We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trade off!!”
Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #179 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This is certainly a super value for money hotel in quiet residential area. We stayed in the tower which was perfect with own terrace which unfortunately we did not have time or weather to use. So peaceful at night and if you close the electric blinds you forget to wake up. Good continental breakfast with everything you would expect. The trade off of the peace and value is the cost to get into the centre which if you use taxis averaged 15 euros which if you go site seeing during the day then back again for the evening starts to add up. Although there are restaurants within 10 mins walk if you are happy to stay local at night. Would use again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sh1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Duse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

I cannot even begin to describe this beautiful villa in the Parioli section of Italy. I read every review before booking this "five star hotel" and knew it was a little walking distance to the bus and to other forms of transportation. I want to encourage you to book here if you are not afraid of walking. We would walk down to the Spanish steps every day. We took the route that brought us past all the leather shops and then headed down the Spanish Steps. The receptionist at the front desk of the Villa Duse was more than helpful in providing us with maps and suggestions. We even walked to the Vatican. Now some of you may not be up to that much walking, but you can always grab a taxi that will provide adequate transportation for a minimum amount. I would also suggest contacting the hotel before flying into Rome so they can suggest their service to pick you up from the airport. We used this service to take us back to the airport, but wished we had known about the service when we flew in. It will cost you some money, but either way you are paying for the fare, and the service the hotel recommends is a much better service. We also booked a room that had a private terrace - worth the extra amount of money. After a long day of sightseeing, we could come back to the villa and use the terrace every afternoon. Their breakfast is delicious and all the pastries are worth sampling - especially is you are walking so much everyday to burn off the extra calories. We plan to come back again and even ask for the same room we had this time. There is nothing lacking in this hotel and you will not be disappointed at all.

Room Tip: We booked the first room by the reception area. We had our own private garden terrace and their wer...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bevlo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Rome. The suburb is very leafy and it is a short ten minute walk to the nearest piazza for the choice of great restaurants. The rooms are adequate, the ambience of the hotel is lovely, drinks in the garden. The standouts though are the staff - morning and evening staff. Ever so helpful, even rustled up a knockup lasagne at short notice when we arrived home late.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is set in a leafy suburban street 10 minutes walk to some awesome restaurants. The staff was so helpful bringing our drinks out in the evening while we're sitting in the lovely jasmine scented garden sipping red wine and beer perfect relax to the end of a busy day seeing the Colosseum and the Vatican would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hoel is in a suburban area just outside the city centre. Very nice building/decor and quiet area. My husband and I stayed the weekend in the tower lodge and it was lovely! I was surprised with a bouqet of red roses that my husband arranged with the very kind and very friendly receptionist. The room was comfortable and very nice. Good facilities. We took taxis to and from the city centre apart from the time we walked to Villa Borghese which takes just over 10 minutes. The receptionist does provide you with information on buses and other means of public transport along with a map. We didn't really mind the non-central location as we enjoyed starting and ending our days in this peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Breakfast was more than adequate with choices of cereal, fruit, yogurt, cakes, muffins, cheese, bread and boiled eggs. We had our breakfast on our private terrace one morning which was really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamees89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Ditto the other fabulous reviews of the splendid accomodations and service! My wife and I just spent 4 nights in the elevator-accessed Tower Lodge and were thoroughly pleased with all aspects of this hotel from location, decor, friendly and accomodating service, to the good breakfast assortment.
What made it so special is the peace and quiet it offers after being herded through the Sistine Chapel, nearly trampled at the Trevi Fountain, elbowed inside the Pantheon, and panhandled at the Coliseum. The easy bus/tram connections provide a total escape to tranquility where the only annoying (not really) sounds you hear are the seagulls and other birds floating past and perched on rooftops. It's hard to believe you're in Rome.
This may not appeal to many, but after numerous great dinners in Piemonte, Tuscany and Umbria, my wife and I decided to enjoy our private rooftop terrace for candlelit dinners. Within a 10 minute walk is a Doc supermarket at Viale Parioli 5 where you can buy great cheeses, bread, prepared salads (arugala, mixed greens, carrots, zuchinni), olive oil, lemons, prepared seafood salads (octopus, squid, mussels, shrimp), prepared vitello tonnato (my favorite) and fantastic wines (Barolas, Brunellos, Amarones, etc.) for great prices. The setting is ideal if you're a romantic and a foodie.
Even if you're not, don't miss Hotel Villa Duse!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank finder45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Hotel Villa Duse is situated in a stylish large villa on the outskirts of the city center. The building is very well maintained and has a lot of class. The environment is quiet, which can be nice in a busy city. But since the hotel is noit in the center you will have to take a taxi, public transportation or rent a car if you wish to visit the old city.
The staff is very professional, the reception excellent. Rooms are not gigantic, but large enough and very nicely decorated. The beds are very good, very good TV and choice of many channels, bathroom with shower excellent, complete minibar.
Breakfast is complete, but not masses of choice. Eggs are at an extra cost.
There is no restaurant in the hotel.
All in all a very good experience !

Room Tip: the top floor is of course very nice !
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller123Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Villa Pirandello
#91 of 1,267 in Rome
441 reviews
Heart Hotel
#113 of 1,267 in Rome
461 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,267 in Rome
1,163 reviews
Relais 6
#35 of 1,267 in Rome
1,890 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £84 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing