We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #175 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Mission, Kansas
1 review
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Cannot say enough great things about this hotel! After spending each day out in the touristy parts of Rome, it was great to come back to a quiet and peaceful hotel away from all the hustle and bustle. Room was very clean and elegant, breakfast delicious, and the staff very friendly.

Upon our arrival in Rome, we realized we had left one of our cameras on the train, which was bound for Florence then Milan. After several failed attempts to phone someone ourselves during our bus ride to the hotel we told Irene, the lady working the front desk, about our plight. She went above and beyond her duty to make several calls, including to the Milan train station police, who ultimately recovered our camera, which allowed us to retreive it during our already-planned stop in Milan a week later. We are so grateful to Irene at Villa Duse and everyone else who were involved to get our camera back.

If you're looking for a great hotel outside the more touristy parts of Rome, Villa Duse is the place to go!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    115
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
311
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Very nice hotel, located at a quite neighborhood in Parioli area. The room was very cosy, yet spacious. The breakfast was really good, with a great variety of home-made cakes and great coffee. The hotel staff was professional and helpful, as it should be. In a 10min walk distance, one can find several dining options. We tried a couple of restaurants and they were great.

The only downside was the transportation to the city center. The area is served by the bus route 360, whose station is 2min walk distance from the hotel. However, you will be lucky if you wait less than 15 minutes, in both directions. I would say that in a 5-days stay we waited an average of 25minutes to get towards the city centre and another 25minutes to get back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SbTravellerThes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

very beautiful boutique hotel, excellent service, very friendly and helpful staff. breakfast delicious.
some might say, it's little far out, but we enjoyed the peaceful area very much after the busy days in the center. bus stop around the corner and tram stop a 10 min walk away. taxi from the city was 10-15€ when we were lazy late at night... coffee bar and deli/bakery around the corner to get water and snacks. We'll plant one of the beautiful Corbezzolo bushes they have in our garden in sping - thank you for the gardening advice :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Given what I have heard about hotels in Rome - rooms are small and staff unfriendly - the Villa Duse must be the exception that proves the rule.

Every member of staff had a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were big and airy, bed comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. Most unusually for Rome it was also wonderfully quiet - perfect for catching up on sleep so you have the energy for the days of sightseeing.

The hotel is a little way out of the centre but a 20 minute tram ride gets you right to the Vatican and once you have worked out the buses you can get around very quickly and easily and it gives you a chance to see different parts of Rome other than the touristic centre.

The hotel also runs a brilliant shuttle service to a fantastic local restaurant, (Restaurant d'Abruzzo) that served up tasty rustic italian food in a warm and friendly atmosphere.

I cannot recommend it more highly - if you dont mind being a little further out of the centre you can''t go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Duse on our honeymoon at the height of the tourist season in July, and it was such a relief to come back to a quiet, romantic hotel and room after a busy day in the city. Of all the places we stayed on our three-week trip, this place stands out in our memory as the most fantastic. The rooms are elegant and very comfortable, the neighborhood is lovely, and above all, the service is fabulous. We received helpful tips for nearby restaurants, and one young woman at the desk even made multiple phone calls for us when we realized we had left our camera on board the train in the Rome station (!!!). Transportation is a bit inconvenient, but it's totally worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights for our 15th and can't say enough about this hotel. The rooms are large with a fully stocked (and reasonably priced) mini bar. Breakfast was included in the rate which is also a huge plus. If you happen to miss breakfast there is a cafe around the corner and a few good restaurants for dinner just a 10 minute walk away.

Other reviews indicated that the location is a bit out of the way but we found it to be perfect because the staff will call a cab for you to take you into the tourist areas. It's about 17 euros to the Vatican and about 10 euros to the main terminal. Since there isn't a "central location" in Rome this hotel is perfect because it allows you to retreat to a quiet neighborhood in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgieyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The rooms in this hotel are a very generous size, breakfast is delicious even a range of cakes! Decor is grand and bus around the corner from hotel takes you straight from the train terminal to the front of the hotel. Staff are very helpful and you must try a little restaurant around the corner called Ciccia Bomba ai Paroli Osteria via R.Fauro,2 tel 06.80692020 we ate here every night and the food was the BEST I had on our whole European holiday, it was very reasonably priced if not cheap. We ate 3 courses each and 1 Litre of wine cost AU$60, it is just a short walk from this hotel. This hotel was in a quiet peaceful location- you felt like a local. I will stay at this hotel again next time I visit Rome, highly reccommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tambyistherajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#101 of 1,256 in Rome
433 reviews
Heart Hotel
#93 of 1,256 in Rome
455 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#41 of 1,256 in Rome
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#186 of 1,256 in Rome
862 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,256 in Rome
1,129 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing