We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, romantic with an amazing design”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #188 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Omer, HaDarom, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, romantic with an amazing design”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

we were at this hotel for 1 week and it was just a great expirience!
the hotel is decorated with a great taste, very stylish and romantic.
the staff are amazing! really nice, and whenever we needed help they did everything possible to make our wishes come true, like ordering a place in a nice restaurant or were to go and what to do..
the room facilities and bed where really clean!, the bed was AMAZING!!!

the main issue with this hotel is the distance from within the city, as we see it it has it pros and cons:
1. you need to walk about 10 minutes each day to get to the nearest bus to within the city or the vatican.
2. the bus passes there every 30 min and from the times 5:30 to 24:00 so if you want to go out later you gotta have a taxi and that's a bit prici.
3. not to many turistic places near the hotel

pros:
1. you can buy a weekly bus/tram ticket so the traveling is not that problematic.
2. usually if you are a couple who just want romance you'll be traveling the city during the day and by 23:00 you'll be beat and want to go back to the hotel..
3. the roads and houses near the hotel are just beautiful!, plus you can eat and live just were the real italian live so that's great and pretty cheap :)
4. you will not be able to get such a quiet, nice and practically beautiful 4 star hotel for an even close price within the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sahar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    117
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
316
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Villa Duse for four nights in October. It was a wonderfully relaxing experience to come "home" to every evening. The staff were extremely helpful and went above in beyond in answering our many questions, giving recommendations, calling taxis etc. Our room was very clean and comfortable - not to mention beautiful with high ceilings and lovely decor. The bathroom was surprisingly large with a tub. The hotel is located away from the city center, which was a plus for us - we felt we got a more authentic experience at the surrounding restaurants, and prices were reasonable. However, you will need to take taxis most of the time (we walked to the Spanish steps one afternoon and it took almost an hour) to see the sites. We highly recommend this hotel and would love to visit again. Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Leafy street away from busy traffic, expect a beautiful ornate room a short taxi or bus ride from the centre of Rome. Included continental breakfast was extensive and lovely. Staff always cheerful and helpful.

Helpful?
4 Thank dpwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel following a cruise for our wedding anniversary based on the positive comments on trip advisor .... We were not disappointed. We had booked the Tower Lodge as a bit of a treat and what a treat it was. Private lift to the room, terrace and a room with the most amazing vaulted ceiling, it was like staying in a romantic castle!

The hotel staff were fantastic and were able to give advise regarding travelling into the city centre. We were even given a surprise treat in our room with a note from the management for our anniversary.

Breakfast was superb as were the nearby restaurants where we could eat without paying rip off tourist prices.

As other reviewers have said the hotel in a little way out of the city in a fairly quiet, affluent superb of Rome and this suited our requirements on this occasion as we were happy to spend time in the hotel but it might not suit all. It was about a 5 minute walk to the 360 bus service which stops at Termini Railway station and about a 20 minute walk to the 52 bus or 19 tram which both pick up at Viale G Rossini, the 52 bus stopping close to the Trevi fountain and only costing €1.50 for a single journey. Travelling by bus is an experience in Rome though and the bus drivers are not the friendliest I've encountered! Still we managed to catch a bus from the centre and somehow managed to get off at the correct stop!

Also within walking distance of the hotel was the Villa Borghese which is a lovely large park with a zoo in the grounds. You can hire bikes or Segways or travel around it on a little tourist train. You can get into Rome by walking through the park which takes about 40 minutes to stroll and we ended up near the Spanish Steps, so it's well worth an afternoon if you do get fed up with Rome traffic!

We felt completely safe strolling around the vicinity even at night but that might have had something to do with the Carabinieri HQ being just down the road!

If you're looking for a romantic break in a beautiful hotel in a quite location then this hotel is for you. If you're after the hustle and bustle of a city centre hotel then perhaps it's not but you wouldn't get this kind of quality in central Rome for the same sort of money.

I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the Hotel Villa Duse.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Duse for three nights on my first trip to Italy (and Europe, for that matter). Overall, our time at Hotel Villa Duse was great. First off, a note: It is not in the city center of old Rome. But after a long day of walking, seeing the sights, and dodging other tourists that frequently forget how to walk, it is great to take a short bus ride to a quaint hotel in an actual Roman neighborhood.

If you buy the Roma Pass when you arrive in Rome, all of the public transit is included (though they don't seem to check anyway).

The rooms are clean, and the patio is a great place to enjoy a morning cappuccino or an evening glass of wine. The staff are also very helpful with directions and quite patient in listening to badly-pronounced Italian (I tried my best).

There are some good restaurants nearby on Perioli, though you'll likely have to brush up on your Italian perche non parlano inglese (you should learn some Italian anyway). We ate at La Scala, which was a huge relief after the dinner we had the first night in Rome at one of those sidewalk restaurants near the Hard Rock which tasted like microwaved nothing noodles. But, I digress.

Our room (#5) was large enough, with high ceilings and a huge window that we'd open to let in the breeze.

Summing it up - I would highly recommend the place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoosta51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Gosh, where to start! We got married in Rome on 2 Oct, so in booking our hotel many months prior to that I used Trip Advisor as my guide and we were not disappointed! It was just me and my husband-to-be travelling from Ireland to Rome and the staff at Villa Duse could not have made us feel more at home.

So friendly and warm, so excited for us on our big day. They helped make our wedding day perfect.

The hotel itself is very clean and even the Classic Room (the smallest room) has adequate space for a couple. The breakfasts as we were promised have plenty of choice.

The location, described to me by a friend as the Foxrock of Dublin, did not disappoint. It's in a quiet residential area in northern Rome, €10-15 taxi ride to the city centre but in walking distance of the main streets in Parioli where you will find ample restaurants and shops. Tram and bus services are 5-10min walk from the hotel. As another reviewer quite rightly pointed out, the extra money spent on transport is well worth it, as you would not get a hotel of this standard with this service nearer to the city for the same money. Beware, some taxi's don't know where this hotel is, so make sure to have your map (provided by the hotel) or the exact address to hand before starting your journey.

Could not recommend this hotel and it's staff, particularly the lovely Juilia, highly enough!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NiamhD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Exquisite hotel located in a well-to-do residential area, with a trendy enoteca, fabulous supermarket, and great gelateria right down the block (on Viale dei Parioli). Although we were advised to take advantage of nearby public transportation, we preferred to take a 30-minute walk through the Villa Borghese Park to reach the center.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, warmly welcoming us upon our arrival. The room was magnificently furnished, with a gilded headboard, and beautifully inlaid furniture. The carrara marble bathroom, and terry robes added to the sumptuous feeling of the beautiful accommodations.
At the entrance to the hotel, there is a lovely garden with tables, but since we stayed for only two nights, we failed to take advantage of them this time round.
Although the breakfast was designated continental, the many gorgeous homemade cakes were too tempting to resist.
Definitely the place to stay when in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieOded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#91 of 1,261 in Rome
441 reviews
Heart Hotel
#98 of 1,261 in Rome
460 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#189 of 1,261 in Rome
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Roma Boutique Hotel
Roma Boutique Hotel
#223 of 1,261 in Rome
629 reviews
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#307 of 1,261 in Rome
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing