We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“save your money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Ranked #172 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“save your money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

just stayed here for a week. (February 2014) SAVE YOUR MONEY great location But
for almost $500 a night the room was smaller then the lavatory on my flight over.
One bar of soap to take back and forth from sink to shower all week.
Air controls in the room? non existent.
Sheets were as scratchy as a dog with fleas.
One day shower cap, one day none
Still looking for the hair dryer....Where was it? is there a hiding place for it?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert8602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto during your recent visit in Rome and for taking the time to share our feedback on trip advisor. I was deeply concerned to read that your stay was less than perfect and deeply regret any inconvenience caused to you. I am sorry that you didn't notice anything during your stay as I would have been more than happy to give a full assistance. Kindly note that all our rooms have a generous size and they are fully equipped. The soaps are replaced daily from our housekeeping department if empty, if you need additional items you can call us and we deliver all you need. Regarding the "hidden places" we are most than welcome to assist you 24 hours: if you call our front desk we can "reveal" you all our facilities. (In exemple the air dryer which is located into your closet.) Please be informed that it would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. I will personally take care of your future reservation by assuring you a special treatment, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Kind Regards
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    202
    72
    34
    36
See reviews for
160
413
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel. The room was great. The staff were super helpful. The bar was expensive but they made a great cocktail. Breakfast was very good and we also ate had a very nice lunch there. The location was in a very safe part of Rome.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyJos135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto during your recent visit in Rome and for taking the time to share our feedback on Trip Advisor. We value our guests’ opinions. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the food offered.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kindest regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. The location is great and very near the Spanish steps. The spa is beautiful and very relaxing. I would have been 5 stars but our view was of a wall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Annabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto during your recent visit in Rome and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments are much appreciated. We thank you for your kind words on the hotel facilities especially on the spa. We do apologize for the view of the room: maybe you didn't ask for an exernal room, reason why we gave you a couryard one: which is very quite. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.We will make sure that this time you will have a room with a street view. Do not hesitate to contact me for further assistance in your future reservation.
Kindest regards
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

For most people, a hotel like this is a splurge and should be able to provide a near-flawless experience.

Our experience was not that. We encountered two main issues. First, our room was chronically hot. The staff's suggestion was to turn off the heating system - which did not help at all. While we were out for New Year's Eve dinner, they "fixed" the problem by opening the windows of the room, windows which opened onto the interior courtyard. This let in not just cooler air, but thick cigarette smoke which still had not dissipated by the time we checked out the next day.

This same lax attitude toward customer service also prevailed at the hotel bar, where twenty minutes after a drink order we had to literally chase a server through the bar in order to cancel the undelivered order so we could make it to dinner on time.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. With regards to the small issues with reception and the bar please be assured that we have passed your feedback to the competent departments to avoid a recurrence of the incident you have experienced. I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto and deter you from staying with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. I will personally take care of your future reservation by assuring you a special treatment, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife was dreaming of going to Rome! So on her birthday, I decided to surprise her with this trip.
Checking the reviews and location of other hotels, I decided to go with Jumeirah .

First of all, our communication by e-mail was amazing!! The hotel was more than willing to go the extra step to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Upon arrival they knew our names and greeted us warmly and wished my wife a happy birthday  which added a personal touch to their reception.

The room was HUGE in comparison to European hotel rooms. Very clean and modern. The bathroom is big, elegant, and well equipped. Two minor notes about the room.
The first, the mattress is hard while the pillow is too soft! Might wanna equal that up!
The other note was the lack of Iron and Iron board in the room. But after inquiring, we understand that it is a mandatory law by the government to avoid fire accidents (So nothing to do their. But just a note to dear future guests )

Location wise, the hotel in a quiet area. Yet 10-minute walk to the Spanish steps and the shops around it (Brand shops and other).
The Concierge was very helpful and more than happy to assist us with all of our questions.

Definitely would stay at Jumeirah again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fawaz_Albaqer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our facility as well as the services offered lived up to your expectations. I will share your comment with the staff and I am certain that they will be glad to read that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Kind Regards
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The good things about the hotel are that the doormen & porters are all charming, the concierge helpful, the room (deluxe ) was large, the bed good & the Magnolia restaurant is excellent . The staff in the restaurant were particularly lovely.

However, our room was a disappointment - it was not particularly comfortable or clean - the two chairs & wall covering were stained & needed a steam clean. The bathroom had thick mould in the corner of the shower & the veneer on the walls in that room was lifting in a number of places & was marked/stained. The shower flooded everytime it was used & to prevent it seeping to the floor underneath we had to throw all the towels down to absorb the water.

There was one shower cap, one cake of soap - for the shower, the hand basin & the bidet - one bottle shampoo. An austerity drive ?

The sound proofing was not very good & we heard the conversation of the guests in the next room.

The service in the cafe (even when it was almost empty) was so slow that we walked out - 15mins seated & we weren't asked if we wanted a drink.

Breakfast at 25euro each for 2 pastries each, 2 slices (each) of un toasted bread & a coffee & a juice is excessive but then 5euro each on top for room service just leaves an unpleasant feeling.

Nothing drastically awful happened - it was simply disappointing & not what we expected of the Jumeirah chain.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. With regards to the small issues with your room and breaksfast please be assured that we have passed your feedback to the competent departments to avoid a recurrence of the incident you have experienced. I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto and deter you from staying with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. I will personally take care of your future reservation by assuring you a special treatment, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September 2013. My business colleague and I each had a suite both of which had different configurations and were impressive by way of size for the city of Rome. His was a corner suite with a large lounge area boasting several coaches and chez longue - the bedroom a little smaller than my suit and a generous sized bathroom with large tub and shower combination, basin, toilet and bidet. He enjoyed a corner location with balconies opening up overlooking the Via Veneto. My suite a different category than my colleagues had a huge bathroom with a large walk-in shower, large tub, twin basins and a large amount of space in the bathroom - this led off onto the bedroom which was also very generously proportioned and a walk-in closet area with lots of room and cupboards to hang up clothing.

I am a long standing Jumeirah client having been visiting their Dubai flagship hotels over the past 15 years. I have checked out the various Jumeirah properties in London, New York (when they had one), Shanghai and now Rome. They have made a great entry into the eternal city. The Grand Hotel has of course been there for many years and was closed for renovation for a long time. Jumeirah in managing it have added their touch which was evident in the excellence in service from the staff level, from the doorman to the great and friendly team around the bar, as well as the front office management.

As far as location goes, if you enjoy walking, which hopefully you would in this great city, you're in a perfect spot! Just a short walk to the Spanish Steps and the famous fountains and the city is available for as long and as far as you can walk! The weather in September, of course, was great and this made for a superb location.

Plenty of restaurants in the area with the famous Harry's Bar just up the road opposite the Marriott and the Hard Rock Café a little down the road, with plenty of other choices in the neighborhood.

As can be expected, in Rome, mini-bar prices are high but there are convenient and close shops nearby where you can stock up with everything to your heart's delight.

Other thoughts about the hotel - it has been elegantly and exquisitely renovated. Clearly a lot of time and money was put into the renovation to bring this beautiful property very close to the world famous Excelsior Hotel up to the standards that it should be.

It has a lovely and inviting rooftop area, which regrettably, was closed during the season and a small hotel hot-tub which is not so well advertised and regrettably, although beautifully located right on the roof was at a low temperature which made it uninviting.

Great gym, a little short on the restaurant choices, with one of their restaurants being closed for the season, but you're in Rome so there's no excuse not being able to find a good place to eat!

We were exceptionally well looked after as I am top flight member in the Jumeirah Sirius Program and appreciated the accommodation upgrades and the fuss and attention this afforded me and my colleague.

Any top quality hotel in Rome is not going to come cheap, so if this hotel is within the price range of your budget, it will make for a great choice.

I remain impressed with Jumeirah's global perspective of not just remaining the top hotel chain in Dubai, where they are founded and owned, but continuing to build and take on management portfolios of some fine properties around the world. Well done Jumeirah for breaking into the high-end market in such great style!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harv and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay inwith us. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our facility as well as the services offered lived up to your expectations. I will share your comment with the staff and I am certain that they will be glad to read that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.

Kind regards
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#109 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#197 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Property: Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Via Veneto, 116 spacious rooms and suites, containing beautiful decor and 1920s inspired handmade furniture. With two fine dining restaurants, a rooftop solarium, the state-of-the-art AQVA CITY SPA, and Fitness Centre, this is the perfect destination for an event or city break in the eternal city. With a legendary art collection including works by Picasso, Dali and Guttuso, and the grand marble bathrooms in every suite, Grand hotel via Veneto is your luxury hotel in Rome. The hotel’s sleek design is defined by an art deco’s Ruhlmann inspired motif that pervades throughout the building while contemporary works from an excellent collection of artists and tech- forward amenities fill the public spaces and guest rooms. Marble bathrooms, meeting rooms with fully-stocked bars and penthouse suites with terraces overlooking the eternal city below add to the opulent experience. DISOVER YOUR LUXURY HOTEL IN ROME. We offer uncommonly spacious accommodations in Via Veneto styled after luxury apartments, providing guests a residential-like escape in the eternal city. Every guestroom at Grand hotel via Veneto offers a plush king or queen bed, modern bathrooms full of Carrara Marbles, bath robes with slippers, and room service from our Magnolia and Time restaurants. Huge windows welcome refreshing natural light into a simple and elegant space. Modern art, ranging from abstract paintings to collages, adds a bit of Italian artistic flare to our sleek and luxury spaces. Grand hotel via Veneto offers to its guests a rooftop garden with hammam and hot tub, and also its AQVA City Spa: fitness center, chromotherapy, vitality pool, any kind of massages, sauna, hydromassage, everything within an environment completely made with pure Carrara Calacatta Caldia marble, that evokes the ancient Roman thermal baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing