We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in Rome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurelia Vatican Apartments
Ranked #10 of 1,118 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value in Rome!”
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Sam contacted us before our arrival and through him we booked a transfer from the Airport direct to the apartment which was great as we arrived in the evening time.

On arrival, Sam greeted us, showed us to our apartment and spent 10-15 minutes with us giving us guidance on what to see and do, restaurants and how to get around Rome. It was invaluable advice and we were able to make the most of short few days in Rome.

The apartments themselves are lovely, clean, furnished well, lots of space and a decent shower! They are a short walk to the Metro which we used everyday to head in to the centre. There is a bus available outside the apartments and it seemed to be pretty regular although we usually walked the short distance to the metro.

These apartments are excellent value and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Sam was lovely, really helpful and with his advice we were able to squeeze in all the major sights!

I would recommend getting the transfer though, the apartments are a little out of the city center and I'm not sure if we could have found them having arrived after 8p.m. - It was nice to be dropped off at the door!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiemci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    88
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
166
150
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2010

A great surprise! The photos and informations don't tell us how nice it is.
You enjoy each corner of the apartment. All is new, nice and perfect housekeeping.
You will be very well placed, just one block of a supermarket, and a walking distance of the Metro station.
I will back certainly!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josermichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Nice fully furnished apartment, with a helpful full kitchen. We enjoy cooking breakfast every morning and there is a supermarket a block away, very convenient.
Plenty of space to park and leave your car and a short walk to the Train/Subway station.
Sam, the owner, is originally from Down under, so he nicely combines the friendly aussi hospitaly and service with the knowledge of the locals. He will welcome you in and give you precious tips about what to see first, how, transportation around, restaurants and even a little piece of the secret history of Rome and the Vatican ... and all this fits well on the budget traveller.
Don't hesitate in booking your next stay there, you will not regret ! Ciao !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Our family recently stayed at Aurelia Vatican Apartments for a week.
The apartments, building and courtyard are beautiful, even better in real life than in the photos. we really felt like we were staying in a real Roman villa.

The staff (Sam & Kate) was extremely helpful and patient with us as we didn't know Rome very well. They provided us with all the information we needed. He also organised a private driver to pick us up at the airport which was a relief after our flight and be first timers to Rome.

I would definitely recommend that you book in the transfer service, it is quicker, easier and very economical for a luxury transfer service.

The apartments are brand new, clean and very comfortable. The kitchens have all the equipment you need so we could cook a meal if we didn't feel like eating out. Which is great if you want to cook a few meals at home and save some money. There are supermarkets, restaurants, cafes, shops etc. within walking distance to the apartments.

The area is very quiet, which was nice to come home to after a big day out on the busy streets of Rome. There are a couple of run down buildings (soon to be developed apartments) on the street walking to and from the apartments to the metro, but it is safe to walk at night.

We took the metro into town everyday, which was about a 10 minute walk from the apartments. There is also a bus that goes into town which stops right outside the apartment. We took a taxi home a couple of time which cost less than 10 Euros each time.

I will definitely stay here again if I ever return to Rome and would recommend others to stay at Aurelia Vatican Apartments..!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We recently stayed at Aurelia Vatican Apartments and had a great stay.

Sam, met us as we arrived and was very helpful in explaining the amenities of the apartment, things to see and do as well as dining suggestions.

There were a lot of apartment amenities avaialable. including, Flat screen TV, air- conditioning, Internet, Laundry facilities. But best of all there was a fully equipped kitchen, which was great for me and my family. Having a Supermarket within walking distance allowed us to cook some meals at the apartments. This not only saved us a heap of money (as eating out in Rome is not Cheap..!!) but made our whole family feel really at home.

The location of the apartment is quiet and safe. It's an easy 5 min walk to the Metro that will take you to all the tourist spots. Just 1 metro stop from the Vatican. It takes about 3 minutes between the Metro stops. The Metro is the easiest and best way to get around Rome.

The apartment is a perfect option for a family as the hotel rooms in Rome are small, expensive and generally are not ideal for a young family.
We would have to have taken a hotel room for probably more money but less space and no cooking facilities.

The apartments are brand new, clean and very comfortable. The beds were very comfortable and they even have ergnomic pillows.

Overall, the apartment is a wonderful place to stay in Rome and I would definately stay there again and recommend others to do so..!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKFamilyWithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Aurelia is a nice place to stay, cosy rooms, which are fully furnished. All what you can see on the pictures is true.
We have been in Rome for New Year eve and among B&Bs and hotels, Aurelia was most valuable for money (we use the special offer of 7 days).
The thing my spouse did not like is absence of heating system in the building, you have to use air conditioners every time you want to make temperature up...which is not that good. But I am sure it is a good space for you to develop dear Sam ;-p. In any case what can be a cons in winter - will be a pros in summer!!!
Recommended. Thanks Sam!

Нам понравилась жить в Аурелии, уютные комнаты, полностью меблированные + кухня. Все что есть на фотографиях сайта - правда. А с учетом того что мы отдыхали на Новый год, цена которую мы отдали за 7 дней в Аурелии (специальное предложение) значительно перекрыло расположение и удаленность от центра. А если вы еще и на машине, то это тем более не важно.
Минусом можно считать отсутствие отопления в квартирах, грелись только за счет кондиционера, плюс на полу холодная плитка. Это было основным недостатком прибывания. Хотя в теплое время года это вряд ли можно будет отнести к минусам.
От Аурелии до метро можно добраться на автобусе или пешком за 15 минут. Мы в основном нашу поездку провели в Ватикане или около, поэтому удаленность от центра не мешала.
Хозяин Сэм очень дружелюбный, гостеприимный и приветливый, однако говорит только на английском и итальянском.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNmoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The Aurelia Vatican apartments are fantastic and I can't say enough good things about them. The apartments are gorgeous and in a quiet part of Rome. The subway is a short walk and there is a great pizzeria and large grocery store right around the corner. It's very easy to travel Rome from these apartments. Sam, the owner is so helpful and we really appreciated his assistance. He mapped out must see locations for us and his advice was spot on. He also arranged for a shuttle to and from Ciampino Airport. Thank you Sam we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sctreat1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#217 of 1,261 in Rome
634 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#441 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adagio Rome Vatican
#15 of 1,118 in Rome
516 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#12 of 1,118 in Rome
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurelia Vatican Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurelia Vatican Apartments

Property: Aurelia Vatican Apartments
Address: Via Dei Laterizi 20, 00167 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,118 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurelia Vatican Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened in the summer of 2009 following a complete restoration. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS is the perfect choice for your stay in Rome.Conveniently located just 2 km from the Vatican City and only minutes by bus or Metro (Line A “Valle Aurelia”) to famous landmarks such as; St.Peter’s Basilica, Castel Sant’ Angelo, Spanish Steps,Trevi Fountain, Piazza del Popolo, Villa Borghese and Termini (Rome’s central train station).Our luxury apartment offer guests all the comforts of home; including fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, satellite LCD TV, Wi-Fi / LAN internet connections, stylish bathrooms and modern furnishings. With balconies providing views overlooking the elegant, flower decorated, Roman inspired courtyard.Situated in one of Rome’s central neighborhoods, close to cafés, restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacies, banks, parks and churches, parking facilities are also available to guests. AURELIA VATICAN APARTMENTS boasts a classic Roman architectural façade, stylishly contrasted by modern and sleek interiors. The elegantly designed restoration enables our guests to become immersed in the true Roman experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurelia Vatican Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurelia Vatican Apartments Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing