We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury boutique hotel for 3-star price”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #177 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury boutique hotel for 3-star price”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Exquisite hotel located in a well-to-do residential area, with a trendy enoteca, fabulous supermarket, and great gelateria right down the block (on Viale dei Parioli). Although we were advised to take advantage of nearby public transportation, we preferred to take a 30-minute walk through the Villa Borghese Park to reach the center.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, warmly welcoming us upon our arrival. The room was magnificently furnished, with a gilded headboard, and beautifully inlaid furniture. The carrara marble bathroom, and terry robes added to the sumptuous feeling of the beautiful accommodations.
At the entrance to the hotel, there is a lovely garden with tables, but since we stayed for only two nights, we failed to take advantage of them this time round.
Although the breakfast was designated continental, the many gorgeous homemade cakes were too tempting to resist.
Definitely the place to stay when in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieOded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    114
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
309
9
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

If you want to be close to Rome center hubbub, noise, sites, hassle and prices this is NOT the place. An oasis of calm and style and professional/friendly care is what the Duse is. It's located in an upper income, residential neighborhood and is a discrete and at the same time impressive place. Rooms are very high quality and the rates are very reasonable. Breakfast is more than adequate. Staff is superb...friendly, caring, professional, helpful...kudos to all! There are, however, limited hotel services and facilities...more the sense of a well appointed home with great hosts.

There are several good restaurants...aimed at upper income Rome families and not at tourists...about 15 minutes walk; where you eat very well and at considerably less price and hassle than Rome center areas and with a real sense of being with the locals.

The fact that the Caribinieri HQ is two blocks away also assures a real sense of safety.

The fact that most guests in our 4 days there were Italian spoke volumes as to sense of place and value. You feel more a pampered guest in a gracious place rather than a used tourist in city center hotel.

It is, however, far out. Even the walk to the Borghese is 20 minutes plus. We used cabs...and that expense was still a lot less than the cost of more central/ higher priced accomodations. Not all cab drivers know where it is, however, so be sure to have map and hotel's business card. But your stress level will go down the moment you arrive at the Duse.

Highly recommend the Duse...but understand what it is...and is not...in making your choice.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tallmantraveling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A truly beautiful hotel with enchanting rooms, a huge house in which each room has been thought about in great detail. Yes it is slightly outside the main tourist area of Rome, but there is a great bus service which basically transports you outside the front door of the hotel which you take from the main bus station, 360 to Muse. Personally having stayed right in the tourist area during my previous trip to Rome, I much preferred the quiet time in the evening and mornings at Hotel Villa Duse. The staff are extremely helpful and efficient. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Food can be arranged at night up until 10pm, we arrived late and the man on Reception swiftly sorted out seating for us in the little lounge area and a bottle of wine. There are some really lovely restaurants nearby. We tried Ambasciata d’Abbruzzo which did really good food and you could see it was popular with the locals, it also has a free shuttle service from the hotel to the restaurant.

Room Tip: I went for a Prestige Park Room, which has a private outside area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkbait77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a lovely quite place to stay, a short bus ride from the center of Rome. It is a beautifully furnished hotel and very clean and comfortable. the only downside was they didn't have a restaurant for dinner in the evening, so we ate locally on recommendation from the hotel manager, which was fine , but we would have preferred to eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val3091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights. The hotel and room were gorgeous. Breakfast was fantastic as well, with a spread of high quality cold cuts, cheese, pastries (fruit pie was very memorable), fruit salad. There was also a great dinner place a short walk away. The only downside was its a bit far from town, so we ended up taking taxi out most of the time, 10-15euros.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bendered82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

We just left Hotel Villa Duse after a 4 night stay. We were very happy to have a restful place to return to after exhausting days of touring Rome. The desk staff couldn't have been more helpful. Great directions for public transportation to get everywhere we wanted to go. They even gave us breakfast to go bags one morning we had to leave early. And the breakfast each morning was wonderful.
It is a bit far away from the major sites but area restaurants were great and very reasonably priced. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank KimandMikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hearth Hotel
#96 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#43 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#161 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing