We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heavy on persuasion” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Frusta Ristorante

La Frusta Ristorante
Reserve with
La Frusta Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,808 of 12,045 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“heavy on persuasion”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Six foreigners, first night in Rome and it looked like a nice place; then we went to order.
The waiter tried very hard to persuade us to have their set menu at 30 euros each, but we ordered what we wanted to his obvious dissatisfaction. When we did order, we were told that this would not suit the kitchen staff, because we had mainly ordered differently. ( How sad for them).
The wine came and one of our party also had the added extra of a finger nail floating in the glass, presumably in the glass beforehand. This matter was resolved by an unconcerned waiter who did bring a fresh glass but did not compensate by bringing a complimentary bottle, as he first promised.
Believe me, your stay would be far better if you give this place a wide berth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    19
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great night1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Wonderful eatery by our hotel Michaelangelo and walking distance to/from Vatican City.
We arrived for an early dinner and since the restaurant was slow (it was later packed)
the chef offered a tasting menu. We were treated to a variety of very good pastas, meat dishes, salad and desert. The very good house wine flowed. You cant go wrong at 25Euro/person.
It was a great start to our holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimnsyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Try the tasting menu and bring a big appetite. The food just kept on coming. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed this restaurant so much that we ate their several times. great value for your money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
222 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Culinary tipi a romana ( roman dishes)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Via S. Maria alle Fornaci, 8/a. Tel: 06 634994 It is 5 mins from the Vatican, on the left side. The friendly waiter speaks English. The dishes change often according to the catch and the season. The prices are fairly reasonable, if you go there a second time, you are a regular customer already. No store bought pasta , all made by the chef. Most clients are regulars, as we have become. It is away from the horde of tourists and dishes are more authentic

Mimi g.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Ok but watch out...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

This restaurant and the more popular I Quattro Mori next door have a special set menu they try to push on tourists. And it is pricey, and not written down so you get a surprise wih the bill. If you ask properly at La Frusta you will get the ordinary menu and it is not all that bad. I would avoid I Quattro Mori. At this stage they have taken us as locals but would only give us the ordinary menu if we would eat inside, so we left and went to La Frusta.

At La Frusta, The antipasti is reasonable and the saltimbocca was fine. Dinner last night for two, inc beer and wine and dessert came to €70, lunch for two today €47.

Helpful?
3 Thank LOGITRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Frusta Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to La Frusta Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing