We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fontanella=love!”

La Fontanella Borghese
Ranked #9,036 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Campo Marzio
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Fontanella=love!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

the most delicious spaghetti with truffles! Also had a delicious appetizer of prosciutto and cantaloupe, soooo fresh! And had an appetizer of fried shrimp in a mozzarella cheese....so good!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    4
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very good food.”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

You will enjoy this without the busyness of everyone rushing around you. Food was great. Drinks as you desire. Espresso is amazing as well as the cappocino!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnRM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice food, quiet and unpretensious place”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Yes, Virginia, you can go home!. Returned to La Fontanella after an 18 year absence and while it now it is owned by Bruno, the food and the atmpsphere is as good as we remember. Had a great lunch there under Bruno's tutelage. We hope we do not have to wait another 18 years to go back. Try it, uncomplicated food prepared to perfection, you'll like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mayansun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A restaurant for people who know food”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Bruno and his son know food! My husband struck up a conversation about Abruzzo peppers (for pepperoncini) with Bruno the first time we ate there. Bruno knew the regional differences - and the next day had some for my husband. How thoughtful - and that was just the beginning.....

The menu is varied so that you can eat there several days in a row (as we did) and find something new each time! The food and the presentation of the food is superb. The ingredients are fresh and local. The mozzarella in carrozza is a "must have" item. The house wine is splendid. The portions are sufficient for teenage boys. Their attention to customers is unparalled! They are gracious and accomodating hosts. We will rave about this restaurant for years and recommend it to everyone we know.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

While strolling through the neighborhood, we noticed this charming restaurant and decided to give it a try. We were promptly seated at an outside table which provided a glimpse into daily Roma life. Our waiter was attentive and friendly; anything we asked for was quickly delivered.

By far, this was our best dinner in Rome. We were looking for authentic Italian food and were not disappointed. The owner personally came to our table and made specific recommendations; everything was delicious. Hubby & I split a delicious bottle of red while our girls enjoyed local sodas. The calamari was the best I have had.

Don't miss the interior where a beautiful mosaic wall awaits. My husband, two young daughters & I were throughly entertained by the locale, the owner & the waitstaff. Thanks for making this such a memorable dinner for our last night in Rome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Fontanella Borghese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing