We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Ranked #128 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This Hotel is near all the major attractions. It's a typical 5* with all the great amenities. Rooms are big with a massive bed. The staff is really nice and helpful. There is a supermarket 5mns walk from there in case you need anything. It's a shame there was no iron in the room and the breakfast was boring after the second day. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel. For all attractions in Rome make sure you book everything in advance online before you travel, saves you from the massive queues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anoko04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 956 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

Overall, with the very few exceptions I will mention it was a terrific 5 Star Luxury Hotel stay. Especially as in our case where we were able to book the Hotel with one of it's promotional rates. What we received for our money was absolutely worth it. In all fairness, I will also mention the excellent things about this stay.

First off the location is absolutely fantastic. It is on the Via Veneto(Location of Movie La Dolce Vita), close to other 5 Star Hotels and the US Embassy. A very safe location, not far to walk to some of the fantastic sights of Rome. In the event you are not a walker, the cab ride fees to the sights are not that expensive. We walked to the Spanish Steps, the Trevi fountains, the Pantheon and the Forum/Collosseum. A cab ride to the Vatican is about 12 Euro's one way.

The Hotel is very modern, recently remodeled. The regular rooms are not large compared to US Hotels but rooms in Rome are generally small. They are beautifully decorated and extemely clean. However the bathroom is large and has all the amenties that a 5 star should have. Everything from towels to the Bulgari products provided was first class. The only small issue was the hair blowdryer which you must always have your hand on the button to operate. High quality robes with slippers are provided for the guests. The housekeeping staff was excellent during the entire week we were there and each night there was a turndown service. We used the room service on several instances and it was always on the mark.

The Breakfast Buffet was the best we have experienced in a European Hotel in the many years we have travelled and lived in Europe. It get's 5 stars. There had a high quality Salmon and Tuna as well as all of the fruits you can imagine. It is very high class and fortunately was part of the package because it would be 33 Euro's per person in the event it was not part of the rate. Your drinks(Coffee and Tea) are specially prepared for you to your liking. There are freshly pressed juices. Now, I realize that some Americans expect a different type of sausage or bacon/eggs prepared a certain way, but we must remember, we are in Europe and it's the European way. Now to a few issues with the Breakfast, for the first two days ordering off of the Breakfast card(different type of eggs then on the buffet) was part of the breakfast package. This was changed three days in our stay and many customers were not happy with this Hotel change. I think the Hotel Management should have allowed those that had started under the Breakfast card rules be allowed to continue to do this for the duration of their stay, not tell them now you need to pay in addition to the normal buffet cost. The second issue was a organizational issue. There were two supervisors for the breakfast area, one male and one female. When the female was in charge the buffet always was behind in being refilled timely, you had to ask for immediate assistance. The same applied for clearing tables. Now when the male supervisor was on duty(he also ran the bar on other days) there was never an issue. Everything was always stocked and tables were immediately cleared. Overall, everyone that worked in the breakfast area was extremely nice and friendly.

The Concierge Team made several reservations for us at Restaurants and this always worked out as perfect as can be. The Doormen overall were very nice and helpful, during one rainy day they did run out of umbrellas.

The front desk staff could be a little better. When we checked out they forgot to subtract the !0% off of food and beverage which was part of the package so I had to go back and go through the process again of correcting/checking out. They should not miss things like this.

We were totally happy with our Hotel stay and if the attention to detail would be on the mark for the small things I mentioned above, this would truly be the best Hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KTOWNFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Beautiful hotel let down by indifferent staff, the so-called concierge team. I can tell you we don't usually complain about service in hotels, we're pretty easy-going Aussies, but we felt frustrated and angry at the lack of response to requests for assistance with various things. We have experienced some beautiful hotels in Europe and I can honestly say this is the only place we have stayed where it was obvious the concierge staff seemed disinterested in responding to requests/questions/complaints: one example - a complaint about noise from another room, loud thumpings throughout the night on consecutive nights. We alerted reception/concierge staff after two sleepless nights in a row, no response!! Their movie channel was inadequate. The movies we chose were always "unavailable". Then they had the temerity to want to charge us for movies we hadn't even been able to watch. We had one meal there which was really terrible - dry, tough chicken with fries under the misleading name of Chicken Milanese. We complained about that. "Sorry, we'll alert the chef." There were problems with the room safe, the air-conditioning which was on "warm" all the time we were there. We had to open the windows to get some fresh air and then had to endure the busy traffic noise from Via Veneto. The breakfast buffet at $33 per person is over-priced. There was little or no warmth or friendliness shown by these people on the occasions we spoke to them. We were always polite with any requests made so I found this cold, blase attitude quite strange in such a big luxury hotel. The only nice, helpful staff were the bar staff and the doormen! We certainly won't be returning to the Jumeirah when we visit Rome in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand hotel Via Veneto
Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.

We were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations in terms of service and customer care. Be assured that all the due actions have been taken according to your suggestions as well. Our daily goals are: excellence, passion, carefulness and authenticity. Of course we are still “young” but completely ready to deliver the best part of our professionalism and dedication.

We would like to take this opportunity to inform you about the restaurants pricing. Despite of being in line with similar properties in the same area, we are constantly focused to deliver excellent quality per value. Inside a unique location and facilities. However, in your case, we can only feel sorry if your feeling was not the same.

We would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do really hope that this experience will only represent an exception inside a scenario that can still surprise you.
The Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto will be always looking for your next visit in order to allow us to show the really sense of hospitality for which this Hotel is renowned for.

Yours sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Hotel is good - large amount of space in room, fairly updated, modern style. Carpet and wallpaper had minor signs of wear. Nice accessories and toiletries. Good location. Bathroom was quite large and well designed. The living space was less impressive than the bathroom, though certainly nice. Breakfast was basic; claims to be "American," but as an American, I would disagree. Needs more variety and refreshing of foods as they are eaten. Spa area was impressive, though pool a bit small. I'm being critical b/c it's claiming five stars. This is a nice hotel, no doubt. Tip-top? Don't think so.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand hotel Via Veneto
Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.

We were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations. We have taken good notes about your comments that we have shared with our Food&Beverage Department to avoid any further inconvenience and still continue to grow up in terms of excellence and service delivered.
We hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to show you how much is important each guest to us.

Yours sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Via Veneto is full of luxury hotels and this hotel is just perfect.
The location is perfect.The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very beautiful.
Breakfast is terrific and the spa is very well equipped.
A first class hotel and it deserves all its stars.
Our stay in this place was just lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This is a well appointed hotel in a great location with good bars and public spaces. If anything a little too perfect to have the character of many Italian hotels. The only problem for us was we were given a room above the service entrance so at 5 am a crescendo of noise prevented any attempt at sleep. On complaining we were quickly moved to a quieter room.

Room Tip: Stay away from first floor rooms above the laundry entrance. The noise starts at 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The hotel itself is very nice- comfortable room and a lovely spacious bathroom. The welcome by the doormen upon check-in was great and it was nice to sit down for check-in.
However the experience was spoilt by a member of front desk staff when she did the following:

- As I asked about the room we were given (different from the one I booked), she said it was an upgrade and condescendingly asked if we wanted to be downgraded back to the original room. As the room we were given did not look like a Deluxe Room shown in all hotel photos, I was in doubt.
If it was really a Deluxe Room, then the hotel should not misrepresent their room photos.

- Bathroom toiletries were half-used when we checked in. When I told this to this staff, she said she found this very hard to believe (yes me too for this hotel or any for that matter!) and said she would inform Housekeeping. A new shower gel was given but nothing done about the half-used lotion and conditioner.

- When giving us directions to a gallery, she told us it was a 30min walk which led us to take a taxi and we subsequently discovered we could do the walk in less than half the time mentioned (and I'm not even a fast-paced walker).

Breakfast spread was not much and no one asked us if we wanted any drinks upon being seated at a table, 2 mornings in a row but some staff could stand around and chat.Very poor.
If you are going to spend most time in the shopping area around Via Condotti, this is perhaps not the best location to stay in. As we got a good rate to stay here, it was worth to try out the Jumeirah chain, but had we paid the normal rate and received this kind of service, I would be far, far more upset.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#110 of 1,269 in Rome
875 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,269 in Rome
1,401 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,269 in Rome
1,127 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#222 of 1,269 in Rome
445 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £197 - £703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Via Veneto, 116 spacious rooms and suites, containing beautiful decor and 1920s inspired handmade furniture. With two fine dining restaurants, a rooftop solarium, the state-of-the-art AQVA CITY SPA, and Fitness Centre, this is the perfect destination for an event or city break in the eternal city. With a legendary art collection including works by Picasso, Dali and Guttuso, and the grand marble bathrooms in every suite, Grand hotel via Veneto is your luxury hotel in Rome. The hotel’s sleek design is defined by an art deco’s Ruhlmann inspired motif that pervades throughout the building while contemporary works from an excellent collection of artists and tech- forward amenities fill the public spaces and guest rooms. Marble bathrooms, meeting rooms with fully-stocked bars and penthouse suites with terraces overlooking the eternal city below add to the opulent experience. DISOVER YOUR LUXURY HOTEL IN ROME. We offer uncommonly spacious accommodations in Via Veneto styled after luxury apartments, providing guests a residential-like escape in the eternal city. Every guestroom at Grand hotel via Veneto offers a plush king or queen bed, modern bathrooms full of Carrara Marbles, bath robes with slippers, and room service from our Magnolia and Time restaurants. Huge windows welcome refreshing natural light into a simple and elegant space. Modern art, ranging from abstract paintings to collages, adds a bit of Italian artistic flare to our sleek and luxury spaces. Grand hotel via Veneto offers to its guests a rooftop garden with hammam and hot tub, and also its AQVA City Spa: fitness center, chromotherapy, vitality pool, any kind of massages, sauna, hydromassage, everything within an environment completely made with pure Carrara Calacatta Caldia marble, that evokes the ancient Roman thermal baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing