We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely YES!”

Driver Guide Service
Ranked #9 of 764 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO ITALY !Customized Tours shows you The Eternal City Of Rome like no one else. Our tours highlight the very best of Italy , We Cotumaze Tours Show you the Enternal City of Rome , Vatican museum , Florence , Naples , Amalfi Coast & Golf Cart Tours in Rome . Delicious wine tastings at select boutique wineries, factory tours and much more. With 20-plus years in the business, we know just which world class spots to show you for maximum enjoyment. Our enthusiastic guides are local experts who will delight you with their wit and knowledge. And no matter which of our affordable tours you choose, you’ll have plenty of time to ask questions, explore and even do a little shopping.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Ivano is amazing, he made our day in Rome incrediable. He is funny, knowledgable and has a passion for what he does and it shows. Also, the other tours he set up with other agents were great!

Dont have any hesitation, you won't be disappointed. Thank you Ivano!!
Lisa and Jay
Lake Worth, FL

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank justkayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,529
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our family of 6 took a tour with Joseph, one of the guides at DGS. Similar to a lot of other people on this website, we had an incredible experience. Joseph had so many resources and knew so much about the sites we saw, he showed us all the must-sees and some few well-kept secrets as well! Three of the most special places we saw had all of two or three people visiting them, which was a far cry from the rest of our vacation. We were on a cruise that docked in Civitavecchia, so it was nice to have a guide who was so time conscientious, knew his way around, and we saved half of our day taking the special entrance at the Colisseum,

The van was very comfortable, and he had a cooler full of water for us throughout the day which was so nice! Much appreciated since our entire trip was HOT. By far the best tour any of our family had ever gone on. Thank you DGS!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Briana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rome as a VIP!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We just returned from a cruise on Norwegian Epic. It was port intensive with three ports alone in Italy near Naples, Rome and Florence. My wife had discovered DGS Driver Guide Service and we booked three separate day trips with a van and guide. The pricing was competitive and reasonable. We had two families, with three boys ages 16,17 and 19, for a total of seven people. I think the vans seat eight. Each guide was great and I know we could not have seen even a small fraction of what we saw without them. The guides knew everything about their respective areas like the back of their hands and got us into every site like a VIP. Whether it was paying for tickets in advance, pick up and drop off at the curb or cutting to the shortest lines, it was all seamless. There was no way we would have even gotten to one site in Rome, let alone from The Coliseum to the Vatican to Pompeii, without them. The guides were all great and treated us like visiting family that they were showing around. Yet they gave us our space to tour and eat. The meal on the Amalfi coast at Positano was a highlight. Our guide, Evo, took us to a beautiful restaurant overlooking the sea for a magnificent lunch. In Rome, Ivano impossibly snaked his way through city traffic and kept us on time so that we saw all the sights one has to see in Rome. We even had a separate certified guide for our Vatican tour who held a PHD in Art History, although I doubt anyone knows more about his hometown of Rome than Ivano. In Tuscany, Giorgio continued the great trip. All the guides drove Mercedes vans that were spotless, spoke English and were down to earth. They were easy to talk to about their country and any topics of interest. All of which made for a very memorable trip. I cannot imagine doing it again any other way. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank johnesq40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Il migliore di sempre - BRAVISSIMO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

There were seven of us (4 adults, 3 teenagers) from a cruise ship who enjoyed the fortunate experience of touring bellissimo Italy with Evo (Napoli and the Amalfi Coast), Ivano (Rome), and Giorgio (Pisa and Firenze).

Our first day with Evo began with a trip past Vesuvius, and included a breath-taking trip to the Amalfi Coast. We spent a good portion of the day there before heading to lunch at a terrific trattoria on the side of a mountain in Pisitano. The food was excellent, the spot was amazing, and our hosts could not have been more gracious. Even better, Evo made all of the arrangments for us. Then it was on to Pompeii where once again Evo set us up with a professional and extremely knowledgeable tour guide of the ruins. A simply amazing day to begin our journey.

Day two was with Ivano, and like Evo, Ivano greeted us immediately as we disembarked the ship. The pace of day two was a bit faster, but necessarily so. Ivano knew exactly where to take us, how to get us there, and here is the best part, he was able to arrange for us to skip long lines and pretty much walk into each site like rock stars. Our first stop was the Roman Colosseum. Following Ivano's instructions we entered without waiting (there had to be at least an hour and half queue to get in). Along the way to each site Ivano used his iPad to illustrate what we were going to see and to share information about the history we were about to experience. We visited the Trevi Fountain, the Circus Maximus, the Pantheon, Piazza del Campidoglio, and of course The Vatican and St. Peter's Basilica. I know I am leaving something out, but even with the busy schedule we were able to see and enjoy everything we did on our stop in Rome. Ivano was absolutely bravissimo!!!

Day three was enjoyed with Giorgio up in Pisa and Firenze. Once again we were greeted on time upon arrival. We first stopped at Pisa (which was short since there is the tower, a small shopping experience, and not a ton else to see) and then on through Tuscany to Firenze. Giorgio also made arrangements for us to have lunch and made time for some shopping and site seeing in the city. Another great day for sure.

Drivers Guide Service is staffed by professionals who are passionate about their role in making sure that each visitor to the wonderful country of Italy enjoys their stay. Had we used another company I am not sure we would have had as much fun, and the fact that each day resulted in memories that will last a lifetime for each of us is testament to the outstanding service, attention to detail, and historical knowledge that Evo, Ivano, and Giorgio share with their guests.

Il migliore di sempre! Bravissimo!!!

John, Rosanne, and Chris (USA)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best tour ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Ivano picked us up at the port and we had 8 hours to see Rome...lots to see in a short period of time. He showed us more of Rome in 8 hours than what I saw 10 years ago in 3 days! We enjoyed Ivano's enthusiasm and love for Roman history...his iPad came in handy! My husband doesn't care for traveling but after our day with Ivano...my husband wants to return for more! This is an awesome reflection of Ivano's skill as a guide...if my husband wants to return...it's a damn good sign of a great service! Thank you DGS and Ivano for a wonderful visit, one of the best days of our cruise!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CathyO959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driver Guide Service also viewed

 

Been to Driver Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing