We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Duse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Duse
Ranked #205 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I had such a lovely stay at Hotel Villa Duse! It is a former home that was transformed into a hotel. We were fortunate enough to stay in the top floor room, which has an amazing private balcony attached. The balcony was a perfect place to enjoy breakfast in the morning and wine in the evening. And it's off the beaten path of the craziness of the middle of Rome, but walking distance to Borghese Gallery. The hotel staff are extremely helpful as well. The only drawback to the location is that the cabbies have a hard time finding the place! But it's well worth it. We will stay here again on our next visit to Rome!

Room Tip: Stay in room 16! Attached private top floor balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Feed back like yours are always a great satisfaction for me and all the staff. We are extremely glad to read that your stay at the Hotel Villa Duse was so amazing. Your fully detailed and charming comments about the room, the location and specially about our staff could have not been better and we really appreciated your high consideration about us.

It will be an honor and an extreme pleasure for all of us to welcoming you again at the Hotel Villa Duse.

With our warmest regards,

Maria Rosaria Mastroianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    112
    19
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
305
9
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Camberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had some absolutely fantastic days in this nice, little hotel. Of course the hotel is not in the centre of Rome but it was so relaxing to come back after a loud and crowded day in the middle of Rome. The staff is always very friendly and extremly helpful. We definitely would come back if we go to Rome again!
Easy to reach by bus within 10 minutes or by taxi for approximately 10-15€.

Room Tip: We had a room with own garden - that was absolutely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatjana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

It is so nice to read such lovely words from you!
All the staff told me how kind you have been for all your staying at Villa Duse and I am happy to hear that your experience with us was an unforgettable one!

I really hope to welcome you again in Rome!

Kindest Regards,

Maria Rosaria Mastroianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Hotel Villa Duse is a wonderful place to stay when in Rome. The hotel has a lovely setting and decor, with very efficient and attentive staff. The atmosphere is very relaxing and chilled out. The hotel is positioned conveniently to catch tram number 19 or bus number 360 into the city centre. We had four fantastic days in Rome, and had a room with its own garden terrace, which is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I'm delighted to know that your stay with us was just great and meet you expectations. This lovely words make me and my staff work with passion every day and strive to give the best service.

I really hope to see you again at Villa Duse.

Sincerely,
Maria Rosaria Mastroianni,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at this boutique hotel in May. The reception staff were very good, friendly, very helpful and efficient. The room was compact but very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet was good but the service a little slow. The gardens are lovely to sit in and very peaceful. They made a refreshing change from the city centre! The only down side is the distance to the main attractions in the city- this became quite tedious using public transport as the weekend buses were irregular and it was a 5-10 min walk to the tram. This wouldn't matter except if you spent all day walking round Rome ... Other reviews imply it is next to the park but in fact it is at least 10 min walk beyond the park. I would highly recommend the hotel but not sure the extra distance makes it worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Rosaria M, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mrs Helen,

First of all we would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad to read you have been satisfied about our reception staff, the room furniture and cleanliness.

Regarding your comments about breakfast service a bit slow, we understand your point of view and we are working on it to improve it as much as we can. Unfortunately it may happens as during your stay that our barmaid receive some room service request at the same time, that's why she got slowed.

It is true that our location is not on the center of Rome, but it is also as you kindly have described it, the reason why you can enjoy lovely gardens in a very peaceful atmosphere, away from city noise.

Not much to say on your remark about public transportation, that is effectively a bit irregular. It is a shame you did not let us know about your worry on spending too much time walking or waiting for the bus because in that case our staff is always at disposal to help you out finding a solution.

During summer time and specially for week end, we receive many scooter or vespa rental request from our guests, just because it is really quick and convenient as you don't need to worry about parking but also because it creates a charming atmosphere and a touch of "dolce vita" to your holidays.

Myself and all the staff will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Villa Duse.

With our warmest regards,

Maria Rosaria Mastroianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel where the the staff and service were fantastic! As other reviewers have said, it is not a city centre hotel but that is one of the reasons we chose to stay here! After a busy day in a very hectic city it was sheer bliss to return to a place where you could listen to the birds singing whilst enjoying a glass of wine on the terrace! We part walked/taxid to the city centre rather than brave public transport! The hotel is beautiful, clean and comfortable and the breakfast was more than adequate for us. We would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duseduse, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guests,

I'm glad to know that your stay in our Villa was just wonderful and relaxing as you described it! We are very proud to hear that we made your stay so enjoyable! All our staff will be more than happy to welcome you again!

Kindest Regards
Maria Rosaria Mastroianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and i have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and could not fault it. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. I would say the location is perhaps not ideal if you want to be is the centre. however, we have been to Rome many times and it suited us to have a quiet district to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duseduse, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Duse, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear guest,

I am so glad to hear that your staying at Villa Duse was an enjoyable one and all the staff thank you for the very nice review!
We really hope to welcome you again in Rome,

Best Regards,
Maria Rosaria Mastroianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The very best thing I can say about the hotel Villa Duse my great pleasure every time I had dealings with each member of the staff. As I was treating several friends for their birthdays, I booked well in advance. As the time grew closer, I double checked, more than once, to confirm. Every time I called my questions and requests were treated with utmost courtesy. When we arrived, when we needed a cab to get to our dinner reservation, and certainly when we checked out each staff member at the front desk did all that was possible to meet our not inconsiderable needs. The lovely young woman at check out was outstanding.

Villa Duse was once a private home, and I certainly felt as if I were a guest in that long past era. When we left, I received a e-mail indicating that something was left in our room. Once again, the courtesy and consideration offered, seeing to it that what was left would be returned in the manner that I preferred, indicates the simultaneous warmth and class of the employees.

The Parioli section of Rome is certainly a place one might dream of living. Here, there is a sense of gracious elegance and comfort. As we had spent this vacation in another part of Italy, and only stayed the one night before heading to the airport, I look forward to returning and digesting the pleasures of this neighborhood and the comforts of the Villa Duse.

I might add that because our stay was so brief, we only had the following morning to enjoy breakfast. It most certainly did not disappoint. As they say in Italy, alls prossima.

Room Tip: Enjoy the photos, they are true. Rooms are spacious compared to others closed to the center of Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hearth Hotel
#100 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#47 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#157 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Relais 6
#32 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#95 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Duse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Duse

Property: Hotel Villa Duse
Address: Via Alamanno Morelli 1 | Parioli area, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Duse 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the cosmopolitan atmosphere of the Eternal City and finally retire in the quietness of Villa Duse, one of the most exclusive Roman houses, the perfect place for a happy landing. Claiming its uniqueness, Villa Duse will wrap you in an environment which exudes discretion, quality and style, and will give you the feeling of an increasing comfort, relax and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Duse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing