We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, perfect location in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #21 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Hotel Manfredi was a great choice in Rome. We stayed there for 3 nights in October 2013. The hotel was full, so we were upgraded to a Junior Suite that looked straight out at the Colleseum. The room was very quiet at night as there were sound proofed windows, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and offered great suggestions. It was incredibly convenient to walk over to the ancient ruins of Rome after opening up the curtains and seeing them in your face!. We ate dinner at the restaurant on the roof with a view; and the meal, wine, and servce were excellent, although I warn you that it was a small fortune. One small tip would be to share a breakfast buffet off of one plate and go back for seconds, as it is about $35/pp. The wait staff had no problem with this. We would definately stay here again when in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHtravelers41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    71
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
80
256
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Palazzo. The proximity to the Colosseum and the Forum was great, and there are some nice restaurants in the three or four small streets nearby. The room itself looks luxurious as expected, but the mattress is very hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom, too, is very plush but the open shower design results in everything getting completely soaked. The room itself didn't have a view of the Colosseum; rather, it looked out onto the adjacent under-construction building.

The concierge/front desk was very helpful: they booked our tickets to the Colosseum and the Vatican Museum; the latter especially saved us hours of standing in line.

Upstairs, the fancy restaurant 'Aroma' was pretty stuffy. We went up there for a welcome drink and asked to step out into the dining area to check out the view of the Colosseum and we were told that it is for diners only. Needless to say, we didn't dine there.

Overall, decent service, kind of stuffy, and somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a long overdue review. We have stayed at the Palazzo Manfredi three times in the last two years...twice with our children. The proximity to the Forum and Coliseum was the thing that drew us to the hotel in the first place (going to sleep and waking up to the Coliseum RIGHT outside your window is AMAZING), but the staff has kept us coming back. On each trip they have gone above and beyond to make everyone happy - little gifts for the kids, bottle of Prosecco for mom and dad, allowing us to use a room for showers/naps before our room was ready, making my daughter's birthday (and my 40th birthday) extra special, etc.... We have also stayed at the Hassler and while it was nice, it was overly stuffy. The ONLY complaint I have about the hotel is the beds are a little hard, but that is easy to get over. Hopefully we will be back again this Christmas to the Manfredi!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

What amazing words of compliments you have written, please accept my most sincere thanks on behalf of all my staff. I am so very proud that we have been able to assist in creating this lasting memory on such an important occasion.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again to Eternal city.

Sincerely,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I'm sat in the hotel room in Palazzo Manfredi as I write this, whilst pleasant enough I wouldn't rate this as highly as most of the reviews on here. Yes the hotel is small and yes the staff are pleasant but it's the accommodation you pay for and this really isn't worth the very high cost. Small, noisy, no view even if there weren't building works right outside the window. Maybe it's our fault for requesting a room away from the very busy and extremely noisy main road.

Having stayed at several relais chateaux before this, unfortunately it's not really in the same class.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank cardifftraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Manfredie in Rome for 3 nights recently and had a wonderful stay in this small boutique hotel situated right oppossite the Collesseum. Although it was small and we travelled as an adult couple I am sure they would be great with children.

On arrival we were warmly welcomed and upgraded straight away. Our room was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and very stylish.

The hotel concierge were very knowledgable and helpful and bent over backwards for us. In particular Giacomo and Raphael. Who recommend great restaurants for us and understood entirely what we were looking for.

The hotel is in a very nice location, 5 minutes in a taxi to the area where The Pantheon and Trevi Fountain are but this is also a very interesting and pleasant walk which doesn't take long at all.

Surrounding the hotel are late opening restaurants and bars two of which we ate in and served delicious food (which you seem to be able to get everywhere in Rome even at a little hole in the wall place), even though these are open late there is no noise impact on the hotel.

On top of the building is a gourmet restaurant and bar. We didn't eat in the restaurant other than morning time but breakfast was all freshly served and delicious.

I am a fussy guest but I really couldn't complain about anything with this hotel - we had a brilliant stay and I would definately return and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taifrench1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

I especially appreciate your very kind comment on our valuable team member, Mr. Giacomo and Mr. Raphael.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On behalf of everyone at Palazzo Manfredi, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredi in the not too distant future.

With regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were only in Rome one night, which was unfortunate not only because it wasn't enough time to see the city, but because this hotel was so amazing. We had a Prestige DomusAurea view room. The hotel is very small. Staff is so attentive and helpful. They helped us with everything we needed and they all did it with an unpretentious and friendly manner. Our room was amazing - and worth every dime. We had a living room, a "work out" room, a comfortable bed and a very modern bathroom. The bathroom didn't allow for a lot of privacy.

Good location - right across from the Colosseum. Breakfast was fantastic and the rooftop restaurant is wonderful. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Pay for a room that looks out at the Colosseum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ekob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Palazzo Manfredi-Relais & Chateaux during your recent visit to the Eternal city.

We are so glad to read that your stay was a memorable one and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I were in northern Italy for business recently and decided to visit Rome on our way back home. We decided to splurge and give the Palazzo a try since it got so many fabulous reviews here. Boy are we glad we did. What an amazing experience. The room was fantastic. The concierge staff is top notch. Giacomo and Milli went out of their way to help with anything we needed. They helped set up private tours of the Coliseum and the Vatican for us (not cheap) but again, well worth it. We made it a point to eat at their rooftop restaurant, Aroma, as we had read so many great things about it. Probably one of the best, most romantic meals we've ever had. I highly recommend the Palazzo. It truly is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalazzoManfrediRoma, Direttore generale at Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderfull comment regarding your recent visit at the Palazzo Manfredi Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you were pleased with the Hotel service and that we were able to meet your needs.

I especially appreciate your very kind comment on our valuable team member, Mr. Giacomo and Ms. Milly.

It is give me a great pleasure to be able to pass along your positive comments and the importance of your satisfaction.

On behalf of everyone at the Palazzo Manfredi, thank you for taking the time to write your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palazzo Manfredil in the not too distant future.

With regards,


Bruno Papaleo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Via Labicana 125, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#30 Family Hotel in Rome
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#63 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Palazzo Manfredi is a magnificent historic villa that today serves as five-star hotel offering the tradition and warm hospitality of the Counts Manfredi. Every detail is a family jewel, from the spectacular view of the Colosseum, to the courtesy of our staff, the classic and contemporary elegance of the decor, and our sophisticated restaurant on one of Rome's most romantic terraces. History is on our doorstep, but true luxury is being part of a great family's history." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Manfredi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing