We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place if you`re on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meltin' Rome Guesthouse
Ranked #2,671 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The room was clean and looked like the picture, although the bathroom was small and left a little to be desired. On check-in the map we were given and directions (especially what buses to take) was extremely helpful. The neighbourhood isn't that great, but if you want easy access to other areas this is a good option, and it's convenient to be close to the train station.

The breakfast was awful (packaged food) but you can easily buy your own food and keep it in the fridge. It was nice to have the option to cook for ourselves. We rarely saw other guests and everyone was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meltinrome, Proprietario at Meltin' Rome Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid comment, we are very glad that your stay was a good one!
Regarding the breakfast I would like to let you know that we provide packaged food because the italian law for the B&Bs don't allow us to serve a different kind of food, nevertheless our effort is to provide 1st quality products in order to make our guests satisfied. That is our policy, our goal is your best satisfaction.
Thank you again for your stay with us!! :-)

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Comfortable stay. Located near the train station. Clean room and bathroom. Good budget option.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivosulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meltinrome, Proprietario at Meltin' Rome Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Hey guys,

thank's a lot for your kind opinion, hope to see you again at the Meltin' Rome! :-)

best regards

Rodolfo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Meltin Rome is a Wonderful located place to stay. With a close walk from the main train station this place is in a quite neighborhood with not much happening day/night. We had a very nice man check us in and explain the place and rules. Our room looked like the website and pictures from the reviews.

Meltin was clean, quite, and overall pleasing. They have no A/C so it is literally a place you will MELT IN, and provide the weakest, smallest fan to cool you off. This was a major turn off and really needs to be upgraded to a powerful cooling system to really provide guests with a quality stay. August is HOT and we really needed to air and breeze to stay comfortable. Everything in the stylings are IKEA, and the bed needs to be more secure underneath for a bed that holds to adults.

Overall the place was clean, except for the sloopy guests that had there own bathroom but still used the shared bath for the other guests. Needs to be better stocked with extra toilet tissue, and floor mats for the shower floor as it seems to have a lot of water that leaks on the floor. The shower is the smallest thing I have ever used and runs out of hot water quick. They had a very nice kitchen with breakfast items, snacks, coffee tea, fruit and all the things a kitchen needs to provide you with. It was self service and provide you with a simple breakfast, but has a very small fridge so its hard to keep anything cold for your stay.

I would recommend this place and would plan to return for another stay, once they make some adjustments.

Room Tip: Nothing In this Area At Night. No Stores Nothing Opened. Few Places To Eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NycPhoto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meltinrome, Proprietario at Meltin' Rome Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2011

Hello guys,

I would like to thank you for your comment.
This is a good opportunity for us to improve our services and amenities, and also make us really glad to know that you liked and enjoyed your stay.

I really hope to see you in Rome again during your next trip! :-)

Thank you
Rodolfo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The rooms were clean, and our bathroom (private) perfect. The kitchen could be better (fridge a little bit small), but as we ate outside very often, that wasn't a problem at all.
It is well located (near Roma Termini (station), subway A&B).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheoLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This was a great place to stay you could come and go as you please. It was only a 3star, so you get what you pay for, but it had all you needed. Light breakfast items, juice, snackcakes, bread, jams, crossaints, cereal, also places to cook your own meals in the little kitchen, there was a microwave, stove, fridge, toaster, so you could easily walk to the market and get something, put it in the fridge and cook it the next day. It is 2 blocks to the markets and train/metro station. Lots of stuff to see in close proximity to Meltin' Rome, within walking distance. It is in a diverse area of Rome, lots of cultures live and work there.

We enjoyed the privacy of the separate bathroom, it is outside of the room, but it is all yours--> sink, toilet, shower stall. The other rental rooms all share one other bathroom, located through the kitchen.

One downfall was the noisy doors and keys. The building is old, with old keys and locks that are loud, and the entry door is loud when closing it, if you are out late, we felt we needed to be quiet as we could hear the others at times, so they could probably hear us.
We only saw the other renters a couple of times, everyone is off checking out Rome.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Meltin' Rome, and would probably stay there if we ever return to Rome. We did throw our coins in the Trevi Fountain, so you never know....

Thankyou Rodolpho

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jent1_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Very close to the center, the room (Marylin) was clean and nice, perfect for a 4 nights stay in Rome! We ll recommend it to our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank MariePierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great location - short walk from Termini station and we walked everywhere in old Rome, except took the Metro to the Vatican. We saw all the major attractions. We were weren't out past 8 or 9pm and there are always lots of people around so felt pretty safe. It was just me (female) and my 16 year old daughter. Rooms are very well kept, quaint and simple. I wished we chose the room with the bed and frame rather than the futon but otherwise good place to stay for a few days. A little noisy with the window to the street but we just turned on the fan for a little "white noise". Got lots of great advice from Rodolfo and his staff on where to eat, where to shop (around Piazza Navona was great shopping Rodolfo, thanks!). The only reason I didn't give perfect marks was because of the futon mattress and that this is a bed and breakfast with no host around but Rodolfo is only a phone call away and very willing to help and accommodate. Thanks for a great stay guys!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quantum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meltinrome, Proprietario at Meltin' Rome Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Hello girls,
thank you for your candid comment, this is very kind from you, and we really appreciate your suggestions in order to improve our service.

Thank you again!! :-)

Rodolfo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#656 of 1,269 in Rome
143 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,002 of 1,269 in Rome
372 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#852 of 1,269 in Rome
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#354 of 1,269 in Rome
430 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Guest house Hello Kitty bb
Guest house Hello Kitty bb
#2,588 of 3,722 in Rome
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meltin' Rome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meltin' Rome Guesthouse

Address: Via Filippo Turati 76, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,671 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £43 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique & Low Cost Guest House in the heart of Rome, located in a safe neighborhood full of facilities, just in five minute walking distance from main train station (Termini). In walking distance from subway and historical center. Offers comfortable rooms with private bathroom and free wi-fi. The bathrooms have been recently renovated. With a modern and minimal style, comfortable beds and rooms with all amenities the property ensure a beautiful stay.A different culture mix inspires each room.The rooms are ideal for couples wishing to spend an intimate and romantic stay, for young backpackers looking for a trendy and inexpensive lodging, and for whom is looking for a comfortable and central accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meltin' Rome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meltin` Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing