia Vatican Apts last week for 4 nights. The kitchen was perfect for throwing together simple meals with the delicious produce we bought at the end of our busy touring days. The owners and staff did so many little extra things that made our stay seamless and so pleasant. The air conditioning works very well too which made a big difference to us. And there is access to washer/dryer on-site. I would really disagree with a previous review saying that the interior is very worn. Our 2 apartments were in fabulous condition. We could not have been happier.

The access road from the main street is a little windy and bumpy and typical of many European neighbourhoods there are communal dumpsters for household garbage which may put some people off. BUT - we walked the 10 minute walk from the METRO stop at about 3am one morning after a night out with absolutely no concerns. Many of the neighbourhood residents we saw during our stay were older and well-dressed. ALSO - the bus stops outside the front door - a very easy commute (and a fun way of seeing the locals and the area) into the historic centre.

Our stay in Rome was remarkable and the extremely pleasant stay at this hotel contributed greatly to this very positive experience.

Room Tip: We chose 2 apartments on the top floor - each one had a huge tiled patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingmanBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed for a relaxing nine days after an exhausting series of tours around Italy and the Mediterranean. The building was modern, clean and airy with a delightful central courtyard over which our flower-strewn balcony looked. The rooms were spacious and serviced daily - and best of all, the apartments had a self-service laundry.

The hosts, Sam and Kate and the staff - particularly Fabiana, were warm and welcoming and took lots of time to explain the hotel amenities, the local area and the transport options. The neighbourhood is inhabited by real people and the staff in the nearby shops, cafes and restaurants were helpful and hospitable. The area, as other have noted, is undergoing considerable change and is being gentrified, but is perfectly safe, day and night - considerably safer than central Rome.

We made good use of the cheap public transport - the bus around the corner and the metro railway down the end of the street (a ten-minute walk away). It was easy to access all the major points of interest in a short period of time. The local shops were a good source for all our daily needs and the restaurants within walking distance provided a good variety of authentic food - at very reasonable prices (Monday night might require a little more travel).

Room Tip: Upper floors give good views of the courtyard and of the trees across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Traveling as a foursome through Italy and decided to try the hotel alternative – a vacation rental apartment. As a travel and expensive hotel snob, this experience has been very unique and refreshing. The bottom line is Sam and Kate are gracious hosts and hoteliers. I own a small boutique hotel in a vibrant tourist area so I know firsthand how challenging hospitality can be. I applaud their efforts and look forward to seeing them ultimately gentrify the whole neighborhood.

The Location: While not near the city center or ancient city, the property is located in a modest residential community. Arrange for car service from the airport or Termini bus station in lieu of a cab. The $50 euro investment is well worth it as the area will not be known to cab drivers. Services and food are a within walking distance but not around the corner. The walk to the closest store takes you up and down gentle hills and past some rough properties and trash.

There is a bus stop just outside the property that can make your travels into the city much more efficient and economical. The AVA is located about a 30 minute walk from St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican. While some may feel the need to be in the heart of the action, I found our location to be extremely quiet and peaceful and a nice substitute to the constant assault of police claxons and honking cabs. TIP: Learn the bus system quickly as it is the best way to navigate the city and provides that ‘local’ immersion you seek. Obtain bus passes from reception.

The Property: All the rooms face a central courtyard with soothing fountain complete with Roman turtles. Each unit has a balcony and reclining patio chairs (very comfortable). The Wi-Fi is excellent with not one connectivity issue during our 4 nights at AVA. There is an onsite laundry (soap products included in laundry fee). A small vending machine sells soft drinks and bottled water. There is an onsite espresso machine for your morning caffeine fix (.60 euro). If you want American style coffee, add instant coffee to your shopping list as regular coffee is not the norm in Rome. There are no other real property amenities to speak of.

The Room: We rented two studio apartments (two couples) and they were perfect for our needs. In the 90 degree summer heat, they provided welcome sanctuary from long days and evenings touring Rome. The AC is powerful and had to be turned down in the evening as the room actually became chilly. Room is decent size and has a desk and table, 3 chairs, queen bed and 1 small bedside light. The overall room lighting is adequate. If you like to read in bed, bring a travel reading light. The TV is ample sized but there are limited channels and only 1 or 2 in English. I missed my CNN. There is satellite TV but it appeared that all the channels were Middle Eastern. No closet per se, but plenty of storage/hanging space.

The Bath: The bathroom is small but functional – European style including bidet. Dispenser in shower provides body wash and dispenser at sink provides hand soap. Water pressure was great in the shower and plenty of hot water for two via the individual room water heater. TIP: Be sure to bring plenty of 2 prong adapters (I recommend at least 3), shampoo, conditioner and other personal toiletries. There is a blow dryer in the bathroom. For heavy wattage appliances, you will need a power converter so you don’t blow a circuit.

The Kitchen: We cooked dinner 2 of our 4 nights -complete 3 course meals – purchasing groceries at the large Conad store a few blocks away. Their cured meats, fresh breads, cheeses and pastas are amazing. Stay away from boxed pasta and canned pasta sauces. Purchase their fresh Bolognese and Pesto – unbelievably good! Italian wines are a great deal at around 5-8 euro. The best deal on fresh fruit and vegetables can be found at the fruit and vegetable stands on almost every block. The in-suite kitchen provides for just about everything you would need to cook basic meals – utensils, glasses, dishes, pots/pans. However, I recommend adding a roll of paper towels to your shopping list. The in-room refrigerator is ample sized but does not provide a freezer so no storing left over gelato or making ice cubes. Speaking of ice, if you are ice dependent like I am, the property has a small table top ice machine that can fill 4 glasses about every 30 minutes. Be sure to ask your hosts to turn on the machine 30 minutes prior to needing ice. The grocery store nearby does not sell ice. If you’re planning a large grocery run, be sure to borrow a cart from the property or take your empty backpack – the grocery stores in Italy charge for grocery bags so it's always best to pack one from home.

Lastly, I would absolutely visit the AVA again and live small and blend in like a local.

Ciao.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice - I liked the upper floor as they had nice balconies. That said, there is no lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60isthenew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vatican / Borgo
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Adagio Rome Vatican
#15 of 1,099 in Rome
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Residence Colombo 112
Residence Colombo 112
#36 of 1,099 in Rome
164 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Campanella3
#8 of 3,664 in Rome
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelia Vatican Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelia Vatican Apartments

Property: Aurelia Vatican Apartments
Address: Via Dei Laterizi 20, 00167 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,099 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurelia Vatican Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened in the summer of 2009 following a complete restoration. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS is the perfect choice for your stay in Rome.Conveniently located just 2 km from the Vatican City and only minutes by bus or Metro (Line A “Valle Aurelia”) to famous landmarks such as; St.Peter’s Basilica, Castel Sant’ Angelo, Spanish Steps,Trevi Fountain, Piazza del Popolo, Villa Borghese and Termini (Rome’s central train station).Our luxury apartment offer guests all the comforts of home; including fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, satellite LCD TV, Wi-Fi / LAN internet connections, stylish bathrooms and modern furnishings. With balconies providing views overlooking the elegant, flower decorated, Roman inspired courtyard.Situated in one of Rome’s central neighborhoods, close to cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, banks, parks and churches, parking facilities are also available to guests. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS boasts a classic Roman architectural façade, stylishly contrasted by modern and sleek interiors. The elegantly designed restoration enables our guests to become immersed in the true Roman experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aurelia Vatican Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelia Vatican Apartments Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing