We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil & Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Pancrazio
Ranked #3,070 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Byfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tranquil & Serene”
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights prior to driving down to Positano and we loved it. Very central and within walking distance of the main sights , best of all was turning right upon exiting hotel , walking up the hill (actually a cul de sac - for cars that is!) and seeing the second best fountain in Rome after Trevi , called the Fontana dell acqua Paola , then turn around and take in the view ! The owner , Donatella , is very welcoming as is Carla her assistant . We recommend this place highly and will stay there again as in the Trastevere area and that's the place to stay in while in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartaco1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    31
    17
    15
    17
See reviews for
16
55
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Where to stay in Rome has always been an adventure for me; personal recommendations are not always consistent, and fussing about on the internet is often a hit-or-miss game. However, after two weeks painting a mural in a villa on the Amalfi coast, my partner and I were to continue our business in Rome for two days and needed to be near the American Academy, so at least the 'internet' decision was made to try for the first time, Locanda San Pancrazio. Our decision could not have suited us better.
The inn is small, beautifully appointed and administered by gracious, helpful people. The location is great for visiting the Centro Storico, the Vatican, and of course, Trastervere. Our room was a classic double, with almost enough storage for our two-week old chattel, and the atmosphere was serene. The best surprise was the terrace, which is the entire roof of the building, and is surrounded mostly by trees and a few taller, picturesque buildings, all of which frame interesting views of the city. We had cocktails on the terrace in the afternoon, and breakfast there in the morning...molto bellisimo! And, at all times serenaded by the song birds, entertained by acrobatic swallows, with the occasional parrot sighting. The birdsong almost drowned out the minimal traffic--the inn is a hundred metres from the Via Garabaldi and next to the botanical garden, ensuring peace--and as close to quiet as I have found in Rome. Neither of us could imagine we would have the city version of our Amalfi villa, but then, Rome is sometime a city of nice surprises. I may not have to play the hit or miss game for a hotel in Rome ever again.

Room Tip: The Classic Double Room is a good size, but I recommend Rooms 1,2 & 3, which are larger; having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTALYA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We booked (and spent) 2 days in this Locanda and were quite disappointed since the very beginning. The position is quite good but I would have expected much more for a superior room rated €250! There was no telephone in the room (I needed it to advise my husband that we arrived safetly because my mobile was out of credit and had to walk for 10 min to reach the closest "tabaccaio" in order to get a top up). The room was quite small and its cleanliness was also disappointing (I took pictures of the white chair in the room covered with stains -washing its cover could be enough to remove them- and of the awful scorpion I found on the bathroom (alive!) the morning after). I also took pictures of the toilet products which, far from the welknown Acqua de Parma ones shown in their website, are branded "Havana". Moreover, when we booked the room, they said that the use of the Jacuzzi on the terrace was included in the rate BUT the Jacuzzi was out of order when we arrived and was still out of order when we left! When we arrived they said that it should have been repaired the day after. It was not and when I asked whether it would have been working the day after (i.e. our last day at the Locanda) they said that it should have been repaired by 10 am. We left at 11,30 and it has not been repaired yet. Last but not least, the rate for the standard room published on their website (€150) in incorrect. They said the right rate is €170 and that they have technical problems in amending it on their website (!). In a few words, Locanda San Pancrazio definetly does not worth what it costs or, if owners want to justify such a high rate, they should offer what they show in their website and improve both cleanliness and facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adri1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga,Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and i stayed he re for about 4 days, and i would greatly recommend this place to anyone who would like the Roman hospitality provided by the owner Daniella. She is a very kind and generous person, who takes care of her customers very well.
Massimo and Carla who run the place are very efficient and very helpful. They will call a taxi for you, give you directions to go around in Rome and any other help that you might need.
The B & B is in trastevere, which has great restaurants but is situated in a quiet street. The bigger rooms are very nice, and is a great value for your money. Th e breakfast is great ad you can either haveit in the breakfast area inside or on the terrace. It is great choice for vegetarians as well, where they have great fruits, pizzas and fresh croissants and breads and anything else that you might ask for.
When we arrived, both Paula and Massimo took care of us very well, and we found that it was truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: Please go for a B and B where you will truly enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the Italian owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for nearly a week. They just have a small number of rooms what creates a very familiar but not too close atmosphere. The standard room was fine for us. The service was nice, simple and fast. The breakfast is simple and good. The verity could be bigger if you stay longer. We also arrived after a longer search and found the doors closed. After we called we only had to wait for a quarter and were checked in. We got help with dinner reservations and a taxi was ordered for our way to the airport. Our room was close to the hallway that's why we heard the noise from people checking out early in the morning and the usual cleaning and breakfast sounds. In total it is a really nice place to stay, located in a great area.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Trastevere is a fantastic area to stay whilst in Rome, near quaint and stylish restaurants and bars where the locals go for a night out. Locanda San Pancrazio is a small intimate hotel with 6 rooms all stylishly decorated with free wifi included. The better rooms are the superior ones as they offer more space. A good conitinental Breakfast is served on the roof terrace which has lovely views over the area. The owners and the staff are very helpful and generous as well as speaking English if your Italian is limited. If you arrive with a car, there is very inexpensive street parking adjacent to the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It is worth Laing extra for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We finished our tale of two cities(Rome & Florence) with a wonderful stay at Locanda San Pancrazio. We arrived earlier than the check-in time to find the Locanda locked! A charming gentleman with a cell phone called the numbers provided & Philip & Patrica soon arrived to check us in. We had a very hard time to find this place (2 taxis who refused to use GPS or listen to our directions!) & were a bit stressed BUT we were given an upgraded room that was perfect-large ,airy,great bed, lovely decor & quiet. We had to leave extra early the next morning but we were served breakfast on the roof terrace-lovely.A 5 minute walk takes you to the Trastevere with its restaurants,cafes shops-we loved it! If I return to Rome I'll definitely return to the Locanda San Pancrazio.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,261 in Rome
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#286 of 1,261 in Rome
691 reviews
Monti
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
Antico Palazzo Rospigliosi
#695 of 1,261 in Rome
439 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pancrazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pancrazio

Property: Hotel San Pancrazio
Address: Via di Porta San Pancrazio 32/a, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Locanda San Pancrazio)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,070 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Pancrazio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Pancrazio welcomes you in the splendor of Rome city center and of the lively Trastevere district. Our comfortable and elegant rooms can be your rest stop during the labors of your Capitoline stay. From here you can start your walks to explore the city, and here you can come back to enjoy a nice calm atmosphere, even in such a bustling and chaotic city. Immersed in the heart of Rome, yet in an intimate and private corner, the Hotel San Pancrazio is a central though quiet accommodation, and a privileged viewpoint of the amazing landscape of the eternal city. Thanks to its charming and pleasing ambience, Hotel San Pancrazio is the perfect place where to arrange anniveraries, birthdays or a special evening. Let our staff take care of your stay with its skilled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Pancrazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Pancrazio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing