We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vegetarian breakfast, a little noisy but clean”
Review of Roma Room Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roma Room Hotel
Ranked #1,179 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“vegetarian breakfast, a little noisy but clean”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

breakfast offer two kinds of bread, one is croissant , the other one i think is bought directly from supermakert. Drinks are coffee, juice and water. Nothing specially delicious but enough for morning journey. we lived on 1st floor, where we could clearly hear the transportation noise from the road in front of the hotel day and night, so it is hard to adapt yourself to such a circumstance at your first sleep, if you can't stand it, you'd better ask for living in a higher floor. Interior decor is old but the bathroom is spacious and very special of the nice chambermaid who keep our room clean and tidy every day

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    39
    42
    14
    21
See reviews for
23
43
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Once we found it (there is no hotel sign outside, you have to look for the number (41) on a gate post and the building is in the gate and to the left. Very deserted area, looked more like a commercial area. Small supermarket at the road juntion (about 100 yards) they were very helpful in helping us to find the hotel and it was they who suggested looking for just the number!
We had a room with one double and two single beds, one of which had 3 slats missing in the middle so we used our case straps to cover this. Also there is NO air con at all. When we mentioned this the morning after our arrival they said they would get us a fan, which they did a large oscillating fan on a stand - ok but not great as it was about 23 at night and 40 in the day whislt we were there. Clean room and bathroom with shower (which seemed to have a leak somewhere but we couldn't work out where, just the floor was always wet when we got out). Two males on the desk at various times, one speaks better english than the other but both tried their best to help. Metro is about 5 minutes walk away and tourist bits are easy to get to from there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

I stayed here in the beginning of September 2011 and I was very pleased with the overall experience. Since it is a budget hotel, you shouldn't expect amazing facilities, but those that are provided are satisfying. It's a very good value for money. Every morning we served breakfast on the terrace and it was pretty wholesome (croissants, jam, coffee or orange juice and other pastries). The room was pretty bright and not that hot (there is no air conditioning), and it had a TV. The bathroom had some problems because the shower leaked, creating quite a big puddle of water every time, but the chambermaid always tidied the room and bathroom in the morning, leaving new towels and toiletries, so there weren't any problems.

The receptionists were very nice and informative when we needed guidance with transport and provided transport to the airport when requested.

The hotel isn't far from the metro station, about a 5 minute walk, as well as a 5 minute walk from the bus station that takes you straight to Plaza Barberini (close to the Fontana di Trevi and other main attractions). The neighborhood is very quiet and the scenery is lovely, we had flowers under our window.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the garden are brighter and cooler, whilst the rooms facing the street are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ami-chan-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Front desk staff were great. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best we've had in Italy so far, its not bacon and eggs but its good for italian style breakfast with fresh croissants and fresh breadrolls, juice, tea/coffee etc. The room is simple, but clean and comfortable. People who are complaining need to remember the price paid and what good value for money this hotel actually is. Also we were on the first floor so had wifi access in our room :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Rude manager, not properly clean, forniture is what remaining from the second world war, breakfast for prisoners, sorry they probably get it better, noise area, after the first night I move to another hotel up to the road, which can be a much better option!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed here as a conference delegate in the top room - there is no air con in the hotel but the expected mosquitos never appeared so it was fine to have the window open. The cheapest room was right at the top of the hotel; it was shabby but clean, and the reception staff were always very nice. They don't speak much English though (but then again I spoke no Italian). The breakfasts aren't so great - very small selection of rather cheap quality cereal, croissants and juice (indeterminate). If you need to stay somewhere very cheap and can have breakfast elsewhere, then I would recommend the hotel, but if you're after a nice romantic hotel with air con, lovely breakfast and comfortable room, you'll have to pay much, much more somewhere else. Rome is just a very expensive city and Roma Room at least doesn't rip you off.

Room Tip: since there is no air con, make sure you don't have a south-facing room, or a room on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in Rome for a week in July at the Roma Room Hotel. Having previously visited Rome I knew the benefits of staying close to a metro station but was absolutely thrilled at just how close we were to the Policlinico metro station (4 stops from the Colosseum). The hotel seemed to cater more for italian visitors and we quickly realised that the majority were either students or parents visiting students (the hotel is located near to the medical university). Despite this, the men on the counter were very helpful and despite their English not being the greatest they tried incredibly hard to help us when we had problems with our travel cards. The shuttle service to the airport was also brilliant and averagely priced.

The rooms are of average sized with a good quality shower and plenty of storage space. They feature gorgeous french windows which open out. We were fortunate to have a room facing the courtyard and had a wonderful view of the sun setting and rising.

My only criticism of the hotel is the lack of air conditioning. We were aware of this when we booked the hotel but at the peak of July heat (35 degrees at night!) we were forced to leave the windows open. This would not be a problem but the hotel was located on a busy main road and the rubbish trucks are very loud. The locals are also very loud and there was lots of chatter at night-time (particularly on a Friday night) which can be hampering to sleep.

Other than that, the hotel was lovely, the rooms were cleaned and fresh towels left every day. A good selection of breakfast was laid out for guests and the wi-fi in public areas was also very handy considering how cheap the hotel was to book.

If you are looking for Rome on a budget, with a good proximity to all the main attractions I would definitely recommend this hotel. But be prepared in the vicinity of the hotel for people to not be familiar with English or English tourists as this area of Rome is much more suburban than tourist based - and there is a really horrible man working in one of the restaurants on the way to the metro who is very arrogant and sarcastic. Encountering him on your first day is not on my list of Roman attractions!

Room Tip: If you get a choice you want a room facing the courtyard, as this is where I stayed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glitzyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Regina Margherita
#1,045 of 1,256 in Rome
176 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#189 of 1,256 in Rome
254 reviews
Villa Morgagni
#327 of 1,256 in Rome
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Giusto
#1,086 of 1,256 in Rome
393 reviews
San Lorenzo
Imperia Suite
Imperia Suite
#649 of 3,643 in Rome
141 reviews
Tiburtino
B&B Foscari House
B&B Foscari House
#224 of 3,643 in Rome
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Room Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Room Hotel

Property: Roma Room Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Battista Morgagni 41, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,179 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Roma Room Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Roma Room Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing