We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark and Smokey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Ranked #137 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
275 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Dark and Smokey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Rome. The staff is friendly but a little stiff. The lobby is well appointed and retro in a nice way. The rooms however left us a little puzzled. We booked our stay through Amex PTS and when we checked in we were told that we received an upgrade. The room however was the exact price level that we had chosen to begin with. The room was nicely furnished and spacious but it was extremely dark. It had one small window that looked out at a wall. They were nice enough to show us another room that had more light. The room was great except it reeked of smoke. They explained to us that because it is Arab owned they don't have a strict non-smoking policy. We finally compromised on a room that had better light with out the smokey smell.
The price point on this hotel is good so if you do decide to book it, make sure you know about the smoking policy ahead of time and try and get a room with 2 windows and a street view.

Room Tip: High, non-smoking room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    212
    73
    35
    37
See reviews for
177
425
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Bottomless bathtub, fantastic concierge recommendations, best hotel food ever, everyone is very friendly and helpful, can't do enough for you (bar, front desk, breakfast, doormen, room service... everyone). Great location as well, very easy to walk to the main sites. We stayed for two nights in May and we had lovely weather for touristing around town. We didn't use the spa or the "vitality pool" but it did all look very enticing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nholtsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mr. Nholtsmark,

Thank you for your words so enthusiastic about our Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto! It gives us great satisfaction to read that your stay with us has been so exiting. The whole staff team has been absolutely delighted with your kind comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon and perhaps this time you will also enjoy our Aqva City Spa.

Kindest Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from a short break to Jumeirah Grand Hotel, Rome

Hotel is very well appointed, friendly staff, but a little clinical, lacks atmosphere, especially the bar area (I was the only person there during early evening)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harvey019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mr. Harvey019,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. We thank you for your kind words on our staff and facility. Normally, the atmosphere in our Hotel is warm and discreet, but sometimes it can be quieter than usual.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again in our Hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Via Veneto has some fabled hotels so the Jumeirah has competition - the front door staff are very good and knowledgable, but we found the reception area to be slow...there were only two staff on duty and they seemed to double as concierges, booking tours for guests and showing them landmarks on a map which was nice of them, but I'd arrived on a long flight and had to spend fifteen minutes at the check-in waiting to be served. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotlessly clean, but one expects that at five star hotels. Only one cake of soap was supplied, so you need to carry it back and forth between shower and hand basin, and no toothbrush or razor was provided although I'm sure if I'd asked for one it would have been delivered. I was disappointed by the breakfast room which was long and narrow, so the food service points create bottle necks and it's hard to work your way through the scrum balancing a plate and a coffee. The breakfast choices weren't impressive...very basic and some items seemed to have run out - like cheese and prosciutto, but then I was late for breakfast and they were due to close in twenty minutes and perhaps they'd decided it wasn't worth replenishing. But those are the things that differentiate the very good hotels from the merely good, so I only gave the Jumeirah four stars. If you want a five star, try the Westin just down the road.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Beatric,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. Thank you for well appreciating our front door staff, they were joyful in knowing your comment. We do apologize for your wait at check-in: in high season it may happen that our Guests arrive at the same time. However, in order to provide a faster service, we have predisposed our life-style desk is in a separate place, where our Guests can get all information necessary to enjoy their stay with us.
Thank you for appreciating the comfort and freshness of our rooms. Normally, we provide more than one cake of soap in the bathroom, so please accept our apologies if you have found just one. We ask our Guests to call us for every single need they should have to avoid any discomfort, we would have provided additional bath accessories: please accept our apologies for this point too.
Thank you for your suggestion about our breakfast. At the moment, we have moved it in our wide and beautiful Magnolia Restaurant, which is provided of a patio too. We can ensure a great level of food quality, in line with culinary Italian tradition.

Please accept my invitation to come back and experience the true five experience as Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto is well known for. With great pleasure, I will personally assist you.

Kindest Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Super service and breakfast, you can eat great pasta @12:00 midnight in front of Via Veneto one of the most beautiful streets of Rome.Villa Borghese is almost 3 minutes walking distance!!
Very helpful staff ,5 stars location! The restaurant of the Jumeirah is fantastic ,decorated with huge minimal ornaments - and they can -boast for their top wine list. You can stay easily there either for business or for pleasure and you will come back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Nvinnie,

Thank you for your enthusiastic comment! We are pleased to read that throughout your stay you enjoyed not only our facilities, but also the restaurant and the location which helped to make your stay memorable by reaching easily the most interesting touristic sites of Rome. Our staff is well trained to satisfy and respond to all of our Guests requests. I am certain that by sharing your great review they will be more motivated to keep an even more positive work attitude.

Kindest Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We travelled to Rome for the early May bank holiday and as it was our first trip we decided to stay as close as possible to some of the major sights. We were not disappointed by our choice as this is one of the finest hotels I have stayed at!

The staff were extremely friendly and extremely helpful - room-service, housekeeping and concierge were among the most efficient I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Everyone from the staff at the front-desk to the doorman was happy to provide directions and advice on the sights to see and on places to eat.

There were a number of good establishments just around the corner from the hotel - San Marco being one of my favourites! The deluxe room was large and meant there was enough space for my toddler to run around. We didn't enjoy having a view of the back of other buildings but we didn't spend too much time in the room and therefore didn't matter as much.

All in all a great stay and we will definitely be staying at this hotel again when we visit Rome!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for a via veneto view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 276Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto. We thank you for your kind words spent on our staff which eagerly assisted you during your stay with us. We are also pleased to read that the location of the hotel was comfortable for you and made you visit Rome without much trouble.
Should you need further need further assistance, in reserving your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest Regards,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The lobby is beautiful and well designed. The location is excellent. You won't find a bottle opener in your room, instead someone will come open the bottle for you--a nice touch.

We had problems with the internet, but the young staff member sent to help us was knowledgable and courteous. Even if we lost valuable time trying to figure it out ourselves, the response was quick and the issue was ultimately resolved. A+ for the service staff.

The green tea scented soap, shampoo and body lotion by Bulgari is a very nice touch. Bathroom was beautiful in theory, but wood in the wet area above the white marble bathtub is not holding up well at all...worse so because clear caulking was applied over the dark mildew stains. Not entirely inviting sight. Hot water worked well on only the vertical faucet in the shower not the overhead spout.

The wood in the bathroom brought more attention to the unfortunate wear on the beautiful art deco wood furniture in the room. Then the carpet had a hole and the feeling was decidedly downmarket.

It's OK for quick last minute or discounted travel, but it could be an amazing place to stay--with a little TLC applied. Many Roman hotels available at this price point get it right on all points and service alone cannot provide cover for worn out facilities.

Room Tip: Inner courtyard room is very quiet, if on the dark side. Definitely opt for larger band internet if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThereD0neThatNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilaria L, Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Via Veneto, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Your comment is important to us, as we always aim at delivering an ultimate experience for every guest.
We were concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations in terms of service and customer care. Be assured that all the due actions have been taken according to your suggestions as well. Our daily goals are: excellence, passion, carefulness and authenticity.
We would like to take this opportunity to inform you about the maintenance and our daily checks of our rooms: we are constantly focused to deliver excellent quality per value, inside a unique location and facilities.
We would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do really hope that this experience will only represent an exception inside a scenario that can still surprise you.
The Jumeirah Grand Hotel Via Veneto will be always looking for your next visit in order to allow us to show the really sense of hospitality for which this Hotel is renowned for.

Yours sincerely,
Ilaria Lucani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#224 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#58 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Via Veneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Via Veneto

Property: Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 155, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Via Veneto 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Via Veneto, 116 spacious rooms and suites, containing beautiful decor and 1920s inspired handmade furniture. With two fine dining restaurants, a rooftop solarium, the state-of-the-art AQVA CITY SPA, and Fitness Centre, this is the perfect destination for an event or city break in the eternal city. With a legendary art collection including works by Picasso, Dali and Guttuso, and the grand marble bathrooms in every suite, Grand hotel via Veneto is your luxury hotel in Rome. The hotel’s sleek design is defined by an art deco’s Ruhlmann inspired motif that pervades throughout the building while contemporary works from an excellent collection of artists and tech- forward amenities fill the public spaces and guest rooms. Marble bathrooms, meeting rooms with fully-stocked bars and penthouse suites with terraces overlooking the eternal city below add to the opulent experience. DISOVER YOUR LUXURY HOTEL IN ROME. We offer uncommonly spacious accommodations in Via Veneto styled after luxury apartments, providing guests a residential-like escape in the eternal city. Every guestroom at Grand hotel via Veneto offers a plush king or queen bed, modern bathrooms full of Carrara Marbles, bath robes with slippers, and room service from our Magnolia and Time restaurants. Huge windows welcome refreshing natural light into a simple and elegant space. Modern art, ranging from abstract paintings to collages, adds a bit of Italian artistic flare to our sleek and luxury spaces. Grand hotel via Veneto offers to its guests a rooftop garden with hammam and hot tub, and also its AQVA City Spa: fitness center, chromotherapy, vitality pool, any kind of massages, sauna, hydromassage, everything within an environment completely made with pure Carrara Calacatta Caldia marble, that evokes the ancient Roman thermal baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Via Veneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing