We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good We Went Back !”

Trattoria Al Gran Sasso
Reserve with
Trattoria Al Gran Sasso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,358 of 12,438 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“So Good We Went Back !”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Located about one hundred metres from the Piazza di Popolo, this was one of several restaurants recommended to us by our apartment owner. We found it to be a popular and bustling restaurant that offered authentic fresh & home cooked italian food and excellent service. We had the classic bruschetta as a starter and it was so good we found the mains (spring lamb & suckling pig) almost too much to finish. As we had such a good evening we returned a few days later but found that it lacked a little in comparison but only in terms of variety. This we think was due to the fact that being a Saturday night and the place being closed on Sunday, the menu was limited to what was on the blackboard with the formal menu not being available. It was clearly a place frequented by local people and was not one of the many 'tourist-traps' that abound in and around Rome. We hope to stay in the same area of the city again and if we do we would certainly make this one of our eating destinations again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LES N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    171
    63
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I see there are so many restaurants in Italy! Why your restaurant does not extend ad! there is little waste! .. The food is great! I enjoyed the restaurant's dishes! Italian style service! I will introduce the restaurant to others!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Great food, home made, delicious!
We recommend carcioffi fritti, but everything we tried was delicious. Even simple lasagne for kids with great bechamel sauce!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula201475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing little restaurant!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We loved this little restaurant! The staff are extremely friendly and the food delicious! We spent € 60 on 2 starters, 2 mains, a dessert and a bottle of wine, good price for the grey quality of food.

I think the really nice thing about this little restaurant is the fact that they don't play music, in other restaurants around we have found that the music is played too loud to have a nice and relaxed meal.

We'll be back here, next time we're in Rome

Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skærbæk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good that we found it”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

First night in Rome, found this little restaurant which we thought will having typical local food. It turns to be a great first night dinner. Good starter with Bruschetta, my wife ordered Pasta Amatriciana, and I ordered the ox (beef??) tail with tomato sauce which was recomended by the waitress. All good.. Ah, forget one thing. The waitress was also put bread (we didn't order it) on the table which we didn't touch.. Asked for the bill, all good and reasonable but turns out the bread was included in the bill :)

Helpful?
Thank RedrockJunction
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Al Gran Sasso also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Al Gran Sasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing