We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Domus Maximi Roma B&B
Ranked #651 of 1,099 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Australia, Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, decent stay.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have travelled around europe for a month and stayed in many hostels/b&bs.
Domus Maximi was pretty good. I wouldn't stay fantastic but it wasn't bad either.

Checkin/Checkout - Keys etc - - Very strange.
Theres no reception as other guests have stated, It made sense when they wanted to know exactly what time we were going to arrive, as there was someone waiting for us to let us in.

Checkout, we leave the keys in the room and leave by 10am.

Keys - Anyone that stays here please read this (even the guy who let us in advised), the front door and room doors are old locks - they are fiddly and take a bit to open, however don't force them or you may break it.

Wifi in the rooms works well.

The guy who let us in was very helpful, friendly and gave us recommendations.

Bathroom was very clean, and looks like it had been refurbished. Room was spacious, however the dooner/dove wasn't the cleanest.

Breakfast was help yourself and wasn't huge, however did the job.

One thing I found a bit strange and didn't like were some of the 'house rules'
"The use of the kitchen is not allowed" - is a shame as it would have been nice to heat up some food or make a coffee before bed

"Don't forget to leave the key in the patch of the lock to the inside" - I'm not sure what this means

"It's not allowed to bring neither to consume alcoholic niether drugs" - Firstly, thats saying I can't bring alcohol (sealed bottle with me?), and secondly, that means I cant' have a glass of wine or a beer when I get back to my room? - Wasn't happy about this one

"It's not allowed to consume suppers or lunches in the bedroom; possible extra cleaning must be debits you" - This I thought was a bit harsh, to say you can't eat at all in the room? That put us off.

Apart from the rules of engagement, sheets that weren't exactly clean and road noise - it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hybrid34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
21
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Just 5 minute walk from the Colosseum , located in a very quite and clean area.The rooms like the all place are clean and welcoming, the breakfast is simple with caffe' ,juice,selection of jam and cookies very italian style. The owner Massimo is a very helpfull guy and always willing to help, in our case he went above and beyond ,we arrived in rome very late around 11.30 pm we ask him if we could check in so late , he told us no problem and actully he picked up us from termini train station , what a gentlemen ....I strongly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This is the 1st time for me in rome, and i got to the city about 11 pm, and Massimo is so nice that come and let us in , as he actually mentioned in the email the last check in is 9pm. we didnt get there untill 1 in the morning the next day. The room is simple but clean and tidy, theres shared bath room and kitchen. It is very cozy in a very nice way. They got free wifi and a computer in the common area. Massimo speaks englsih, and he is friendly. The location is wonderful, got buses near by. This is very good for money as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Excellent value for money. We paid 100 for 3 nights and when we arrived we were shocked at the size of the room fpor the price. It has the feel of it being your own apartment with a kitchen and shared bathroom. Theres only 4 rooms in total so we barely saw anyone else for the 3 nights and it felt as if we shad the place to ourselves. The twin rooms was very large with lots of space for luggage etc and the kitchen included all you can eat breakfast (cereals, espresso coffee, juice and croissants). it was about a 10 minute walk to the colosseum and about 25 mins to piazza de venezia. There doesn't seem to be much option for public transport.
The place was very secure, super clean and quiet at night which made for a peaceful nights sleep. The guy who runs it (massimo i think) was really lovely and even offered us something to eat when we arrived after a long drive from Florence. Highly recommend this b & b of anyone who's looking for a cheap and lovely place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rassydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed there 2 couples, for 3 nights. The area is very nice, close to the Colosseum and 2 bus stops from where you can get to the vatican or termini station. The rooms are ok, nothing to fancy, but if you spend your time visiting you won't have any problems. The kitchen was full with all kind of pastries,jams,milk,juice,coffee etc. All around it was a nice experience and I would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pyromann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Domus Maximi is cheap and centrally located, so there's obviously going to be a bit wrong with it. The only issue that we had was the shower, it was pretty gross. There was (mould?) all around the edges, the door could barely close, and the mat looked really gross. The room itself was fine, smelled a bit weird but whatever. Breakfast is serve yourself, not gourmet but still edible. Max 10 minute walk (if you go pretty slow) to the Colosseum, and the 81 has a stop very close by which runs to MANY places. Pretty great price considering the location! We only ever dealt with Franco and he was very helpful and nice!

Room Tip: The bathroom for guests on the side where the kitchen is looked nicer than the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianneS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Brilliant location just 5 minutes from the collosseum and some lovely restaurants. The owners we're more than helpful when we desperately needed to print our tickets to the Vatican just hours before the event. Overall a lovely B&B and although we had to share a bathroom there was never a problem and everywhere was always spotless.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Al Colosseo B&B
Al Colosseo B&B
#2,438 of 3,664 in Rome
13 reviews
Monti
Le Camere Della Principessa B&B
Monti
Bonne Nuit Rome
Bonne Nuit Rome
#1,092 of 3,664 in Rome
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Domus Caracalla
Domus Caracalla
#180 of 3,664 in Rome
359 reviews
Monti
Hotel Valeri
Hotel Valeri
#457 of 3,664 in Rome
240 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Maximi Roma B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Maximi Roma B&B

Property: Domus Maximi Roma B&B
Address: Via di Sant'Erasmo 4, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #651 of 1,099 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a walking distance from the Colosseum and the heart of Imperial Rome is located the Domus Maximi Bed & Breakfast, where hospitality and friendship will enjoy your stay in this lovely apartment in the center of Rome.Located on the Mount Celio near the historical Villa Celimontana, an important archeological site, place of numerous and important events particularly during the famous Roman Summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domus Maximi Roma B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing