We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going”

Trattoria Vecchia Roma
Ranked #229 of 12,523 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Esquilino
Tequesta, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth going”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Went at 9pm on a Wednesday and there was over an hour wait. Went back on Thursday at 7:30pm and were seated right away. They let us know they would need the table by 9 and delivered our meal without feeling rushed. Pretty good food for our second dinner in Rome and priced right. Wait staff was excellent, no complaints. Left full and happy with our experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,797
    1,503
    351
    117
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome trattoria”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went to go eat here at around 9pm on a Wednesday evening and it was a little empty, so we walked around for a while to see if anything else in the area seemed more happening. We ended up returning here to find it packed, around 9:40. Even without a reservation we were seated quickly. Great ambiance, server was great as well. Great roman food, at great prices ( half a litre of wine for 3.50 eu!). I did not hear any other tourists in there while we were there either, but you could definitely hear the Romans talking! Very loud, but added to the experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kraxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great service ”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Great classic Roman service and food. Reasonably priced. Tucked away in a quiet place. Not far from the colosseum.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty and good value”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a good meal here on a Tuesday evening. We arrived at 7.30 and were seated immediately. The food was reasonably slow to arrive, but it was very nice so we didn't mind the wait. I ordered the sausage and sage penne which turned out to be huge and really delicious. We also had some local wine which was very good value. It was a nice informal dinner with good food which was exactly what we needed after a long day of sightseeing.

It's worth noting that the restaurant did get busy after 8.00 and there was a queue for tables by 8.30 which is testament to the quality of the food.

Definitely recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, lively trattoria with friendly service”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very convenient location - close to our B&B around Piazza Vittorio Emmanuel II. Ambient atmosphere, nice interior and friendly service. The food was lovely too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Vecchia Roma also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Vecchia Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing