We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary visit to Rome”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #169 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary visit to Rome”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor and would stay here again if I returned to Rome. The rooms, breakfast, and service were all excellent. The location is un an exclusive suburb of the city and although it is a 10 to 15 euro taxi ride to the city centre it provides a peaceful oasis in the mornings and after a long days walking round the eternal city.This hotel is quality and special mention goes to the girls on the reception desk who always had genuine warm smiles to greet us and were very helpful when it came to helping with my search for football tickets! We are moderately well travelled....this place is a gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duseduse, Direttore at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear guest,

we sincerely want to thank you for your lovely comment and for sharing your experience here at Villa Duse with the Trip Advisor community.

We thank you on behalf of all the staff which had the immense pleasure to assist you during your stay in Rome.

With the hope to welcome you back at your next visit to the Eternal City.
Warm regards.
Rosaria Mastroianni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    115
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
313
9
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Our first visit to Rome and we booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. I was a little bit worried about the distance as mentioned by other travellers, but now after having spent a few days in Rome I realise it is probably not possible to stay anywhere and not have to use public transport to see all the sights. Transport is relatively cheap and reliable and you can get to all the main areas easily from the hotel so don't let this put you off. The walk into town is a trek but quite pleasant through the Villa Borghese , but you have to remember that Parioli is quite high up so walking back is going to be a bit of a strain! On the days we planned to spend the evening in Rome we made our way back to the hotel about 5 for a rest and then ventured out again about 7 using the 360 bus- yes it was tiring but then Rome is!
The hotel was exceptionally clean, the breakfast choices were more than adequate, and the service was excellent but discreet at all times. Our room had a private garden which was a lovely addition.
We dined one evening at a restaurant round the corner called 'Small', - I don't think they have a website- but do give it a go. The hospitality was excellent and all the food was home made and of a good standard.
Overall a lovely stay and we would def return - recommended for a quiet break.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an outdoor space. Very quiet area so no need to worry about outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Villa Duse. The hotel is in a quiet location which means it is very quiet at night ensuring a good night's sleep. The reception staff were always very friendly and greeted you each day with a smile. We stayed in room 6 which had more than enough space and the bathroom was spacious. I do have to agree with previous reviews on the locality of the hotel. It was our first visit to Rome so we were unsure about where to stay. Whilst it was lovely to return to a relaxing neighbourhood after the hustle and bustle of the city, it did mean that you couldn't just pop back to freshen up before returning to the city in the evening. We did start using cabs but found these to be very expensive. We usually walked to or from the city once a day which was very pleasant through the park. We also used the tram 19 which goes to the Vatican - from there you can walk to most of the main sites. We ate three times at Taverna Rossini which was a 10-15 min walk away. The food was good and relatively good value for money. During the day we headed for the Travestere district where you can find pizza for 3 euros!! We did eat at Roma Sparita one lunchtime which was recommended in an article in the Guardian - more expensive than 3 euros but well worth the money. We took a tour of the Collesseum with Angel Tours which was very good (our guide recommended that you should never spend more than 6 euros on a margaretta pizza!!) we also did an early morning tour of the vatican which was brilliant. Della Palma near to the Pantheon is a fantastic place for gelato with 150 flavours (there is also a very clean toilet there!). We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

It is a bus ride away from the city but well worth it. In a lovely quiet neighbourhood. We had a room with a private garden with was so worth the extra as it was great for down time per dinner drinks.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicehargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Villa Duse is a lovely hotel in the Northern part of the city near the Villa Borghese. We were made to feel very welcome and there was always a smile and a greeting from the wonderful staff at Reception.
Breakfast was very good, a relatively small but perfectly adequate selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit, quiche, cake, croissants, ham salami and cheese.. never went hungry, and it was open from 7.30-10.30 allowing a bit of sleeping in..
Free wifi also made a great impression, very nice not to be charged for what many bigger hotels consider a luxury extra..
My only small reservations were as follows:
That the room we were in (Room 1, with a private terrace outside which must be wonderful in the summer!) was extremely warm and the air-conditioning didn't seem to be working (I also found in Athens at a similar time of year that the hotel I'd stayed in didn't consider it warm enough to have the zircon operating even though the rooms were stiflingly hot!) which was a shame since I was mostly too warm to sleep properly and opening the door to the terrace might have encouraged any passing wildlife to pay us a nocturnal visit..
And that the hotel is not very central and it took a little while to get into the City centre - a very small thing since it was so quiet in the hotel, no traffic noise and no noise from passing tourists either which certainly made up for the journey.
Since we didn't need to leave for our flight until a few hours after check-out time, the hotel allowed us to leave our luggage with them to pick up after we'd done some more sightseeing.
On the whole a great experience staying there and I would certainly recommend it to anyone that doesn't mind a bus/tram/metro ride into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danliszt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We came to Rome to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. Villa Duse came out well in the reviews and I'm glad we stayed here.

The hotel itself is very elegant and the setting is just away from the busyness of Central Rome. However, that can be a bit of a down side too. Whilst the public transport in Rome is very good, changing a bus stops for connecting routes can be problematic - particularly in the evening. A couple of times we simply ended up getting a cab back. Whilst we tried to use the buses and trams, its not particularly clear where the stops are and this hotel is just that little bit too far away.

That said, it is a minor downside for me. I am a light sleeper and at night it is very quiet.

In the evening the room did get warm but it was quiet enough to open the window and not be disturbed at all.

We found the breakfast really good - especially the great coffee.

The staff were friendly but, on occasion, not easy to find on the phone so I ended up going down to reception.

Don't hesitate in staying here though if you are coming as a couple. If we could give it 4.5/5 we would as our points above are minor and the location point is specific to our stay and may be to your liking. We would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite - really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelimepickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Hotel Villa Duse was an amazing choice for our stay in Rome! The room was fantastic. The staff was always friendly, courteous and we felt like they genuinely cared about us. The breakfast was good (though it did get a little old having the same thing--cakes and sweets--every single day), but they allowed us to take food with us for other meals. We purchased some flowers for our room and they gave us a vase. Every time we left the hotel we were greeted and asked if there was anything that they could do for us. We would update them on places we were going to go and they suggested local cafes and inexpensive restaurants. When we left the room late in the day they would still send the maid to pick up our room and it was always clean. We opted for a room with a patio/balcony. We weren't able to use it much because of inclimate weather, but the times we did, we quite enjoyed it. They made our honeymoon very special and will stay there again if we return to Rome.

Room Tip: The balcony/patio are only on the ground floor. We would recommend only booking these rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#86 of 1,258 in Rome
436 reviews
Heart Hotel
#112 of 1,258 in Rome
456 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#186 of 1,258 in Rome
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,258 in Rome
1,145 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing