We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but Jumeirah hotels are usually better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Ranked #172 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Not bad but Jumeirah hotels are usually better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights. The hotel is fine with an impressive art deco reception area the rooms are large and well equipped but a few things let the experience down somewhat. The lift from reception makes large bangs which is disconcerting, the draw in the desk in our room opened of its own accord and you had to wedge a chair against it and the shower/bath leaked onto the floor which made it very slippery. The beds are very comfortable though and the windows are exceptional at keeping out the street noice so sleep quality was excellent Overall not a bad hotel for €350 a night but some attention to detail is required.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto during your recent visit in Rome and for taking the time to share our feedback on Trip Advisor. I was concerned to read that you experienced some minor shortfalls. I do apologize for these inconveniences. We will make sure that these episodes will never happen again. Please accept our invitation to visit our hotel once again. It will be a pleasure to welcome you here and make sure you enjoy a 5 star hotel experience. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us again.
Kindest regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    202
    72
    34
    36
See reviews for
160
413
25
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

just stayed here for a week. (February 2014) SAVE YOUR MONEY great location But
for almost $500 a night the room was smaller then the lavatory on my flight over.
One bar of soap to take back and forth from sink to shower all week.
Air controls in the room? non existent.
Sheets were as scratchy as a dog with fleas.
One day shower cap, one day none
Still looking for the hair dryer....Where was it? is there a hiding place for it?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert8602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto during your recent visit in Rome and for taking the time to share our feedback on trip advisor. I was deeply concerned to read that your stay was less than perfect and deeply regret any inconvenience caused to you. I am sorry that you didn't notice anything during your stay as I would have been more than happy to give a full assistance. Kindly note that all our rooms have a generous size and they are fully equipped. The soaps are replaced daily from our housekeeping department if empty, if you need additional items you can call us and we deliver all you need. Regarding the "hidden places" we are most than welcome to assist you 24 hours: if you call our front desk we can "reveal" you all our facilities. (In exemple the air dryer which is located into your closet.) Please be informed that it would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. I will personally take care of your future reservation by assuring you a special treatment, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Kind Regards
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

A really nice hotel. The room was great. The staff were super helpful. The bar was expensive but they made a great cocktail. Breakfast was very good and we also ate had a very nice lunch there. The location was in a very safe part of Rome.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyJos135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto during your recent visit in Rome and for taking the time to share our feedback on Trip Advisor. We value our guests’ opinions. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated the food offered.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kindest regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. The location is great and very near the Spanish steps. The spa is beautiful and very relaxing. I would have been 5 stars but our view was of a wall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Annabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto during your recent visit in Rome and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments are much appreciated. We thank you for your kind words on the hotel facilities especially on the spa. We do apologize for the view of the room: maybe you didn't ask for an exernal room, reason why we gave you a couryard one: which is very quite. We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.We will make sure that this time you will have a room with a street view. Do not hesitate to contact me for further assistance in your future reservation.
Kindest regards
Ilaria Lucani
Front Of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

For most people, a hotel like this is a splurge and should be able to provide a near-flawless experience.

Our experience was not that. We encountered two main issues. First, our room was chronically hot. The staff's suggestion was to turn off the heating system - which did not help at all. While we were out for New Year's Eve dinner, they "fixed" the problem by opening the windows of the room, windows which opened onto the interior courtyard. This let in not just cooler air, but thick cigarette smoke which still had not dissipated by the time we checked out the next day.

This same lax attitude toward customer service also prevailed at the hotel bar, where twenty minutes after a drink order we had to literally chase a server through the bar in order to cancel the undelivered order so we could make it to dinner on time.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. With regards to the small issues with reception and the bar please be assured that we have passed your feedback to the competent departments to avoid a recurrence of the incident you have experienced. I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto and deter you from staying with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. I will personally take care of your future reservation by assuring you a special treatment, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife was dreaming of going to Rome! So on her birthday, I decided to surprise her with this trip.
Checking the reviews and location of other hotels, I decided to go with Jumeirah .

First of all, our communication by e-mail was amazing!! The hotel was more than willing to go the extra step to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Upon arrival they knew our names and greeted us warmly and wished my wife a happy birthday  which added a personal touch to their reception.

The room was HUGE in comparison to European hotel rooms. Very clean and modern. The bathroom is big, elegant, and well equipped. Two minor notes about the room.
The first, the mattress is hard while the pillow is too soft! Might wanna equal that up!
The other note was the lack of Iron and Iron board in the room. But after inquiring, we understand that it is a mandatory law by the government to avoid fire accidents (So nothing to do their. But just a note to dear future guests )

Location wise, the hotel in a quiet area. Yet 10-minute walk to the Spanish steps and the shops around it (Brand shops and other).
The Concierge was very helpful and more than happy to assist us with all of our questions.

Definitely would stay at Jumeirah again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fawaz_Albaqer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. We are delighted to read your great review post your stay in Jumeirah. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our facility as well as the services offered lived up to your expectations. I will share your comment with the staff and I am certain that they will be glad to read that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto.

Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Kind Regards
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The good things about the hotel are that the doormen & porters are all charming, the concierge helpful, the room (deluxe ) was large, the bed good & the Magnolia restaurant is excellent . The staff in the restaurant were particularly lovely.

However, our room was a disappointment - it was not particularly comfortable or clean - the two chairs & wall covering were stained & needed a steam clean. The bathroom had thick mould in the corner of the shower & the veneer on the walls in that room was lifting in a number of places & was marked/stained. The shower flooded everytime it was used & to prevent it seeping to the floor underneath we had to throw all the towels down to absorb the water.

There was one shower cap, one cake of soap - for the shower, the hand basin & the bidet - one bottle shampoo. An austerity drive ?

The sound proofing was not very good & we heard the conversation of the guests in the next room.

The service in the cafe (even when it was almost empty) was so slow that we walked out - 15mins seated & we weren't asked if we wanted a drink.

Breakfast at 25euro each for 2 pastries each, 2 slices (each) of un toasted bread & a coffee & a juice is excessive but then 5euro each on top for room service just leaves an unpleasant feeling.

Nothing drastically awful happened - it was simply disappointing & not what we expected of the Jumeirah chain.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Front Of House Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back on the Tripadvisor following your recent stay in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey. With regards to the small issues with your room and breaksfast please be assured that we have passed your feedback to the competent departments to avoid a recurrence of the incident you have experienced. I hope these shortfalls will not tarnish your overall impression of Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto and deter you from staying with us. It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future, giving us another opportunity to make sure you have a wonderful stay with us. I will personally take care of your future reservation by assuring you a special treatment, We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.
Yours Sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#109 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#197 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Property: Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Via Veneto, 116 spacious rooms and suites, containing beautiful decor and 1920s inspired handmade furniture. With two fine dining restaurants, a rooftop solarium, the state-of-the-art AQVA CITY SPA, and Fitness Centre, this is the perfect destination for an event or city break in the eternal city. With a legendary art collection including works by Picasso, Dali and Guttuso, and the grand marble bathrooms in every suite, Grand hotel via Veneto is your luxury hotel in Rome. The hotel’s sleek design is defined by an art deco’s Ruhlmann inspired motif that pervades throughout the building while contemporary works from an excellent collection of artists and tech- forward amenities fill the public spaces and guest rooms. Marble bathrooms, meeting rooms with fully-stocked bars and penthouse suites with terraces overlooking the eternal city below add to the opulent experience. DISOVER YOUR LUXURY HOTEL IN ROME. We offer uncommonly spacious accommodations in Via Veneto styled after luxury apartments, providing guests a residential-like escape in the eternal city. Every guestroom at Grand hotel via Veneto offers a plush king or queen bed, modern bathrooms full of Carrara Marbles, bath robes with slippers, and room service from our Magnolia and Time restaurants. Huge windows welcome refreshing natural light into a simple and elegant space. Modern art, ranging from abstract paintings to collages, adds a bit of Italian artistic flare to our sleek and luxury spaces. Grand hotel via Veneto offers to its guests a rooftop garden with hammam and hot tub, and also its AQVA City Spa: fitness center, chromotherapy, vitality pool, any kind of massages, sauna, hydromassage, everything within an environment completely made with pure Carrara Calacatta Caldia marble, that evokes the ancient Roman thermal baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing