We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Value & Attention to Detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meltin' Rome Guesthouse
Ranked #2,530 of 3,755 Rome B&B and Inns
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location, Value & Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Rudolfo was a wonderful host. He took the time to give a great map with things not to miss during our time in Rome and also gave us great restaurant and gelato recommendations. The room was great. We were in the Haiku room and loved it. Items were set out for breakfast and it was great having our own kitchen! The shower in the bathroom was kind of a tight squeeze but noting to complain about. Loved it here and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    68
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
18
116
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

It took some time to find the place especially when it's quite dark. It's located at a pretty secluded back alley at one corner. This was the only place that I booked throughout the trip that did not have an attached bathroom and it was pretty inconvenient especially in the wee hours of the morning. In fact, I tripped twice in the morning because of the slippery steps. That's my own preference actually.

Food - you can eat what they have placed there for breakfast and you can also cooked. My husband loved that because he likes to prepare his own breakfast
Room - very spacious, the only complain was that I did not have enough place (chairs and tables) to place my luggage.
Convenience - although it is quite secluded but once you know the way to the train station it's quite convenient.

Overall good value for money but really basic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We booked this place because it was one that can have instant confirmation online. A number of our other choices were either full or had to email and wait for a reply.

The location is near termini. Once u can find it, it takes only abt 5 min walk.

The room is ok, clean, has a small tv and desk. No air con and has a fan. The door lock looks old and wonder if it really strong. But well, one has to enter the main entrance downstairs, msin door and then the room door, a total of 3 keys required.

The toilet is shared and this was the most inconvenient part for us. But well, it was just 3 nights. The shower cubicle was really small, even for small sized asians like us.

You will be awakened at night if your neighbouring guests unlock their room doors to go the bathroom as some are quite clumsy in opening and closing doors, causing some noise.

The kitchen is neat and pretty well stocked with basic stuff like bread, jam, tea etc. It has a stove if u want to cook and a fridge to store your stuff.

This place would be suitable if you want a cheaper room in a good location n you can make do with the shared bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beargoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a week at the end of March 2011. This place has a fantastic location for those who want to be in the city and close to transportation but not have to deal with noise at night. We were a five minute walk from Termini station and could easily access buses to get around Rome. When we arrived, Rodolfo met us to give us keys and then gave us tips about how to get to some tourist sites and good restaurants around the neighborhood and where grocery stores were. It was SO nice to have someone available to talk to us about hotspots around the city, so thank you Rodolfo! The apartment itself was comfortable and clean, with a nice array of breakfast stuffs and wonderful espresso :D Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alionr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The room we took was exactly the same shown in the picture. It was clean and comfy. With the roma termini only a stone's throw away it was extremely convenient. It is a residential building and on first look you will definitely miss it. The caretaker comes in the morning and evening for an hour. So it is neither your typical hotel with a reception nor a homestay. The caretaker was not in the hotel when we reached (though we informed in advance). We rang the bell and since nobody responded we felt stranded. After about 15mins later the guy arried. he profusely apologized and checked us in. He was helpful in guiding us on where to go and where not to. The breakfast was also good considering the room rate. Clean rooms, decent and convenient location. Excellent for backpackers.

Room Tip: There is just one room with private bathroom. but mind you, it is outside the room. They give you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambidextrous_cripple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a very comfortable place to stay. Location is near the station, so easy access to everywhere, day & night. The room is clean, kitchen & bathroom are well kept as well. A nice place to stay, good for long term stay when you'll spend most of your day wandering around Rome. Will definitely stay again should be beack to Rome one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The room was clean and looked like the picture, although the bathroom was small and left a little to be desired. On check-in the map we were given and directions (especially what buses to take) was extremely helpful. The neighbourhood isn't that great, but if you want easy access to other areas this is a good option, and it's convenient to be close to the train station.

The breakfast was awful (packaged food) but you can easily buy your own food and keep it in the fridge. It was nice to have the option to cook for ourselves. We rarely saw other guests and everyone was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meltinrome, Proprietario at Meltin' Rome Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your candid comment, we are very glad that your stay was a good one!
Regarding the breakfast I would like to let you know that we provide packaged food because the italian law for the B&Bs don't allow us to serve a different kind of food, nevertheless our effort is to provide 1st quality products in order to make our guests satisfied. That is our policy, our goal is your best satisfaction.
Thank you again for your stay with us!! :-)

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#439 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Esquilino
Moshi Moshi B&B
Moshi Moshi B&B
#654 of 3,755 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Esquilino
Sergio House
Sergio House
#2,388 of 3,755 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Paramount
Paramount
#148 of 1,088 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Esquilino
Rosa Blu B&B
Rosa Blu B&B
#489 of 1,088 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Esquilino
NiceToMeetYou Guesthouse
NiceToMeetYou Guesthouse
#1,612 of 3,755 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meltin' Rome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meltin' Rome Guesthouse

Property: Meltin' Rome Guesthouse
Address: Via Filippo Turati 76, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,530 of 3,755 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique & Low Cost Guest House in the heart of Rome, located in a safe neighborhood full of facilities, just in five minute walking distance from main train station (Termini). In walking distance from subway and historical center. Offers comfortable rooms with private bathroom and free wi-fi. The bathrooms have been recently renovated. With a modern and minimal style, comfortable beds and rooms with all amenities the property ensure a beautiful stay.A different culture mix inspires each room.The rooms are ideal for couples wishing to spend an intimate and romantic stay, for young backpackers looking for a trendy and inexpensive lodging, and for whom is looking for a comfortable and central accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meltin' Rome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meltin` Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing