We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful Staff, bus on doorstep takes you everywhere”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #169 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very helpful Staff, bus on doorstep takes you everywhere”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The rooms in this hotel are a very generous size, breakfast is delicious even a range of cakes! Decor is grand and bus around the corner from hotel takes you straight from the train terminal to the front of the hotel. Staff are very helpful and you must try a little restaurant around the corner called Ciccia Bomba ai Paroli Osteria via R.Fauro,2 tel 06.80692020 we ate here every night and the food was the BEST I had on our whole European holiday, it was very reasonably priced if not cheap. We ate 3 courses each and 1 Litre of wine cost AU$60, it is just a short walk from this hotel. This hotel was in a quiet peaceful location- you felt like a local. I will stay at this hotel again next time I visit Rome, highly reccommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tambyistherajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    115
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
313
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Villa Duse is located in the Parioli district away from the tourist centre of Rome. However, a short taxi ride or transit service will get you there. It is a relaxing, artistic boutique hotel where you immediately feel the relaxing and restful atmosphere upon arrival. The staff is most helpful- they confirmed air return trip, ordered taxis and driver to the airport for us. They also arranged for us to have a delightful traditional Italian dinner with free shuttle service. The room was a good size for a boutique hotel with a large washroom. We spent some time in the beautiful garden a perfect spot is sit and read your favourite book. The decorations in the hotel were tastefully done. All in all a wonderful place to stay and one that we definitely will return to.

Room Tip: Do your research and see what other travellers have said about the room through sites such as Trip A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugsueToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

What a terrific property to end 2 weeks in Italy. I carefully researched every possible option in Rome and was convinced the Villa Duse would be a perfect retreat and respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. A 10 euro cab ride to the Spanish steps is a more than fair trade for such lovely accommodations and personable staff. We will return here without a second thought!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was a lovely, quiet place to stay near the Villa Borgese. It was impossible for us to find the stop for the 360 bus, but a taxi from the train station was only 12 euros.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chercheure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Went here for Silver Wedding Anniversary. The staff were very attentive and booked restaurants, recommended places to visit and generally made us feel really pampered. Although the hotel is not in the centre it is on a bus line and a taxi is about 10 to 15 euros into the centre. I recommend for couples looking for a relaxing end to a busy day sight seeing.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank klon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Villa Duse Hotel can be qualified as a boutique hotel, given its exclusive service, location and design. It makes the hotel a very good choice for people who want to be away from the center of Rome and demand a good room, service and breakfast, in a quiet neighborhood. The area (Parioli) is one of the most high-end ones in Rome, with a number of good restaurants (almost no tourists) and very safe. It takes about 15 minutes by bus (#52) plus 15 minutes walking to get to the hotel, leaving from the center of the city, or a 10 minutes cab ride from Termini (about 12 Euros). The only downside (despite the distance, which was not a problem for us), is the wi-fi internet service. We were able to get maybe 20 minutes of good signal during our stay and they MUST correct this, since it is very annoying. In general a very good stay with a correct price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bncav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Ok, thought I'd write a review on this hotel - because it deserves it. Just stayed 3 nights at the Villa Duse earlier this week, and had a great time.

The hotel is out of the main centre, but a 360 bus 10 metres away takes you to Termini central station for €1! (Suggest you buy a €4 day card - gets you on all busses and metro, and gets you €2 off the open-top sight-seeing bus if you fancy doing that - which I recommentd. 2 days for €18 if you use the discount. It is worth it. Anyway, so the hotel is far out enough to be lovely and quiet and peaceful (perfect for a whole night's sleep) but handy enough to be in the centre within 20 mins.

We got lucky with the room - free upgrade to the excellent red junior suite - complete with balcony. Awesome. Everything was clean - the bed was 10/10 - the room was stylish - the aircon worked perfectly - tv great - minibar (which can act as a fridge if you're watching the pennies.....) Great sleeps, which is priceless in big cities - gives you the energy to do the sights and really enjoy it.

Breakfast was very good - a good mix of healthy and cakes if you want to indulge. The fruit was very fresh and everything was in plentiful supply. Breakfast was served 7.30 - 10.30am - so we bombed down at 10am each morning, due to late nights!!!

For me the staff were tremendous, and one of the reasons the hotel has so much appeal. I stay in hotels maybe 4 times a month with work, and I normally really don't like them - this one is different - it's a bit like staying in someone's house. I have to mention Daniel, who was an excellent guy, and a real credit to the hotel. OWNER/MANAGER, if you are reading this, please note!!! He was very helpful, well mannered and very professional.

Anyway, I think that's all I want to say - if you have specific questions, I would be happy to reply - suggest you get a late cab to the Ponte Milvio - it's not cheap at €16 but worth it. We went twice out of 3 nights. Absolutely jumping with under 40-year olds. Great restos and great bars - not rowdy, mostly couples, and everyone just seemed in a great mood. The restos were pretty cheap, so took the pain out of the cab fares there and back. The quality of the food we got was first rate.

Enjoy - am jealous writing this thinking you might be going and I AM BACK TO BLOODY WORK ON MONDAY!!!! haha. cheers - Paul

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Scooney1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#86 of 1,258 in Rome
436 reviews
Heart Hotel
#112 of 1,258 in Rome
456 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#186 of 1,258 in Rome
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,258 in Rome
1,145 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing