We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tacky tourist experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Opera Ristorante

Opera Ristorante
Reserve with
Opera Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,894 of 12,140 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Slingerlands, New York
1 review
“Tacky tourist experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Don't go for the food. If you want to feel like you are eating at Epcott Disney this is your place, but the food is mediocre at best and the opera singing is very loud. Tourist trap for sure!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kswarlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    60
    36
    30
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Opera Ristorante”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

An excellent Restaurant in Rome. Food was excellent! Operas & accordion was perfect!! Great Old World feeling.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Yes, this is a place frequented by tours. We, however, met a friend (resident of Rome) there for dinner and enjoyed a lovely meal and a very pleasant conversation with Fortunato (Lucky) who appeared to be the owner or manager. We ate upstairs...there was tour group and singing downstairs...but we weren't bothered by the sounds and had a nice, relaxing meal. Everything we were served was very good. I certainly would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StanBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“cant sing their praise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We went there as part of Rome by Night tour group and had the good fortune to share a table with a charming young French couple. And that is about as good as I can say about this place.

The Team and management did not just look unhappy they were positively raging!! We had the audacity to ask if they would light our candle. This was not received well.

FIXED MENU:

STARTER Cold rolled pork slice(1) Frozen croquette(1) Toast(1) Chopped tomatoes (1)
SECOND: Pasta Tubes baked with a dry cheese. No sauce
MAIN: thin slice of pork in gravy(2) garnished with chopped lettuce with sweetcorn
SWEET: 1cm cube of dry Tirimisu.

NO COFFEE

NO ENTERTAINMENT:

£156 for two.

The tour guide also conspired to lose two Americans who had been sitting beside us in the coach at the Trevi Fountain. No one seemed that bothered.

Rome is so much better than this. These people must be named and shamed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thingypsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible food, nice opera songs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

You have to have strong muscles to cut your pizza, the bread was not fresh and the red house wine is cheap and nasty plonk.
The restaurant was very cold and and draughty.
The only redeeming feature was a singer who had a good voice accompanied by an accordeon player. A place for desperate tour groups.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EleganTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opera Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Opera Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing