We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best carbonara in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria da Danilo

Trattoria da Danilo
Ranked #2,140 of 12,046 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: US$25 - US$70
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Fiano Romano, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best carbonara in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I live here in Rome and I go to this restaurant at least twice a month.
I come here to enjoy the best carbonara in the world, it is cooked perfectly, juicy and the pasta is home made.
Desserts are great as well, especially the sbriciolata with melted chocolate on top.
Staff is friendly!
Go!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Filcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    275
    95
    64
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The staff at the Napoleon Hotel recommended this traditional trattoria during our stay in Rome. The waiter was helpful with the menu and answered our questions. For an appetizer I ordered the buffalo mozzarella with anchovies which was very good. We drank house wine had a chocolate mousse for dessert. Overall, a good experience for our first dinner in Rome.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Went Three Times in a Week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent, you should get the entire appetizer platter. Pasta was great as was the specials. I had steak once and that was a mistake.

Let them choose the wine, they know what they are doing.

But what makes the restaurant special is the staff. From Mamma on down they all friendly and helpful. A special shout out to Andrea (sp)
our waiter who made every visit enjoyable and
delicous.

Make a reservation, do not wear shorts and you will have a great time.

Helpful?
Thank Straighttime55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
“Authentic Italian food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Recommended to us by staff at Hotel Rex for our last meal in Roma. Great Italian food homemade with mama in the back. We had great service by Andrea. Atmosphere was like being in an Italian home. Everything was excellent and would recommend this restaurant to anyone staying close to the Roma Termini station.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valpis4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were recommended via the concierge at Hotel Napoleon close by and was not disapointed
in his choice. Quite small Trattoria but go downstairs and there is more seating has some brilliant fish Pasta dish a starter of melon and parma ham wine and desert all for 60 euro.
Eating next to locals and French people so obviously must be good, good service, good Roman food, good wine good price!
what more do you want.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Trattoria da Danilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing