We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded even our highest expectations.”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #178 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded even our highest expectations.”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

What a terrific property to end 2 weeks in Italy. I carefully researched every possible option in Rome and was convinced the Villa Duse would be a perfect retreat and respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. A 10 euro cab ride to the Spanish steps is a more than fair trade for such lovely accommodations and personable staff. We will return here without a second thought!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    115
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
313
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was a lovely, quiet place to stay near the Villa Borgese. It was impossible for us to find the stop for the 360 bus, but a taxi from the train station was only 12 euros.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chercheure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Went here for Silver Wedding Anniversary. The staff were very attentive and booked restaurants, recommended places to visit and generally made us feel really pampered. Although the hotel is not in the centre it is on a bus line and a taxi is about 10 to 15 euros into the centre. I recommend for couples looking for a relaxing end to a busy day sight seeing.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank klon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Villa Duse Hotel can be qualified as a boutique hotel, given its exclusive service, location and design. It makes the hotel a very good choice for people who want to be away from the center of Rome and demand a good room, service and breakfast, in a quiet neighborhood. The area (Parioli) is one of the most high-end ones in Rome, with a number of good restaurants (almost no tourists) and very safe. It takes about 15 minutes by bus (#52) plus 15 minutes walking to get to the hotel, leaving from the center of the city, or a 10 minutes cab ride from Termini (about 12 Euros). The only downside (despite the distance, which was not a problem for us), is the wi-fi internet service. We were able to get maybe 20 minutes of good signal during our stay and they MUST correct this, since it is very annoying. In general a very good stay with a correct price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bncav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Ok, thought I'd write a review on this hotel - because it deserves it. Just stayed 3 nights at the Villa Duse earlier this week, and had a great time.

The hotel is out of the main centre, but a 360 bus 10 metres away takes you to Termini central station for €1! (Suggest you buy a €4 day card - gets you on all busses and metro, and gets you €2 off the open-top sight-seeing bus if you fancy doing that - which I recommentd. 2 days for €18 if you use the discount. It is worth it. Anyway, so the hotel is far out enough to be lovely and quiet and peaceful (perfect for a whole night's sleep) but handy enough to be in the centre within 20 mins.

We got lucky with the room - free upgrade to the excellent red junior suite - complete with balcony. Awesome. Everything was clean - the bed was 10/10 - the room was stylish - the aircon worked perfectly - tv great - minibar (which can act as a fridge if you're watching the pennies.....) Great sleeps, which is priceless in big cities - gives you the energy to do the sights and really enjoy it.

Breakfast was very good - a good mix of healthy and cakes if you want to indulge. The fruit was very fresh and everything was in plentiful supply. Breakfast was served 7.30 - 10.30am - so we bombed down at 10am each morning, due to late nights!!!

For me the staff were tremendous, and one of the reasons the hotel has so much appeal. I stay in hotels maybe 4 times a month with work, and I normally really don't like them - this one is different - it's a bit like staying in someone's house. I have to mention Daniel, who was an excellent guy, and a real credit to the hotel. OWNER/MANAGER, if you are reading this, please note!!! He was very helpful, well mannered and very professional.

Anyway, I think that's all I want to say - if you have specific questions, I would be happy to reply - suggest you get a late cab to the Ponte Milvio - it's not cheap at €16 but worth it. We went twice out of 3 nights. Absolutely jumping with under 40-year olds. Great restos and great bars - not rowdy, mostly couples, and everyone just seemed in a great mood. The restos were pretty cheap, so took the pain out of the cab fares there and back. The quality of the food we got was first rate.

Enjoy - am jealous writing this thinking you might be going and I AM BACK TO BLOODY WORK ON MONDAY!!!! haha. cheers - Paul

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Scooney1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We wanted to find a nice, clean, quiet hotel but this small jewel offered us a lot more. At a quiet area of Rome, a bit far from the noisy centre, but not remote. The room was perfect. Quality of services is excellent. Trust the personnel for tips and hints around the city.
In conclusion, made us feel like home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pitmanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We’ve just been staying at the Villa Duse for a week. We had booked the Villa Duse for our honeymoon, and was looking forward to a week with both sightseeing, but also a hotel in a quiet area, where we could relax and enjoy each other. Unfortunatly our honeymoon didn’t start out that way, cause when we arrived at The Villa Duse, our booking somehow had been cancelled, and therefore the room we had booked was not free.
This came as quite a surprise to us, cause we had been in contact with The Villa Duse just days before asking about airport pickup (mentioning our booking number). Why does The Villa Duse not make a check when they get a query? The Villa Duse made arrangements for us to stay at another hotel the first night, and we could then come back for the rest of our honeymoon. We where sent to a nearby hotel, and had expected a hotel that was a bit similar to The Villa Duse, but ended up at a business hotel, close to a busy street, at a regular business room, with no balcony or terrace and wiew right into a wall! Not our idea of a good start on our honeymoon. When we got back to Villa Duse we mentioned this for the staff, and after som consultation with the hotel manager I think we’ve made our point clear and has come to an understanding with the hotel.
All that said we then had a very nice stay at the Villa Duse, the room lived up to our expectations and the private terrace (park room) was small but nice and lovely for a couple at their honeymoon, just remember to buy something against the mosquitos, cause they like to bite ☺ The bathroom is large compared to the room, and has shower with ”massage” function.
The staff was wery helpfull, both with directions and restaurant bookings and always had a smile. The ”public” terrace is nice with its sofas and soft chairs, especially after a long day around the city. After the ”bump on the road” start of our honeymoon we’ve had a really nice stay. And here’s a few tips that we hope you can use:
We chosed a airport pickup via a online pickup service – cost 80 euros (return) – a chauffeur will pick you up at the airport and drive you directly to the hotel (it’s the same price for a ordinary taxi) –you can find the companys that offer this service online.
1: The easy way to go to the center of town, Termini or The Vatican is via bus or Tram – Buy the ticket (1 €) at kiosks or, when not sold out, at the hotel. And yes it takes around 20-30 minutes to get into the center, but what else to expect when you choose a hotel at this location ☺ We like to walk around town, and it’s the best way to experience Rome – and it’s possible to walk into the center of Rome – around 35 minuttes to the Spanish Steps and 45-55 minuttes to the Vatican. You can go through the Villa Borgese park under the trees, which is quite nice – and when you get through the park you have a fantastic view over Rome.
2: If you go to the Colloseum then buy your entrance ticket at the Palantino – only 200 meters away – the ticket covers both Palantino, Colloseum and Forum Romano. There’s nearly no line at the Palantino ticket office – afterwards you can go to the Colloseum, and skip the 300 meter ticket line!!!!
3: If you go to the Vatican then be an early bird – be at the Sct. Peters Cathedral before 7.30 and walk right in – see the Cathedral without to many other tourists and then go to the Vatican Museum, where you, some days before, has bought your ticket via www.vatican.va - keep to your right where the line starts for the tickets – and just walk by the line and enter with your prebooked tickets – we skipped a line about 400 meters!!!
4: Just around the corner of the Villa Duse (to the right) there’s a small bar and next to it a ”take-away” place, where you can get delicious food at very low prices – if you get tired of eating out – A very popular place around lunch (lots of locals), but it’s open until 8. pm.
We would have liked to give the Villa Duse a five star, but cause of our ”bump”, and also that we think it’s a bit curious that a hotel of this category demands 3 euros for a egg to your breakfast – we didn’t use the option ☺! Therefore The Villa Duse only gets four stars.

Room Tip: choose a room with private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank freqtravAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#102 of 1,258 in Rome
436 reviews
Heart Hotel
#99 of 1,258 in Rome
456 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#185 of 1,258 in Rome
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,258 in Rome
1,145 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Relais 6
#29 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing