We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suore Del Preziosissimo Sangue
Ranked #1,571 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Caserta, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Rome”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I went for a weekend to Rome from 31 May and would like to thank all the staff (reception and dining hall) and Suor Ellena at the Suore del Preziosissimo Sangue in Rome. A gem in the middle of a busy city and 10 mins walk from the Vatican. The room was modern, immaculate, spacious and very quiet. The bathroom was clean and the beds very comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with juice, cereals, cornetti and hot drinks. To top it off, the hotel has a beautiful chapel. I will definitely return to this convent on my future stays in Rome. Congratulations and thank you to everyone for making our stay a wonderful first time experience in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emanuela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
13
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three days at the end of April after disembarking from a cruise. One of the reasons we chose this hotel, besides its proximity to the Vatican, was because of its proximity to the St. Pietro Stazzione, affording us a direct train link from the Civitavecchia cruise port. (That worked fine, incidentally, but if you're coming in that way, treat yourself to a cab from the St. Pietro Station on that first trip because it's all uphill to the hotel, and sidewalks as we know them are rare.)

That said, I won't rehash what's already been reported about the hotel in earlier reviews, but will confirm that it's still just as clean, quiet and comfortable as ever. What I will add is the fact that wi-fi is free in the lobby area and the signal is excellent. (The signal was also great in Room 101, where we stayed, and we appreciated this a lot.) Also, all we had to do is ask for them, and we got a TV remote as well as a hair dryer for our room for the the duration of our stay. When we left, they arranged for a cab (35 euros) to get to Fiumicino.

Location. This was our fifth rip to Roma, and we came to appreciate being on "the quiet side" of the Vatican. From the hotel it's no more than a 12-15 minute walk into St. Peter's Square or (via another route) the Vatican Museum (all downhill). It was easy walking everywhere from the hotel, but if you choose, there's a bus stop (#46 and #49) almost directly in front of the hotel, and a Metro stop no more than 10 minutes away as well. Just before entering St. Peter's Square, are several good restaurants, bistros and shops, and we ate in a few of them on our way back to the hotel each evening. (That walk up the hill was usually needed after a great meal.)

The hotel takes VISA and MC.

Room Tip: Room 101 will yield a good wi-fi signal from their location (vs. having to go to the lobby to connec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTK1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here for four nights in mid march, the convent is about twenty minutes' walk from St Peter's square although the area is not particularly pedestrian friendly and might be hard-going for those with baby buggies or walking difficulties. That said, however, this was a quiet and comfortable stay. The staff were polite and helpful and did their best to quickly sort out minor problems with the room. Everything was spotlessly clean and breakfast was basic but plentiful. Rooms were quiet and well heated with clean, modern bathrooms, although perhaps a little plain. The beds were on the firm side and there were no tea or coffee facilities except for a vending machine in the lobby selling a few basic snacks. I had no difficulties in paying using a standard visa credit card. I would recommend this convent for anyone looking for a quiet, no frills, reasonably priced stay on the Vatican side of the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were at Suore del Preziosissimo Sangue in Rome on June the 10th, and June the 22nd through June the 25th, 2012. We had a very good experience and enjoyed our stay very much. We have heard of this place on TV (Radio Canada) and decided to give it a try. It was a very enjoyable experience. We were within 1 km. from the Vatican. The bus is a very short distance from the building. We were greeted by Paola at the reception and she gave us all the information needed for the different sites to visit in Rome. The rooms are slightly small but I guess these are the European standard. They are simply and nicely decorated and you do not miss anything. The bathrooms are very nice. In the morning we had the breakfast at the refectory. Everything and everywhere in the building is very very clean, spotless. The sisters are very discrete and very nice and helpful. It is an excellent value for a Roman stay. There is a curfew at 11 or midnight but after visiting all day, we were there before the curfew and enjoyed the peaceful environment. They have a very good independant taxi service.
The value is excellent and it's a very safe neighbourhood.
We had a very good and enjoyable stay and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed in two rooms at the Casa per Ferie Suore del Preziosissimo Sangue in the area near the Vatican in Rome. We stayed for seven days. Our rooms were 102 AND 103. In Europe the first floor would be the second fllor in the US. The ground level floor is considered the zero floor.
This was our fifth trip to Rome. With the U.S. dollar being weak against the Euro, we decided to try staying in a convent instead of a hotel this trip to save some money. We enjoyed out stay. The convent is a 10-15 minute walk to the Vatican (going is mostly down hill). My 72 year old stepmother came with us and we used the bus that stopped on the Via Aurelia about 30 meters from the convent.

We bought a weekly pass that allowed us to use all the mass transit inside the city of Rome. It costs 16 Euros per person per week. We used the buses and trams to get around. At times we used taxis. If a trip would take more than two buses, we just called a taxi instead. We found the bus system easy to use after you got a bus map. They are for sale all over Rome. We found our way around easily.

The convent was newly remodeled. The rooms look exactly like the pictures on the convent's website http://www.casapreziosissimosangue.it. The site is in Italian, but the Google Toolbar will translate to English.

Our room had two twin beds with firm mattresses. Two small night tables and a desk and chair. There was a flat screen tv on the wall, but no remote control for it. The bathroom was brand new with a toilet, sink, bidet, shower and towel warmer. Everything was pristine clean. There was an 11pm curfew (12 midnight in summer). After walking and sightseeing all day in Rome the curfew was no problem. We paid 84 Euros per night per room. This rate included breakfast. In Italy a traditional breakfast is a hard roll and coffee. The convent had orange and vitamin juice (it was good!) and you made your own coffee from a commercial coffee machine. The machine would also give you hot water for tea.

The rooms have no refrigerators or safes. There are vending machines on the first floor and water, juice, soda and snacks are available for very reasonable prices. The convent has a small garden out back with patio furniture. Christmas Day in Rome was 65 Degrees F. We spent some time sitting out back.

The property was remodelled and has an elevator. If someone needs an ADA type property in Rome, this would fill the bill, because you don't need to use stairs. Beds are low though.
This property is wonderful for a relaxing and quiet stay. We woke early and ate breakfast at 7:30am. We could hear the Sisters singing and praying in their chapel. This is not a large chain hotel property and certain things are not available. If these things are super important to you, then this is not the property for you.

No Bar on the property. You can't get a drink of liquor.
BBC is the only English Language channel on the TV.
No safe in room.
Sheets and towels are not changed every day. When you arrive there are fresh sheets and towels of course. There are two ladies who clean and make beds. The linens and towels are changed after the fourth night of your stay (you don't change the sheets and towels at home each night either).
No refigerator in room and no room service.
No credit cards are accepted. You must settle your bill with cash.

There is front desk when you come in, with a receptionist who speaks English. Ask if you need a hair dryer; they will give you one. The front desk will also make calls for you. When we needed a taxi, we asked the person at the desk to call. We waited less than 5 minutes.
Internet service was available for 3 Euros per hour. We brought our own computer and and an ethernet cable and used the service with no hassle. The converter from home work in the electrical outlet without a problem.
During our stay we were the only Americans staying at the property. It was quiet and serene. Rome can be busy, crowded and frantic. It was often a pleasure to return to our little oasis of calm in sometime frantic Rome.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1stgradeteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

This place is a convent. We figured the sisters would not be that involved in our stay since we were paying over $200 a night for a triple room. We were wrong!! Our first night we arrived in the evening and since we were traveling with an infant I stayed in the room while my husband and a friend went to find some take-out. When he returned with the food we were told that we could not eat or drink in our rooms. My husband and our friend had to eat downstairs in a room all by themselves. I secretly ate in the room since I couldn't leave a sleeping baby all by himself. The next morning, Sister Ellen apologized to us over breakfast. Her exact words were, "I'm apologizing because Mother Superior felt so bad about last night." I couldn't believe her. We basically ignored her.

The morning of our departure, we wanted to use the Internet to check on the status of our Vatican tour tickets and we were told that could NOT use their computer. I was shocked considering the price we paid. By the way, make sure you have cash to pay. No credit cards!!

We will NEVER stay here again. It was a real damper on the mood of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank leanahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Hotel Capannelle
#561 of 1,256 in Rome
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vatican / Borgo
Residenza Paolo VI
Residenza Paolo VI
#127 of 1,256 in Rome
451 reviews
Prati
Vatican Suites Inn
Vatican Suites Inn
#681 of 1,256 in Rome
42 reviews
Hotel Roma Tiburtina
#559 of 1,256 in Rome
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suore Del Preziosissimo Sangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suore Del Preziosissimo Sangue

Property: Suore Del Preziosissimo Sangue
Address: 8 Via di Santa Maria Mediatrice, Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,571 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Hotel Class:3 star — Suore Del Preziosissimo Sangue 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Suore Del Preziosissimo Sangue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing